Menu
Reply
  • 15
  • 0
  • 0
KEEPCARLM
Joining in
150 Views
Message 1 of 10
Flag for a moderator

VIVID 200 Optical Fibre speeds less than half?

Hi,

For pretty much the past year I had VIVID 200, I've been getting 210-220mbps on my VIVID 200 package. I haven't done a speed test for a while until Sunday when I decided I was sick of having a cable running through my game room wall into my bedroom which meant my Suberhub 3.0 was in the bedroom and I needed to run an ethernet cable around the doors...

Anyway, the point is, my set up was a mess and I was using the coaxial cable which was left there from the previous home owner. I have a box in the wall for my game room, which I've used since I moved in and as I said, got 220mbps at times from it.

So on sunday, I unscrewed the coaxial and got a shorter one, so that I could bring my Suberhub into the game room alongside my two desktop PC's and have all the wiring self-contained in one room. Everything works, the internet still works. I did a speedtest to check and what do you know, my download speed is coming out as around 96mbps on average!

So as a test, I put the original coaxial cable back in and did a speed test again. 200+mbps again. Oh, I thought it must be the cable, so I leave it a while. Few hours later, it's around 11pm I try again and it's again dropped down to 96mbps, varying slightly depending on the server I select on speedtest.net.

Any ideas? has unplugging the coaxial messed up some kind of config settings? Have I not plugged the coaxial cable into the wall socket tight enough? Or is it an issue on virgins end?

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 5.63K
  • 287
  • 1.24K
Superuser
Superuser
139 Views
Message 2 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: VIVID 200 Optical Fibre speeds less than half?

Make sure it's all finger tight.

As you've played with the cable it may mess up how much attenuation is required from the cabinet to your hub.

Can you go to 192.168.0.1 (or 192.168.100.1 in modem mode), get to the router status of the superhub gui and post the power levels.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
All posts made are personal opinions as I do not work for VirginMedia.
Kudo's a post if you find it useful and want to say thanks
Mark a post as a helpful answer if it answers your question

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 15
  • 0
  • 0
KEEPCARLM
Joining in
136 Views
Message 3 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: VIVID 200 Optical Fibre speeds less than half?

I'm not at home right now but when I get home I will try.

Do you need the hub access password for this to work?  As I can't get into the settings due to not knowing the password and I can't find one that actually works...

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 5.63K
  • 287
  • 1.24K
Superuser
Superuser
126 Views
Message 4 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: VIVID 200 Optical Fibre speeds less than half?

You don't, on a hub 3 you should be able to wait about 20 seconds and the router status button will pop up (at the bottom?)


Default password should just be changeme
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
All posts made are personal opinions as I do not work for VirginMedia.
Kudo's a post if you find it useful and want to say thanks
Mark a post as a helpful answer if it answers your question

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 15
  • 0
  • 0
KEEPCARLM
Joining in
114 Views
Message 5 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: VIVID 200 Optical Fibre speeds less than half?

Cable Modem Status Item Status Comments

Acquired Downstream Channel(Hz)
299000000
Locked
Ranged Upstream Channel(Hz)
39400000
Locked
Provisioning State
Online

 

 

 

Downstream bonded channels Channel Frequency(Hz) Power
(dBmV) SNR
(dB) Modulation Channel ID

1299000000738.9256 qam17
2323000000738.9256 qam20
33150000006.838.9256 qam19
4307000000738.9256 qam18
52910000006.538.9256 qam16
62830000006.638.6256 qam15
72750000006.538.9256 qam14
82670000006.638.6256 qam13
92590000006.538.9256 qam12
102510000006.438.9256 qam11
112430000006.338.9256 qam10
122350000006.438.9256 qam9
132270000006.538.9256 qam8
142190000006.638.9256 qam7
152110000006.938.9256 qam6
162030000006.938.6256 qam5
17195000000740.3256 qam4
181870000007.138.9256 qam3
191790000007.140.3256 qam2
201710000007.440.3256 qam

