Menu
Reply
  • 171
  • 8
  • 14
Stealthbird97
Superfast
226 Views
Message 11 of 30
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speed Issues...

Okay, I have phoned the call centre again just now.

They seems to be saying things along the lines that, there have been many calls over the last few days about this problem from different subscribers, and the issue lies with a network upgrade at one of your nodes/hubs, which is going to take time. Until the end of the month at least.

Can you please confirm whether or not this is true?

=================================================================

Kind Regards
Cori

My Internet is worse than it was in 2013.

My Broadband Speed

I am pleased to announce I will be switching from VM.

I am not a VM employee. My IT knowledge is pretty good though.
If you find my answer useful, please sent Kudos. If I solve or answer your question, mark as helpful answer! Smiley Very Happy
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 10.82K
  • 308
  • 631
Forum Team
Forum Team
220 Views
Message 12 of 30
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speed Issues...

Hi Stealthbird97,

 

Thanks for getting back to me.

 

In regards to the high peak time traffic fault I raised, the reference number is F005158009 and has a review date of 8th November.

 

To discuss this further, I have sent you a PM (purple envelope icon, right corner).

 

Speak soon

Sam


New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


0 Kudos
Reply
  • 5.35K
  • 272
  • 1.18K
Superuser
Superuser
207 Views
Message 13 of 30
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speed Issues...

@Stealthbird97

The short answer to what Samantha has posted is basically this - leave if you can.

These faults take a very long time to fix, and the long starting review date shows that it's a fresh one.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
All posts made are personal opinions as I do not work for VirginMedia.
Kudo's a post if you find it useful and want to say thanks
Mark a post as a helpful answer if it answers your question

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 171
  • 8
  • 14
Stealthbird97
Superfast
203 Views
Message 14 of 30
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speed Issues...

Well, it might very well come to that.

My confuses me is to why this has suddenly become an issue. There isn't really a reason for the speed to suddenly drop. 


=================================================================

Kind Regards
Cori

My Internet is worse than it was in 2013.

My Broadband Speed

I am pleased to announce I will be switching from VM.

I am not a VM employee. My IT knowledge is pretty good though.
If you find my answer useful, please sent Kudos. If I solve or answer your question, mark as helpful answer! Smiley Very Happy
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 171
  • 8
  • 14
Stealthbird97
Superfast
170 Views
Message 15 of 30
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speed Issues...

To issue an update on this issue.

I have now had an engineer around, on wednesday. They have established that the power levels are fine, they even boosted them slightly. So, they replaced the super hub. Didn't give me a superhub 3 though, which was disappointing. 

Typically, the activation system was having issues, so the engineer couldn't stick arround to check it afterwards. About 2 hours later the activation went through. Speed was no different.

As of 7pm yesterday (Thursday) the service has completely gone. The superhub won't connect to virgin media at all (Tick on super hub continuously flashing double arrow is solid green). Superhub status page indicates the issue with with the provisioning stage.

Called up the call centre, they identified that there was an issue with my box connecting to the network, and they would look into it to see if it was a network fault and that they would all me back in 2 hours or so. They didn't, so I phoned them up again, and I am told that another engineer would be needed to see what the issue is. The earliest appointment is Wednesday. I.e. 5 days from now. This is really quite pitiful, and Virgin Media should honestly be ashamed.

Oh, how great it will be when Ofcom acts on it's proposal for automatic compensation for service outages. You'd owe me £30 for this outage, assuming it doesn't come back on before the engineer arrives.

http://www.which.co.uk/news/2017/03/automatic-broadband-compensation-proposed/


=================================================================

Kind Regards
Cori

My Internet is worse than it was in 2013.

My Broadband Speed

I am pleased to announce I will be switching from VM.

I am not a VM employee. My IT knowledge is pretty good though.
If you find my answer useful, please sent Kudos. If I solve or answer your question, mark as helpful answer! Smiley Very Happy
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 5.93K
  • 159
  • 415
Forum Team
Forum Team
158 Views
Message 16 of 30
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speed Issues...

