Menu
Reply
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
8009lee
Joining in
563 Views
Message 1 of 6
Flag for a moderator

broadband speed test shows 47 when on the 200 package normal?

new to this have the 200 broadband but feels slower than sky which i was not expecting.

numerous test apps at different times of the day never higher than 47 is this correct?

0 Kudos
Reply

Helpful Answers
  • 24
  • 1
  • 2
antwigan
On our wavelength
1,018 Views
Message 2 of 6
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: broadband speed test shows 47 when on the 200 package normal?

Unfortunately, where Virgin Media are concerned yes its the norm. You are 1 of the lucky ones. Myself and many others struggle for 2mb in the evening with upgrade dates being set back every month.
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 9.02K
  • 760
  • 1.88K
Superuser
Superuser
997 Views
Message 3 of 6
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: broadband speed test shows 47 when on the 200 package normal?

Not the norm at all, the average national speed for the 200Mbps package over a 24hr. period is 174Mbps (Ofcom).

However, there are a number of areas that suffer from utilisation issues, where VM have oversubscribed the local network causing "traffic jams" during peak periods. A lot of work and expense is involved to allieviate these problems, so they tend to take a long time to fix (up to 18 months or more)

It would be wise to diagnose your problem before jumping to conclusions from ill informed sources.

Since you are experiencing slow speeds throughout the day, it is unlikely to be a utilisation problem hopefully, but we cannot rule it out until the problem is correctly diagnosed.

How are you connecting wired or wirelessly?
If wireless, try wired directly to the hub with a Cat 5e cable or better with a device equiped with a gigabit ethernet network card.

If you are not getting headline speeds outside peak periods then it is likely you have a technical problem.

If this is the case. posting some basic diagnostic info may help.

Navigate to the hub's GUI using http://192.168.100.1
Don't log in, click the Router Status button in the top right of the screen.
Copy \ Paste the Downstream, Upstream, and Network Logs.

Don't worry about the formatting.


All Replies
  • 24
  • 1
  • 2
antwigan
On our wavelength
1,019 Views
Message 2 of 6
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: broadband speed test shows 47 when on the 200 package normal?

Unfortunately, where Virgin Media are concerned yes its the norm. You are 1 of the lucky ones. Myself and many others struggle for 2mb in the evening with upgrade dates being set back every month.
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 9.02K
  • 760
  • 1.88K
Superuser
Superuser
998 Views
Message 3 of 6
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: broadband speed test shows 47 when on the 200 package normal?

Not the norm at all, the average national speed for the 200Mbps package over a 24hr. period is 174Mbps (Ofcom).

However, there are a number of areas that suffer from utilisation issues, where VM have oversubscribed the local network causing "traffic jams" during peak periods. A lot of work and expense is involved to allieviate these problems, so they tend to take a long time to fix (up to 18 months or more)

It would be wise to diagnose your problem before jumping to conclusions from ill informed sources.

Since you are experiencing slow speeds throughout the day, it is unlikely to be a utilisation problem hopefully, but we cannot rule it out until the problem is correctly diagnosed.

How are you connecting wired or wirelessly?
If wireless, try wired directly to the hub with a Cat 5e cable or better with a device equiped with a gigabit ethernet network card.

If you are not getting headline speeds outside peak periods then it is likely you have a technical problem.

If this is the case. posting some basic diagnostic info may help.

Navigate to the hub's GUI using http://192.168.100.1
Don't log in, click the Router Status button in the top right of the screen.
Copy \ Paste the Downstream, Upstream, and Network Logs.

Don't worry about the formatting.

  • 35
  • 2
  • 5
Callinder
On our wavelength
399 Views
Message 4 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: broadband speed test shows 47 when on the 200 package normal?

Griffin

Here's information you said may help. Sorry but it make little sense to me. I've masked my WAN IP address. I'm on 200 mbps but actually get this between midnight and noon, if I'm lucky. Otherwise it's between 50 to 150 mbps mostly 80-120 mbps. I'm currently getting around 100 mbps.

