Menu
smiffy69
Tuning in
Message 1 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Slow speed in the evening - is this usual?

Hi Newbie here so sorry if this has been done to death but .........

Is it normal for a 200Meg service (which during the day will meet these speeds) drop to <30M during the evening.  I get there is contention during the peak period but surely this is too slow.  I pay for a high speed service and would expect to able to use this at peak time as that's when I need to use it.  

I have had many calls with the help desk to resolve but it never changes.  Feeling that I have bought into a service which can't delivery :-( 

Speed test is via ookla, cabled direct to router so its not a Wifi issue.  accordingly to log peak time speeds have been declining over the last few weeks. I am in area 20

0 Kudos

Helpful Answers
Superuser
Superuser
Message 2 of 16
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Slow speed in the evening - is this usual?

Slow speeds at peak times (typically 4pm-11pm weekdays and weekends) but full speed at off peak times is normally a symptom of high utilisation/contention in your area.

Somebody from the VM forum team should be along in 7-10 days to check your connection and can confirm if there is a known issue with your segment of the network. If that is the case they should provide a fault reference and pass your details onto another team who should inform you about your credit options for the lack of service via a PM. They should also be able to provide a review date for the fault. Note that it is a review date not a guaranteed fix date and some customers affected by this kind of issue have been waiting over a year for a fix.

This sort of peak time lack of capacity issue is not usual for the majority of customers (despite what some on here would have you believe) but if you are a new customer and within your 14 day cooling off period it might be worth considering cancelling.