Thanks for updating the thread Stealthbird97,

 

Really very sorry about this.

 

I've double checked the available quota for you and there aren't any earlier appointments on the system at the moment. Smiley Sad

 

Let me know if I can help with anything more in the meantime,

 

Nat_J


Who's who? Find out more about our community members. Good folk to know


0 Kudos
Reply
  • 171
  • 8
  • 14
Stealthbird97
Superfast
156 Views
Message 17 of 30
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speed Issues...

Can you advice me if this IS a network fault or not.

I can not believe that the replacement superhub was faulty.


=================================================================

Kind Regards
Cori

My Internet is worse than it was in 2013.

My Broadband Speed

I am pleased to announce I will be switching from VM.

I am not a VM employee. My IT knowledge is pretty good though.
If you find my answer useful, please sent Kudos. If I solve or answer your question, mark as helpful answer! Smiley Very Happy
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 171
  • 8
  • 14
Stealthbird97
Superfast
144 Views
Message 18 of 30
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speed Issues...

I've just been looking through my superhubs status pages.

 

Network Log
First Time Last Time Priority Error Number Description
25/03/2017 00:54:06 GMT 25/03/2017 00:54:06 GMT Error (4) 68000407 TOD established
25/03/2017 00:53:48 GMT 25/03/2017 00:53:48 GMT Notice (6) 84000510 Downstream Locked Successfully
25/03/2017 00:53:48 GMT 25/03/2017 00:53:48 GMT Warning (5) 84020300 MDD message timeout
25/03/2017 00:53:48 GMT 25/03/2017 00:53:48 GMT Warning (5) 84020200 Lost MDD Timeout
25/03/2017 00:53:35 GMT 25/03/2017 00:53:35 GMT Critical (3) 68000100 DHCP FAILED - Discover sent, no offer received


Downstream
DS-1 DS-2 DS-3 DS-4 DS-5 DS-6 DS-7 DS-8
Frequency (Hz) 298750000 N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Lock Status(QAM Lock/FEC Sync/MPEG Lock) Locked Unlocked Unlocked Unlocked Unlocked Unlocked Unlocked Unlocked
Channel ID 21 N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Modulation 256QAM Unknown Unknown Unknown Unknown Unknown Unknown Unknown
Symbol Rate (Msym/sec) 6.952000 N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Interleave Depth I=12
J=17 N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Power Level (dBmV) 8.43 N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
RxMER (dB) 37.09 N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Upstream
US-1 US-2 US-3 US-4
Channel Type 2.0 N/A N/A N/A
Channel ID 2 N/A N/A N/A
Frequency (Hz) 39400000 N/A N/A N/A
Ranging Status Success N/A N/A N/A
Modulation 16QAM N/A N/A N/A
Symbol Rate (Sym/sec) 5120000 N/A N/A N/A
Mini-Slot Size 4 N/A N/A N/A
Power Level (dBmV) 42.25 N/A N/A N/A
T1 Timeouts 0 0 0 0
T2 Timeouts 0 0 0 0
T3 Timeouts 0 0 0 0
T4 Timeouts 0 0 0 0

 


=================================================================

Kind Regards
Cori

My Internet is worse than it was in 2013.

My Broadband Speed

I am pleased to announce I will be switching from VM.

I am not a VM employee. My IT knowledge is pretty good though.
If you find my answer useful, please sent Kudos. If I solve or answer your question, mark as helpful answer! Smiley Very Happy
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 5.35K
  • 272
  • 1.18K
Superuser
Superuser
134 Views
Message 19 of 30
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speed Issues...

Your superhub is only locked onto 1 channel for DS and US which is wrong and bad.

 

 

You don't want a superhub3 anyway there are terrible.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
All posts made are personal opinions as I do not work for VirginMedia.
Kudo's a post if you find it useful and want to say thanks
Mark a post as a helpful answer if it answers your question

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 453
  • 9
  • 89
Bestie
Fibre optic
121 Views
Message 20 of 30
Flag for a moderator

Re: Speed Issues...

Leave if you can as I have had this utilization for nearly 3 years.

0 Kudos
Reply