Downstream   DS-1 DS-2 DS-3 DS-4 DS-5 DS-6 DS-7 DS-8

Frequency (Hz)299000000267000000275000000283000000291000000307000000315000000323000000
Lock Status(QAM Lock/FEC Sync/MPEG Lock)LockedLockedLockedLockedLockedLockedLockedLocked
Channel ID734568910
Modulation256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM
Symbol Rate (Msym/sec)6.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.952000
Interleave DepthI=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
Power Level (dBmV)-5.12-4.60-5.07-5.29-5.49-5.03-4.56-4.72
RxMER (dB)36.8436.8436.3936.3936.3936.6136.8436.84
Pre RS Errors87031545471606415485794767769532
Post RS Errors299287276276276308300311

 

Upstream   US-1 US-2 US-3 US-4

Channel Type2.0N/AN/A2.0
Channel ID4N/AN/A2
Frequency (Hz)25800000N/AN/A39400000
Ranging StatusSuccessOtherOtherSuccess
Modulation16QAMN/AN/A16QAM
Symbol Rate (Sym/sec)5120000N/AN/A5120000
Mini-Slot Size4N/AN/A4
Power Level (dBmV)46.75N/AN/A48.50
T1 Timeouts0000
T2 Timeouts0000
T3 Timeouts0000
T4 Timeouts0000

 

Network Log

First TimeLast TimePriorityError NumberDescription
28/10/2016 00:22:32 GMT28/10/2016 00:22:32 GMTWarning (5)66050310Auth Success - Web login successful.
27/10/2016 22:16:32 GMT27/10/2016 22:16:32 GMTWarning (5)66050310Auth Success - Web login successful.
26/10/2016 22:05:48 GMT26/10/2016 22:05:48 GMTError (4)68010302DHCP WAN IP -xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx
26/10/2016 22:04:39 GMT26/10/2016 22:04:39 GMTError (4)68000407TOD established
Time Not EstablishedTime Not EstablishedNotice (6)84000510Downstream Locked Successfully
26/10/2016 22:01:15 GMT26/10/2016 22:01:15 GMTError (4)68010302DHCP WAN IP -xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx
26/10/2016 22:00:06 GMT26/10/2016 22:00:06 GMTError (4)68000407TOD established
Time Not EstablishedTime Not EstablishedNotice (6)84000510Downstream Locked Successfully
26/10/2016 21:55:25 GMT26/10/2016 21:55:25 GMTError (4)68010302DHCP WAN IP - xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx
26/10/2016 21:54:22 GMT26/10/2016 21:54:22 GMTError (4)68000407TOD established
Time Not EstablishedTime Not EstablishedNotice (6)84000510Downstream Locked Successfully
26/10/2016 21:53:10 GMT26/10/2016 21:53:10 GMTWarning (5)66050310Auth Success - Web login successful.
26/10/2016 17:37:15 GMT26/10/2016 17:37:15 GMTWarning (5)66050310Auth Success - Web login successful.
24/10/2016 16:52:49 GMT24/10/2016 16:52:49 GMTError (4)68010400DHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response
24/10/2016 16:51:54 GMT24/10/2016 16:51:54 GMTError (4)68010100DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4
24/10/2016 16:51:01 GMT24/10/2016 16:51:01 GMTError (4)68010100DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4
24/10/2016 16:49:16 GMT24/10/2016 16:49:16 GMTError (4)68010100DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4
24/10/2016 16:45:45 GMT24/10/2016 16:45:45 GMTError (4)68010100DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4
24/10/2016 16:38:43 GMT24/10/2016 16:38:43 GMTError (4)68010100DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4
24/10/2016 16:24:40 GMT24/10/2016 16:24:40 GMTError (4)68010100DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 9.02K
  • 760
  • 1.88K
Superuser
Superuser
381 Views
Message 5 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: broadband speed test shows 47 when on the 200 package normal?

Your downstream power levels are a tad low, but still within VM specs. Might be causing a problem if fluctuating.

If your wired speed is slowing down during the evening, and you are getting the full 200Mbps during the day, then it could be a utilisation issue. A VM Forum Team member should pick up the thread within a week and will be able to test the line and confirm.

However, if you are still within your 14 day grace period I would give Retentions a ring (Thinking of leaving us option) and get them to confirm if it is a utilisation issue so you can cancel without penalty if it is a utilisation issue, as it could get worse before it is fixed.Well worth having a chat to them.

  • 10.82K
  • 308
  • 631
Forum Team
Forum Team
151 Views
Message 6 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: broadband speed test shows 47 when on the 200 package normal?

Hi 8009lee and Callinder,

 

Thanks for taking the time to post on the community.

 

My apologies that you are both not achieving the up to 200 Mbps broadband speeds.

 

I checked both accounts, there are no faults reported, the traffic is running low on the network and also the power levels are much better.

 

If you can complete speed tests whilst the Super Hub is in modem mode at different times of the day and post the link/screenshot, that will be helpful.

 

Let me know how you get on

Sam


New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


0 Kudos
Reply