Menu
Reply
  • 31
  • 0
  • 0
Amran
Joining in
612 Views
Message 1 of 36
Flag for a moderator

Speed issue new customer

Hi I am new customer that signed up to virgin media 152mb service and speed is slow I am getting 30mb download and 12mb up and drops 15mb download, 12mb up on ethernet cable  and on wireless it ranges from 40 - 50mb download and 12mb upload speed, it sometimes drops to 13 - 20mb download aswell. Wondering why the slow speed and wanted to know if virgin media put me on the correct package? below are my downstream and upstream stats maybe someone can help me and check if everything look fine and if there any problem thanks

 

Downstream  DS-1 DS-2 DS-3 DS-4 DS-5 DS-6 DS-7 DS-8

Frequency (Hz)299000000267000000275000000283000000291000000307000000315000000323000000
Lock Status(QAM Lock/FEC Sync/MPEG Lock)LockedLockedLockedLockedLockedLockedLockedLocked
Channel ID51234678
Modulation256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM
Symbol Rate (Msym/sec)6.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.952000
Interleave DepthI=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
Power Level (dBmV)4.164.714.244.474.093.993.943.72
RxMER (dB)38.2638.2637.9438.2638.2638.2637.9437.94
Pre RS Errors423367317939290305986985
Post RS Errors300295299934290305985985

 

Upstream  US-1 US-2 US-3 US-4

Channel Type2.0N/AN/A2.0
Channel ID18N/AN/A19
Frequency (Hz)39400000N/AN/A32600000
Ranging StatusSuccessOtherOtherSuccess
Modulation16QAMN/AN/A16QAM
Symbol Rate (Sym/sec)5120000N/AN/A5120000
Mini-Slot Size4N/AN/A4
Power Level (dBmV)42.50N/AN/A42.00
T1 Timeouts0000
T2 Timeouts0000
T3 Timeouts0000
T4 Timeouts0000
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 413
  • 16
  • 78
Cyanyde
Fibre optic
575 Views
Message 2 of 36
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speed issue new customer

Nothing wrong with those stats that should be giving you a slow connection. You can also look in the operation configuration page of the router status to check which package your hub is set to. The max traffic rates for upstream and downstream will tell this.


Cy - I don't work for VM, just lurk these forums and (hopefully) help
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 31
  • 0
  • 0
Amran
Joining in
568 Views
Message 3 of 36
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speed issue new customer

Hi It look ok to me but what could be the reason why the speed is slow?

 

General Configuration

Network AccessAllowed
Maximum Number of CPEs1
Baseline PrivacyEnabled
DOCSIS ModeEuroDOCSIS 3.0
Config File 

Primary Downstream Service Flow

SFID43600
Max Traffic Rate168960000 bps
Max Traffic Burst10000 bytes
Min Traffic Rate0 bps

Primary Upstream Service Flow

SFID4910
Max Traffic Rate12600000 bps
Max Traffic Burst16320 bytes
Min Traffic Rate0 bps
Max Concatenated Burst16320 bytes
Scheduling TypeBest Effort

 

thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 9.48K
  • 650
  • 1.81K
Superuser
Superuser
542 Views
Message 4 of 36
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speed issue new customer

you are on 152 - so thats bits right

 

do a wired test with SH in modem mode and the pc in safe mode with networking - only the lan connector next to the coax works

 

can you confirm what SH you have - there are 3 - the model will be on the label and can you confirm what wifi and lan cards you are using also what devices you are doing wifi speed tests on

____________________

Tony
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 31
  • 0
  • 0
Amran
Joining in
503 Views
Message 5 of 36
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speed issue new customer

Hi,

thanks for replying I tried doing that putting the super hub 2 in modem mode and PC in safe mode and speed i achieve is 32mb download and 12 up with Ethernet cable. Also I have the super hub 2ac version I unscrewed the coax cable and screwed it back in and done wireless test and achieved 152mb and 12mb upload but sometimes the speed varies from 101mb, 90mb, 70mb download been testing it for 2 days and stayed like that which is a improvement. Also I believe I will need a virgin media engineer visit because the installation was not done properly on the outside of the property here a picture below of how it was left I believe the connection meant to be covered with a brown plastic cover which the engineer failed to do.

 

http://lookpic.com/O/i2/696/R8eDXh9p.jpeg

 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 31
  • 0
  • 0
Amran
Joining in
499 Views
Message 6 of 36
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speed issue new customer

Almost forgot I am using wireless n for wireless connection and for Ethernet I am using Broadcom netlink (tm) gigabit Ethernet.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 188
  • 11
  • 26
Smitherz87
Superfast
490 Views
Message 7 of 36
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speed issue new customer


Amran wrote:

Hi,

thanks for replying I tried doing that putting the super hub 2 in modem mode and PC in safe mode and speed i achieve is 32mb download and 12 up with Ethernet cable. Also I have the super hub 2ac version I unscrewed the coax cable and screwed it back in and done wireless test and achieved 152mb and 12mb upload but sometimes the speed varies from 101mb, 90mb, 70mb download been testing it for 2 days and stayed like that which is a improvement. Also I believe I will need a virgin media engineer visit because the installation was not done properly on the outside of the property here a picture below of how it was left I believe the connection meant to be covered with a brown plastic cover which the engineer failed to do.

 

http://lookpic.com/O/i2/696/R8eDXh9p.jpeg

 


Oh dear at the pic. Are you saying your wireless speeds are ok we are simply talking LAN speeds? Do you have another Ethernet cable to hand? I suggest try that first.

I am a Virgin Media Field Technician. All my replies are my own opinion.
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 31
  • 0
  • 0
Amran
Joining in
487 Views
Message 8 of 36
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speed issue new customer

Hi,

 

thanks for replying my wireless speed is perfect now since i took off the coax cable from the superhub and screwed back in tight using my hand. and my lan speed for ethernet is slow i can only achieve 32mb download and 12mb upload.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 188
  • 11
  • 26
Smitherz87
Superfast
480 Views
Message 9 of 36
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speed issue new customer

All the connections do need to be tight throughout. It can impact on your SNR levels amongst other things. Is you computer stating your running at gigabit speeds? Try changing port in the hub as well as cable.

I am a Virgin Media Field Technician. All my replies are my own opinion.
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 14.38K
  • 640
  • 1.45K
Moderator
Moderator
457 Views
Message 10 of 36
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speed issue new customer

Hi Amran,

 

That pic is not right at all. I'd like to book a technician to get this sorted properly for you and have just sent you a PM to arrange this.

As to the speeds being slow on ethernet, do you know if your network cards are gigabit of 100mb. If 100mb this is likely an issue with the superhub ACs firmware. There is a new version of the firmware in trial that fixes this and this should be released very soon. 


The do's and don'ts. Keep the community welcoming for all. Follow the house rules


0 Kudos
Reply