Menu
Reply
  • 59
  • 0
  • 4
MRSH
On our wavelength
162 Views
Message 1 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Where is my 200mbps speed?

Hi

I've been holding back for months asking this but I feel I have to now.

When I first sign in to 'My Virgin Media' I get the banner at the top saying (something like) 'You've been supercharged' with '200mbps fibre optical' speed.

Over the past months I've noticed that practically every video I watch - whether it be on YouTube, Facebook or wherever - plays for a second or two then streams for about a minute then plays for a second or two then streams for about a minute then plays for s second or two etc etc making the video unwatchable.

So over the last couple of days at all times of the day and night I decided to do a speed test on speedtest.net.

Today, I got the following results:-

Ping - 16ms
Download speed - 20.47mbps
Upload speed - 11.91mbps

Which one of these is supposed to be 200mbps?
And why isn't it?
How do I know I am really on '200mbps fibre optical'?

It is really starting to bother me that I pay in excess of £147.00 per month (yes I have everything with VM bar mobile) yet I find the broadband speed exceptionally erratic and I have to reset the modem on average four times a day.

Some clarification would be much appreciated.

I am in the BN15 area.

Thank you

Matthew

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 3.01K
  • 383
  • 952
Superuser
Superuser
155 Views
Message 2 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Where is my 200mbps speed?

Hi Matthew

Are you using a wired Ethernet connection direct to the VM hub or a wireless connection? Wireless is easily disrupted by a number of external factors, so a wired test is the best way to get a true picture of what speed your line is able to achieve. It also helps to pinpoint if the issue is with the wireless or your line.

If you go to http://192.168.0.1/ (or http://192.168.100.1/ if you are in modem mode) to get the VM hub GUI. Don't login (unless you have a Hub 3 and this is your first visit to the hub GUI, which does require you to login) but instead click on Router Status which is either a button in the top right of the screen or a text link at the bottom of the screen depending on which hub you have. Click on the Downstream, Upstream and Network Log sections and copy & paste the figures from those screens and post them here, don't worry about the formatting or you can post screenshots if that is easier. Be careful to edit out or obscure any reference to your WAN IP or MAC address in the log to protect your privacy.

The community can have a look for you and see if anything in the figures looks wrong and advise accordingly. Or you can wait for the VM staff to pick up this thread (can take 7-10 days) and run checks on your line.

______________________
Scott

Disclaimer - I don't work for Virgin Media. I'm just another VM user trying to help out so my answers may be wrong Smiley Happy If my answer solves your problem please mark it as helpful as it may help others
My setup: Vivid 200 Optical fibre with Superhub 2 in modem mode connected to a Netgear R7000 router. Telewest/VM user since 2001.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 59
  • 0
  • 4
MRSH
On our wavelength
148 Views
Message 3 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Where is my 200mbps speed?

Hi Scott

I am using a wireless connection as the Hub is about 25 feet away (no obstructions) from my PC.

Here is the Router Status's (!) from the Hub GUI.

Downstream   DS-1 DS-2 DS-3 DS-4 DS-5 DS-6 DS-7 DS-8

Frequency (Hz)266750000274750000282750000290750000298750000306750000314750000322750000
Lock Status(QAM Lock/FEC Sync/MPEG Lock)LockedLockedLockedLockedLockedLockedLockedLocked
Channel ID910111213141516
Modulation256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM
Symbol Rate (Msym/sec)6.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.952000
Interleave DepthI=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
Power Level (dBmV)2.612.702.712.912.972.852.742.53
RxMER (dB)36.6136.8436.8436.8437.0937.0936.8436.84
Pre RS Errors
663149396136398431328211980212011151771
Post RS Errors
43236210381052102210424711103

 

Upstream   US-1 US-2 US-3 US-4

Channel Type2.0N/AN/A2.0
Channel ID26N/AN/A25
Frequency (Hz)35800000N/AN/A45800000
Ranging StatusSuccessOtherOtherSuccess
Modulation16QAMN/AN/A16QAM
Symbol Rate (Sym/sec)5120000N/AN/A5120000
Mini-Slot Size4N/AN/A4
Power Level (dBmV)40.25N/AN/A41.00
T1 Timeouts0000
T2 Timeouts0000
T3 Timeouts9005
T4 Timeouts0000

 

