Menu
Reply
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
Reza2000
Joining in
336 Views
Message 1 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Superhub 2ac not giving me 200mb

Hello,

I have recently begun experiencing speed issues. I am meant to be on 200mb and according to tech support should be receiving around 230mb, however on wifi. I do not receive anymore than 50mb regardless of 2.4GHz or 5GHz and that's on a very quiet channel. I also made sure that the hub is in the open space near no microwave or baby monitor or any other electrical device that would interfere. the test starts around 60mb then goes down to between 30-50 max. upload speed ~13mb and ping ~13ms were mostly unaffected. I ran a speed test wired and only managed to get around 100mb. my network card supports up to 1Gbps. I then changed the settings into modem mode and only manage to achieve around 140mb max (still a long way to 200mb). when I ran my test, I made sure no other devices was connected so the speed test results would have not been impacted. this has affecting my youtube streaming, downloading and even browsing. Restoring to factory settings, and all the other tricks that you can find by googling did not help either. the other night, my upload speed was even faster than my download speed!??!!!??!?! Could my router have developed into some technical difficulties? last time I had an issue with it, technician came out, adjusted the power levels from the cabinet and put a 6dB attenuator at the back of my hub. The time before that I was given a new hub and 2 attenuator on top of each other which the previous engineer just took them off.

 

Any help is appreciated before this internet speed drives me crazy.

 

below is my power levels

 

Downstream
 
DS-1
DS-2
DS-3
DS-4
DS-5
DS-6
DS-7
DS-8
Frequency (Hz)
251000000
259000000
267000000
275000000
283000000
291000000
299000000
307000000
Lock Status(QAM Lock/FEC Sync/MPEG Lock)
Locked
Locked
Locked
Locked
Locked
Locked
Locked
Locked
Channel ID
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
Modulation
256QAM
256QAM
256QAM
256QAM
256QAM
256QAM
256QAM
256QAM
Symbol Rate (Msym/sec)
6.952000
6.952000
6.952000
6.952000
6.952000
6.952000
6.952000
6.952000
Interleave Depth
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
Power Level (dBmV)
2.60
2.79
2.76
2.84
3.18
3.18
3.06
3.01
RxMER (dB)
38.26
38.61
38.61
38.98
39.40
39.85
39.40
39.40
Pre RS Errors
485
1238
318
304
283
285
987
286
Post RS Errors
278
279
279
278
283
285
987
286

 

Upstream
 
US-1
US-2
US-3
US-4
Channel Type
2.0
N/A
N/A
2.0
Channel ID
2
N/A
N/A
1
Frequency (Hz)
35800000
N/A
N/A
45800000
Ranging Status
Success
Other
Other
Success
Modulation
16QAM
N/A
N/A
16QAM
Symbol Rate (Sym/sec)
5120000
N/A
N/A
5120000
Mini-Slot Size
4
N/A
N/A
4
Power Level (dBmV)
45.75
N/A
N/A
46.75
T1 Timeouts
0
0
0
0
T2 Timeouts
0
0
0
0
T3 Timeouts
0
0
0
0
T4 Timeouts
0
0
0
0

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
Reza2000
Joining in
306 Views
Message 2 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Superhub 2ac not giving me 200mb

Anybody?
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 9.01K
  • 760
  • 1.88K
Superuser
Superuser
284 Views
Message 3 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Superhub 2ac not giving me 200mb

First of all, your stats look fine, nothing obviously amiss there.

Wired and wireless are two different kettles of fish.

On the wired side

I take it you are connected directly to the hub by ethernet cable.

Do you experience slow speeds all the time, or only during evening peak times?

What ethernet adapter are you using to test?

What colour is the port light on the hub next to the ethernet cable?

Have you tried updating the adapter's drivers ftom the adapter manufacturer's manufacturer's website?

Have to trying a different Cat 5e (or better) ethernet cable?

Starting a Broadband Quality Monitor here will give a better insight on how your connection is performing.

Wireless is more flaky, as it is adversley affected by many influences like , Client Hardware, Range, Interference and the Topography of your home.

The first step would be to look at the wireless hardware, 50 - 70 Mbps is a typical speed for single stream devices.

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 5.91K
  • 158
  • 414
Forum Team
Forum Team
232 Views
Message 4 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Superhub 2ac not giving me 200mb

Hi there Reza2000,

 

Really sorry to hear about the connection issue experienced. Smiley Sad

 

I've located your account and there does appear to be a continued increase with timeouts present.

 

I'd like to arrange for an engineer to come out and look into this further.

 

I've sent you a private message so that we can arrange this.

 

You can locate my message by clicking on the envelope icon near the top right corner of the Community page.

 

Speak soon,

 

Nat_J

 

 


Who's who? Find out more about our community members. Good folk to know


0 Kudos
Reply
  • 184
  • 4
  • 38
omendata
Superfast
220 Views
Message 5 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Superhub 2ac not giving me 200mb

You wont get more than 54mbps if there are devices on your network using this speed already!

Solution : upgrade all your devices to 802.1n+ or switch them all off except the one you want to use.

Superhub isnt that great in the wireless stakes - most folks who want that sort of wifi bandwidth switch it to modem mode and use a proper wireless router.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
Reza2000
Joining in
200 Views
Message 6 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Superhub 2ac not giving me 200mb

Any suggestions for proper wireless router?
I was having a look at night hawk. What do you think?
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 5.91K
  • 158
  • 414
Forum Team
Forum Team
187 Views
Message 7 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Superhub 2ac not giving me 200mb

Hi Reza2000,

 

I have responded to your private mail for us to book an appointment.

 

In addition to this, it may be worth changing your wireless channels to help strengthen your connection.

 

Many thanks,

 

Nat.


Who's who? Find out more about our community members. Good folk to know


0 Kudos
Reply
  • 184
  • 4
  • 38
omendata
Superfast
182 Views
Message 8 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Superhub 2ac not giving me 200mb

Yep Nighthawk all the way!

I have had the superhub 2 installed and i get one bar in the very next room although the wall is concrete!

Upgraded to superhub 3 over the weekend and its still 1 bar!

Dispersion and distance is also still the same measuring with the pro version of Inssider!

Nighthawk is really rather special piece of kit well worth the money if you really are desperate for high throutput on wifi!

200MB though - who actually uses this for internet access - i mean what sort of loads are you running - torrent main hub link - lol?

Even in my last contract for a large insurance company their internet was only 25mb but i suppose everyone is into their 4k streaming!
I will stick with my Hayes Accura 56k modem for now!
>;O)

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 184
  • 4
  • 38
omendata
Superfast
176 Views
Message 9 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Superhub 2ac not giving me 200mb

Not much point Reza giving that info without telling the guy how to find an empty space in the wavelength spectrum!

Download a copy of INSSIDER - check the instructions they are pretty good!

You are looking for a free spectrum - choose the middle value and your overlap wont touch any other nearby wifi!

I just sorted one for a friend last week - luckily i took a screen dump before and after to prove it was sorted - so here is what you need to do!

BeforeBeforeAfterAfter

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 5.91K
  • 158
  • 414
Forum Team
Forum Team
172 Views
Message 10 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Superhub 2ac not giving me 200mb

Thanks for your help with this omendata,

 

Sorry to hear that you experienced some connection issues also.

 

I've located your account and I am unable to detect any interference at present either with the equipment or network segment. Hopefully, all is running smoothly for you.

 

Please let us know if there is anything we can do to help.

 

Nat_J


Who's who? Find out more about our community members. Good folk to know


0 Kudos
Reply