Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
gilly36
Tuning in
278 Views
Message 1 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Very Very Slow

Supposed to be on 200Mbps, pretty poor result

 

0 Kudos
Reply

Helpful Answers
  • 8.99K
  • 756
  • 1.87K
Superuser
Superuser
503 Views
Message 2 of 12
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Very Very Slow

How are you connecting wired or wirelessly?

If wireless, try wired directly to the hub with a Cat 5e cable or better with a device equiped with a gigabit ethernet network card.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 8.99K
  • 756
  • 1.87K
Superuser
Superuser
384 Views
Message 7 of 12
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Very Very Slow

Your upstream power levels are high and there are quite a few T3 errors showing in the logs. This suggests a upstream impairment on your local circuit.

This may not be the sole cause of your slow speeds, but definitely needs looking at by VM. It is possible you may have a contention issue as well, VM can check the local traffic on your network to check.

You will need to contact VM for resolution, either by waiting here about a week until a VM Forum Team Member picks up the thread, or give them a call on 150 from a VM line or 0345 454 1111 for a quicker response.

0 Kudos
Reply

All Replies
  • 8.99K
  • 756
  • 1.87K
Superuser
Superuser
504 Views
Message 2 of 12
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Very Very Slow

How are you connecting wired or wirelessly?

If wireless, try wired directly to the hub with a Cat 5e cable or better with a device equiped with a gigabit ethernet network card.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
gilly36
Tuning in
251 Views
Message 3 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Very Very Slow

Hi,

Its wired, cat 6, superhub 2, modem only mode, gigabit card

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 8.99K
  • 756
  • 1.87K
Superuser
Superuser
244 Views
Message 4 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Very Very Slow

Do you experience the slow speed all the time or only during peak evening time?

Posting some basic diagnostic info may help.

Navigate to the hub's GUI using http://192.168.100.1
Don't log in, click the Router Status button in the top right of the screen.
Copy \ Paste the Downstream, Upstream, and Network Logs.

Don't worry about the formatting, but do obscure personal information like your WAN IP address.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Adamsamuel
Joining in
235 Views
Message 5 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Very Very Slow

Mine to is supposed to be 200mb gamer, getting 20mb DL 20mb UL
Tested wired cat 6 and wireless
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
gilly36
Tuning in
230 Views
Message 6 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Very Very Slow

Downstream   DS-1 DS-2 DS-3 DS-4 DS-5 DS-6 DS-7 DS-8

Frequency (Hz)275000000235000000243000000251000000259000000267000000283000000291000000
Lock Status(QAM Lock/FEC Sync/MPEG Lock)LockedLockedLockedLockedLockedLockedLockedLocked
Channel ID5449505152535556
Modulation256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM
Symbol Rate (Msym/sec)6.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.952000
Interleave DepthI=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
Power Level (dBmV)-0.41-0.01-0.06-0.28-0.18-0.31-0.36-0.38
RxMER (dB)37.0936.8436.8436.8437.0937.9437.0937.09
Pre RS Errors
188910258572987024510731051140389130761022110382620932
Post RS Errors
44443433396343424583535157554550
Upstream   US-1 US-2 US-3 US-4
Channel Type2.0N/AN/A2.0
Channel ID1N/AN/A3
Frequency (Hz)37600000N/AN/A24400000
Ranging StatusSuccessN/AN/ASuccess
Modulation16QAMN/AN/A16QAM
Symbol Rate (Sym/sec)5120000N/AN/A5120000
Mini-Slot Size4N/AN/A4
Power Level (dBmV)53.00N/AN/A51.50
T1 Timeouts0000
T2 Timeouts0000
T3 Timeouts1003
T4 Timeouts0000
 
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 8.99K
  • 756
  • 1.87K
Superuser
Superuser
385 Views
Message 7 of 12
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Very Very Slow

Your upstream power levels are high and there are quite a few T3 errors showing in the logs. This suggests a upstream impairment on your local circuit.

This may not be the sole cause of your slow speeds, but definitely needs looking at by VM. It is possible you may have a contention issue as well, VM can check the local traffic on your network to check.

You will need to contact VM for resolution, either by waiting here about a week until a VM Forum Team Member picks up the thread, or give them a call on 150 from a VM line or 0345 454 1111 for a quicker response.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
gilly36
Tuning in
185 Views
Message 8 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Very Very Slow

Thanks for the reply, run a test this morning and its back up to a more respectable 170Mbps, could it be peak traffic throttling or do I get VM to take a look at the connection?. I`ll clear the logs and start again

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
gilly36
Tuning in
183 Views
Message 9 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Very Very Slow

Oh, just found out you cannot clear the logs when in modem mode, what a pain!!
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 8.99K
  • 756
  • 1.87K
Superuser
Superuser
182 Views
Message 10 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Very Very Slow

VM will need to look at the upstream if the power levels haven't fallen to around 50dBmV or below, and you are still getting T3 errors in the logs.

If you are consistently getting good speeds off peak and poor speeds during peak hours then it does look like contention. VM will need to check your connection for a definitive answer.