Menu
CCole1
Joining in
Message 1 of 4
Flag for a moderator

Useless Internet Connection

I am a university student living in a student house with 5 others. I was with virgin media last year and the service was shocking, after many many complaints they finally sorted themselves out and the speed increased. I am now living in the same house, however, the account is under a different name and low and behold, the internet connection is well below what we are paying for. Having to reset the rooter multiple times a week, every other day on average its really not practical or acceptable when everyone is trying to do their work. I spoke to Virgin before setting a contract with them about what they could offer and what would be best for 6 students doing separate work and was told that the package given would be more than enough for over 12 devices which was clearly a lie. 

I also did a broadband speed test on the WHICH website, and considering our speed is supposedly up to 200mps, which i understand the 'Up to' part of the deal, but i personally do not find a download speed of 15.62mps and an upload speed of 13mps at all acceptable for what I am paying. 

Is there anything I can do or any help I can get? 

Bearing in mind, last year when they sent out an engineer, I waited in all day instead of heading to the library, waiting. When they came, they didn't even bother knocking, a note was put through the door and they left. I don't want to have to do all of that again. 

0 Kudos
Superuser
Superuser
Message 2 of 4
Flag for a moderator

Re: Useless Internet Connection

Are you using a wired Ethernet connection to the VM hub or a wireless connection? Wireless is easily disrupted by a number of external factors, so a wired test is the best way to get a true picture of what speed your line is able to achieve. It also helps to pinpoint if the issue is with the wireless or your line.

VM recommend using http://www.speedtest.net/ and selecting a VM server to test speeds.