Menu
Reply
  • 3
  • 0
  • 0
parsonsmead
Joining in
116 Views
Message 1 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Slow speeds Area 03 TW11

Dear All, anyone else experiencing high ping & speeds of only 60Mb speed on 200Mb package.

Normally rock solid at 205Mb.

VM tests show no problem but definitely something not right.

 

Many thanks.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 2.96K
  • 378
  • 939
Superuser
Superuser
102 Views
Message 2 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow speeds Area 03 TW11

Are you using a wired Ethernet connection to the VM hub or a wireless connection? Wireless is easily disrupted by a number of external factors, so a wired test is the best way to get a true picture of what speed your line is able to achieve. It also helps to pinpoint if the issue is with the wireless or your line.

Are you seeing slow speeds all day or only at peak times (typically 4pm-11pm weekdays and weekends)? Some areas are suffering with over utilisation, which results in very slow speeds at peak times but full speed at off peak times.

If you go to http://192.168.0.1/ (or http://192.168.100.1/ if you are in modem mode) to get the VM hub GUI. Don't login but instead click on Router Status which is either a button in the top right of the screen or a text link at the bottom of the screen depending on which hub you have. Click on the Downstream, Upstream and Network Log sections and copy & paste the figures from those screens and post them here, don't worry about the formatting or you can post screenshots if that is easier. Be careful to edit out or obscure any reference to your WAN IP in the log to protect your privacy.

The community can have a look for you and see if anything in the figures looks wrong and advise accordingly. Or you can wait for the VM staff to pick up this thread (can take up to a week) and run checks on your line.

______________________
Scott

Disclaimer - I don't work for Virgin Media. I'm just another VM user trying to help out so my answers may be wrong Smiley Happy If my answer solves your problem please mark it as helpful as it may help others
My setup: Vivid 200 Optical fibre with Superhub 2 in modem mode connected to a Netgear R7000 router. Telewest/VM user since 2001.  

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 3
  • 0
  • 0
parsonsmead
Joining in
72 Views
Message 3 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow speeds Area 03 TW11

 

2016-12-30 23:11:46.0068010600DHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-V0dea97109ea7aa00.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-01-0
13230000000.237.3256 qam36
23150000000.237.3256 qam35
33070000000.437.3256 qam34
42990000000.537.3256 qam33
52910000000.237.6256 qam32
62830000000.237.3256 qam31
72750000000.538.6256 qam30
82670000000.438.6256 qam29
92590000000.738.6256 qam28
10235000000238.6256 qam25
112430000001.238.6256 qam26
122510000001.238.6256 qam27
2 07:20:40.00
82000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-01-03 16:20:20.0068010100DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-01-04 16:39:06.0068010400DHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-01-04 16:39:06.0068010600DHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-V0dea97109ea7aa00.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-01-08 13:00:13.0082000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-01-08 15:54:00.0068010100DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-01-09 17:52:40.0068010400DHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-01-09 17:52:40.0068010600DHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-V0dea97109ea7aa00.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-01-13 11:47:02.0068010100DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-01-14 12:18:16.0068010400DHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-01-14 12:18:16.0068010600DHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-V0dea97109ea7aa00.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-01-18 10:53:06.0068010100DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-01-19 12:40:51.0068010400DHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-01-19 12:40:51.0068010600DHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-V0dea97109ea7aa00.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-01-23 07:10:17.0068010100DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-01-24 02:44:46.0082000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-01-24 04:45:57.0068010100DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-01-24 07:51:06.0068010400DHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-01-24 07:51:06.0068010600DHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-V0dea97109ea7aa00.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

 

531000000ATDMA47.564 qam64000005120
437600000ATDMA47.564 qam6400000

5120

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 2.96K
  • 378
  • 939
Superuser
Superuser
64 Views
Message 4 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow speeds Area 03 TW11

The power levels look OK to me.

@ModTeam Please can you get somebody from the forum team to take a look at this thread and check @parsonsmead's connection as it has been 7 weeks since the thread was started and it seems to have been overlooked by the forum team.

______________________
Scott

Disclaimer - I don't work for Virgin Media. I'm just another VM user trying to help out so my answers may be wrong Smiley Happy If my answer solves your problem please mark it as helpful as it may help others
My setup: Vivid 200 Optical fibre with Superhub 2 in modem mode connected to a Netgear R7000 router. Telewest/VM user since 2001.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 12.48K
  • 353
  • 1.45K
Forum Team
Forum Team
56 Views
Message 5 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow speeds Area 03 TW11

Hi parsonsmead,

Please accept our apologies for not reaching your post sooner. We do try to ensure that we respond to posts that the Community are unable to help with, but some do fall by the wayside I'm sorry Smiley Sad

Anyhow, I have thoroughly checked your connection and am unable to see anything that might explain your recent speed dip.

The network itself is completely free from congestion and there are no network errors or SNR issues.

Your Hub is report a couple of timeouts but nothing untoward and these could have occurred at any point during the last 80+ days of your connection (since your Hub was last rebooted).

If you are still having problems with this then I think I should arrange for an engineer to check your connection over. Firstly though I wonder if you'd mind disconnecting your router, and, with modem mode still enabled on the Hub, connect a pc to it. Re-run your speed tests and let me know if there's any improvement. If not we'll arrange an engineer visit Smiley Happy

 


Jen
Forum Team



0 Kudos
Reply
  • 32
  • 1
  • 3
alanwardrop
On our wavelength
40 Views
Message 6 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: Slow speeds Area 03 TW11

Hi Parsonsmead,

Whereabouts in TW11 are you. Me and my neighbours in TW11 8xx would sell our souls for 60Mb. 60kb is not untypical of our peak time speeds.

 

0 Kudos
Reply