Network Log

First TimeLast TimePriorityError NumberDescription
22/02/2017 09:59:38 GMT22/02/2017 09:59:38 GMTCritical (3)82000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
19/02/2017 21:00:38 GMT19/02/2017 21:00:38 GMTError (4)68010400DHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response
19/02/2017 20:59:58 GMT19/02/2017 20:59:58 GMTError (4)68010100DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4
19/02/2017 20:59:21 GMT19/02/2017 20:59:21 GMTError (4)68010100DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4
19/02/2017 20:58:06 GMT19/02/2017 20:58:06 GMTError (4)68010100DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4
19/02/2017 20:55:36 GMT19/02/2017 20:55:36 GMTError (4)68010100DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4
19/02/2017 20:50:38 GMT19/02/2017 20:50:38 GMTError (4)68010100DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4
19/02/2017 20:40:38 GMT19/02/2017 20:40:38 GMTError (4)68010100DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4
19/02/2017 20:20:40 GMT19/02/2017 20:20:40 GMTError (4)68010100DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4
19/02/2017 19:40:45 GMT19/02/2017 19:40:45 GMTError (4)68010100DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4
19/02/2017 18:20:54 GMT19/02/2017 18:20:54 GMTError (4)68010100DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4
19/02/2017 15:41:12 GMT19/02/2017 15:41:12 GMTError (4)68010100DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4
19/02/2017 10:21:48 GMT19/02/2017 10:21:48 GMTError (4)68010100DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4
18/02/2017 23:43:01 GMT18/02/2017 23:43:01 GMTError (4)68010100DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4
18/02/2017 23:40:36 GMT18/02/2017 23:40:36 GMTCritical (3)82000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
17/02/2017 16:13:35 GMT17/02/2017 16:13:35 GMTCritical (3)82000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
17/02/2017 00:20:09 GMT17/02/2017 00:20:09 GMTCritical (3)82000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
16/02/2017 02:38:22 GMT16/02/2017 02:38:22 GMTCritical (3)82000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
15/02/2017 17:38:34 GMT15/02/2017 17:38:34 GMTError (4)68010400DHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response
15/02/2017 17:37:39 GMT15/02/2017 17:37:39 GMTError (4)68010100DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4


Cheers

Matthew

 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 3.01K
  • 383
  • 952
Superuser
Superuser
139 Views
Message 4 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Where is my 200mbps speed?

Power levels look OK.  There are timeouts in the log but I'm not sure they are frequent enough to slow your speeds.  I get similar occasional timeouts and get my full 200Mbps most of the time.

Even with no obstructions it is still possible for a wireless connection to under perform due to interference from external sources so VM will want to know what speeds you get with a wired connection.  Also are you sure your wireless device is capable of faster speeds?  Are you connecting to the 2.4Ghz or 5Ghz band?  Only the 5Ghz band can reach 200Mbps speeds and then only with AC capable wireless devices.

 

______________________
Scott

Disclaimer - I don't work for Virgin Media. I'm just another VM user trying to help out so my answers may be wrong Smiley Happy If my answer solves your problem please mark it as helpful as it may help others
My setup: Vivid 200 Optical fibre with Superhub 2 in modem mode connected to a Netgear R7000 router. Telewest/VM user since 2001.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 59
  • 0
  • 4
MRSH
On our wavelength
101 Views
Message 5 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Where is my 200mbps speed?

So it's been three weeks since my initial post and nothing at all from VM about this problem.

SCA1972 was helpful to a degree (thank you) but I really would like a definitive answer/reason as to why my broadband is consistantly mega-slow and not reaching anywhere near 200mbps?!

Here's hoping someone at VM gets in contact soon.

Thanks

Matthew

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 9.34K
  • 797
  • 1.96K
Superuser
Superuser
87 Views
Message 6 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Where is my 200mbps speed?

As SCA has alluded to, it is pointless testing the speed of your internet connection wirelessly, e.g. The wireless speeds you are getting from that range is what you would expect from a single stream wireless device.

For a definitive answer you will need to help the Forum Team by testing the true connection speed wired directly to the hub by a CAT 5e or better ethernet cable with a device equipped with a gigabit ethernet adapter. This is the only way to test the true speed of your internet connection as wireless is affected by many factors outside VM control to provide an accurate test as SCA has said.

The VM Forum team will ask for the same test as they will not be able to determine what speeds you are receiving or have the remotest idea of your wireless environment, or what wireless client's capabilities are.

So you will need to provide some diagnostic info to enable VM to give you a definitive answer, there are just too many variables.

Hopefully, the @ModTeam should pick up this thread soon.

  • 10.82K
  • 308
  • 632
Forum Team
Forum Team
57 Views
Message 7 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Where is my 200mbps speed?

Hi MRSH,

 

Thanks for posting on the community.

 

I'm sorry to read you are not achieving the up to 200 Mbps broadband speeds.

 

From checking your connection, there are no issues on the network/line that would cause an impact to your speeds.

 

As you are testing through a wireless connection, for better results it would be helpful if you can try through a wired connection or whilst the Super Hub is in modem mode. This will eliminate other devices connected.

 

Are you using any power line adaptors or another router at all?

 

Let us know how you get on

Sam


New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


0 Kudos
Reply