1

 

 

Upstream bonded channels Channel ID Frequency(Hz) Mode Power
(dBmV) Modulation Channel Bandwidth(Hz) Symbol Rate (ksps)

7039400000ATDMA37.864 qam64000005120
6946200000ATDMA37.864 qam6400000

5120

 

Operational Configuration General Configuration Value

Network access
Enabled
Maximum Number of CPEs
1
Baseline Privacy
Enabled
Docsis Mode
Docsis30
Config file
V0dea97109ea7aa00.cm
Primary Downstream Service Flow
SFID822265
Max Traffic Rate230000000
Primary Upstream Service Flow
SFID822264
Max Traffic Rate

12700000

 

 

Network LogDate And TimeError NumberEvent Description2017-01-29 15:12:46.0084000500SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;2017-01-29 15:12:50.0084020200Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;2017-01-29 15:13:00.0082000400Received Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;2017-01-29 17:39:47.0082000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;2017-01-30 21:01:18.0084000700RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;2017-01-30 21:01:18.0084000500SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;2017-01-30 21:01:23.0084020200Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;2017-01-30 21:01:32.0082000400Received Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;2017-01-30 21:10:07.0084000700RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;2017-01-30 21:10:08.0084000500SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;2017-01-30 21:10:08.0084000700RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;2017-01-30 21:10:08.0084000500SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;2017-01-30 21:10:13.0084020200Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;2017-01-30 21:10:16.0082000400Received Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;2017-01-31 18:18:28.0084000700RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;2017-01-31 18:18:28.0084000500SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;2017-01-31 18:18:28.0084000700RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;2017-01-31 18:18:29.0084000500SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;2017-01-31 18:18:33.0084020200Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;2017-01-31 18:18:48.0082000400Received Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

 

 

 

 

Is this the information you needed?

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 15
  • 0
  • 0
KEEPCARLM
Joining in
113 Views
Message 6 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: VIVID 200 Optical Fibre speeds less than half?

oh and I screwed the coax cable in as tight as i could physically go, it won't turn anymore.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 5.63K
  • 287
  • 1.24K
Superuser
Superuser
100 Views
Message 7 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: VIVID 200 Optical Fibre speeds less than half?

Power levels look fine, getting a lot of error messages though.

Going to have to wait and see what's VM say I'm afraid buddy as nothing obvious stands out to why it's happening.

They can take around 1-2 weeks from your last post on the thread.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
All posts made are personal opinions as I do not work for VirginMedia.
Kudo's a post if you find it useful and want to say thanks
Mark a post as a helpful answer if it answers your question

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 15
  • 0
  • 0
KEEPCARLM
Joining in
97 Views
Message 8 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: VIVID 200 Optical Fibre speeds less than half?

Thanks for your help anyway!  

 

Do they pick things up from here or am I going to have to chase them up about it?  

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 8.32K
  • 355
  • 584
Forum Team
Forum Team
69 Views
Message 9 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: VIVID 200 Optical Fibre speeds less than half?

Hi KEEPCARLM,

 

Welcome to the Community!

 

Really sorry to hear you're having trouble with your connection.

 

I've located your account and I can see an SNR (signal to noise ratio) issue in your area causing intermittent connection and slow speed - Ref.(F005070835). Our technicians are working to get this sorted as soon as possible and have set a review date of 17th February.

 

I'll check back with your on the review date with an update.

 

Speak soon Smiley Very Happy

 

Josh


Tech fan? Have you read our Digital life blog yet? Check it out


0 Kudos
Reply
  • 8.32K
  • 355
  • 584
Forum Team
Forum Team
50 Views
Message 10 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: VIVID 200 Optical Fibre speeds less than half?

Hi KEEPCARLM,

 

I've checked the network and it looks like the area fault has been resolved.

 

Let me know if you get any more trouble and I'll check it out for you.

 

All the best! Smiley Very Happy

 

Josh


Tech fan? Have you read our Digital life blog yet? Check it out


0 Kudos
Reply