Menu
Reply
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
martinetoye
Joining in
165 Views
Message 1 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Speed problems.

Hi Can anyone look at my network details and see if I could possibly have a problem. Seem to only be getting maximum 75mb. 

Downstream   DS-1 DS-2 DS-3 DS-4 DS-5 DS-6 DS-7 DS-8

Frequency (Hz)258750000234750000242750000250750000266750000274750000282750000290750000
Lock Status(QAM Lock/FEC Sync/MPEG Lock)LockedLockedLockedLockedLockedLockedLockedLocked
Channel ID160157158159161162163164
Modulation256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM
Symbol Rate (Msym/sec)6.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.952000
Interleave DepthI=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
Power Level (dBmV)9.228.899.109.199.219.289.578.60
RxMER (dB)39.4038.2638.2638.2639.4039.4039.4038.61
Pre RS Errors2959414235712684151814837981484
Post RS Errors2932852909461010956301963

 

Also have problems with wifi but that is more and internal problem with router location. 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
martinetoye
Joining in
149 Views
Message 2 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speed problems.

Anyone able to help
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 5.33K
  • 269
  • 1.17K
Superuser
Superuser
139 Views
Message 3 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speed problems.

Is that a constant 75Mbs all the time or does it dip?
What speed are you paying for?



Another customer recently had their speed limited to a constant 75Mbs due to software updates on computer:
http://community.virginmedia.com/t5/Speed/Failed-Upgrade/td-p/3273892

They posted how they fixed it.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
All posts made are personal opinions as I do not work for VirginMedia.
Kudo's a post if you find it useful and want to say thanks
Mark a post as a helpful answer if it answers your question

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
martinetoye
Joining in
126 Views
Message 4 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speed problems.

Hi Shafreya

 

It goes up and down. Sometime right down to 25mb. Im paying for 152mb so a bit annoying. Shouldn't complain as my parents in the country barley get 2. 

 

Ill try your link and see if they makes a difference. 

Thanks

Martin 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 5.33K
  • 269
  • 1.17K
Superuser
Superuser
118 Views
Message 5 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speed problems.

If it's up and down it likely won't. This was a customer stuck on 75Mbs so sounds different.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
All posts made are personal opinions as I do not work for VirginMedia.
Kudo's a post if you find it useful and want to say thanks
Mark a post as a helpful answer if it answers your question

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 10.82K
  • 308
  • 631
Forum Team
Forum Team
100 Views
Message 6 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speed problems.

Hi martinetoye,

 

Thanks for posting back on the community.

 

Sorry to read that you are having issues with your broadband speeds.

 

Looking at your connection, there is a high peak time traffic fault in your area which is causing slow speeds. Our networks team are investigating the problem and are improving bandwidth and performance to help with this issue. The reference number is F004082892 and has a review date of 8th February 2017.

 

Were the speed tests you completed through a wired or wireless connection? If wireless can you try through wired please?

Do you notice these speeds at all times of the day or just during peak hours?

 

Hope to hear from you soon

Sam


New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


0 Kudos
Reply
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
martinetoye
Joining in
81 Views
Message 7 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speed problems.

Hi Sam

I have noticed speed problems at all times of the day. I have done all tests wired direct to the router.
I seem to be getting a few t3 faults as well.

Downstream
DS-1 DS-2 DS-3 DS-4 DS-5 DS-6 DS-7 DS-8
Frequency (Hz) 322750000 266750000 274750000 282750000 290750000 298750000 306750000 314750000
Lock Status(QAM Lock/FEC Sync/MPEG Lock) Locked Locked Locked Locked Locked Locked Locked Locked
Channel ID 168 161 162 163 164 165 166 167
Modulation 256QAM 256QAM 256QAM 256QAM 256QAM 256QAM 256QAM 256QAM
Symbol Rate (Msym/sec) 6.952000 6.952000 6.952000 6.952000 6.952000 6.952000 6.952000 6.952000
Interleave Depth I=12
J=17 I=12
J=17 I=12
J=17 I=12
J=17 I=12
J=17 I=12
J=17 I=12
J=17 I=12
J=17
Power Level (dBmV) 11.04 9.56 9.75 10.09 9.35 7.25 9.88 10.53
RxMER (dB) 39.40 38.26 38.61 38.61 38.98 37.94 38.61 39.40
Pre RS Errors Reset Counter 59708 95805 62670 48875 48819 52444 55910 59969
Post RS Errors Reset Counter 295 334 309 963 319 972 489 570

here is my status again for downstream


Upstream
US-1 US-2 US-3 US-4
Channel Type 2.0 N/A N/A 2.0
Channel ID 50 N/A N/A 51
Frequency (Hz) 39400000 N/A N/A 32600000
Ranging Status Success N/A N/A Success
Modulation 64QAM N/A N/A 64QAM
Symbol Rate (Sym/sec) 5120000 N/A N/A 5120000
Mini-Slot Size 4 N/A N/A 4
Power Level (dBmV) 38.75 N/A N/A 38.00
T1 Timeouts 0 0 0 0
T2 Timeouts 0 0 0 0
T3 Timeouts 6 0 0 2
T4 Timeouts 0 0 0 0

and upstream
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 4.21K
  • 89
  • 271
Moderator
Moderator
59 Views
Message 8 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speed problems.

Hi martinetoye

 

Thanks for getting back to us and providing that information. There are a few T3 timeouts showing but it's a very low amount and unlikely to cause any problems with your connection. What speed test results are you getting outside of peak times? The fault F004082892 may also account for some issues just outside peak times when checking the data over the last few days. We'll continue to monitor this and provide you with an update closer to the review date Sam mentioned 8th February 2017

 

Speak soon 


The do's and don'ts. Keep the community welcoming for all. Follow the house rules


0 Kudos
Reply