Menu
Reply
  • 12
  • 0
  • 0
AdamPanic2013
Tuning in
275 Views
Message 1 of 10
Flag for a moderator

S70 Vivid200 Speed @~20Mps

There seems to be an issue with my connection. 10% of the advertised speed isn't what I'm paying for. 10 - 20Mbs. 

http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/5944081131

 

Information

Cable ModemEuroDOCSIS 3.0 Compliant
Serial Number3BW134U112FED
Boot Code VersionPSPU-Boot 1.0.20.1356
Software VersionV1.01.31
Hardware Version3.11
CA KeyInstalled

 

Cable Modem Status Item Status Comments

Acquired Downstream Channel (Hz)283000000Locked
Ranged Upstream Channel (Hz)46200000Success
Provisioning StateOKOperational

Downstream   DS-1 DS-2 DS-3 DS-4 DS-5 DS-6 DS-7 DS-8

Frequency (Hz)283000000267000000275000000291000000299000000307000000315000000323000000
Lock Status(QAM Lock/FEC Sync/MPEG Lock)LockedLockedLockedLockedLockedLockedLockedLocked
Channel ID2725262829303132
Modulation256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM
Symbol Rate (Msym/sec)6.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.952000
Interleave DepthI=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
Power Level (dBmV)-0.59-1.90-1.63-0.46-0.48-0.18-0.21-0.17
RxMER (dB)38.6137.0937.0937.6438.6139.4038.6138.98
Pre RS Errors
968225163100
Post RS Errors
00000000

 

Upstream   US-1 US-2 US-3 US-4

Channel Type2.0N/AN/A2.0
Channel ID17N/AN/A18
Frequency (Hz)46200000N/AN/A39400000
Ranging StatusSuccessOtherOtherSuccess
Modulation16QAMN/AN/A16QAM
Symbol Rate (Sym/sec)5120000N/AN/A5120000
Mini-Slot Size4N/AN/A4
Power Level (dBmV)43.25N/AN/A42.00
T1 Timeouts0000
T2 Timeouts0000
T3 Timeouts4000
T4 Timeouts0000

 

Upstream Burst   Req
(1) Init Maint
(3) Per Maint
(4) Adv Short
(9) Adv Long
(10) Adv UGS
(11)

Modulation TypeQPSKQPSKQPSK16QAM16QAM16QAM
Differential EncodingOFFOFFOFFOFFOFFOFF
Preamble Length5638438496104104
Preamble Value Offset39666102810281028
FEC Error Correction (T)000688
FEC Codeword Information Bytes (K)163434150236236
Maximum Burst Size000300
Guard Time Size84848888
Last Codeword LengthFixedFixedFixedShortenedShortenedShortened
Scrambler On/OffONONONONONON

 

General Configuration

Network AccessAllowed
Maximum Number of CPEs1
Baseline PrivacyEnabled
DOCSIS ModeEuroDOCSIS 3.0
Config File 

Primary Downstream Service Flow

SFID36959
Max Traffic Rate230000000 bps
Max Traffic Burst42600 bytes
Min Traffic Rate0 bps

Primary Upstream Service Flow

SFID51523
Max Traffic Rate12700000 bps
Max Traffic Burst16320 bytes
Min Traffic Rate0 bps
Max Concatenated Burst16320 bytes
Scheduling Type

Best Effort

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 14
  • 0
  • 3
Forgotten
Tuning in
254 Views
Message 2 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: S70 Vivid200 Speed @~20Mps

No one likes slow speeds ;(

30mbps for 200mbps yeah that isn't always the best to look at, when you did the speed test what device did you do this on? and are you aware of what the connection speed is for that device? for example is the WiFi device connect on a 2.4Ghz frequency with not the greatest range or has a Laptop / Computer with a wired connection got a limited connection speed for the port or software wise with the "Duplex"? I'd suggest first of all trying to test the speed with multiple devices and have you checked if there are any current VM faults in your area for BroadBand?

Also to be honest I also just a did a speed test for comparison on SpeedTest.net and got 40Mbps down.. which is a little low seems Speedtest locations may be having a little problem to be honest.  -  Try beta.speedtest.net as I got 211Mbps on that test multiple times without fail. (Always try alternatives) it's not always VM's fault Smiley Wink <3

My Tests:

SpeedTest.net - http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/5944310546

Beta.SpeedTest.net - http://beta.speedtest.net/result/5944312769

OVH.NET (France) - http://pic.nperf.com/r/90792508-WHsIWpSd.png

"I have not failed. I've just found 10,000 ways that won't work." - How everyone in a technical field should think.
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 12
  • 0
  • 0
AdamPanic2013
Tuning in
215 Views
Message 3 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: S70 Vivid200 Speed @~20Mps

I'd did the speed test on Wired Ethernet connection, capable of at least 100 Mb/s maybe 1Gb/s. So the internal network isn't the issue.
The computer and OS isn't too. I've previously had a reliable 200+Mb/s connection, at most times of the day, occasionally 150Mb/s,

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 12
  • 0
  • 0
AdamPanic2013
Tuning in
205 Views
Message 4 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: S70 Vivid200 Speed @~20Mps

Been on 150 to Virgnmedia. The customer service, did a test and tweaked some dials that should give a better Signal To Noise Ratio.

Also informed be that apparently they are working on upgrading the cables in my area. Work start ~1 Jan 2017 should be finished 1 Feb 2017

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
anTTony
Joining in
198 Views
Message 5 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: S70 Vivid200 Speed @~20Mps

have you tried running speedtest.net on chrome rather than Microsoft edge. If I change to chrome I go from around 30mb to 210mb?! I just don't get it!

time for a new BB provider I think...
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 14
  • 0
  • 3
Forgotten
Tuning in
195 Views
Message 6 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: S70 Vivid200 Speed @~20Mps


anTTony wrote:

have you tried running speedtest.net on chrome rather than Microsoft edge. If I change to chrome I go from around 30mb to 210mb?! I just don't get it!


It really does not work like that ... The difference between Chrome and Edge has nothing to do with the speeds provided by your ISP.

Try beta.speedtest.net on them both remember both browser work differently and we all know Edge is just Explorer reskined.

"I have not failed. I've just found 10,000 ways that won't work." - How everyone in a technical field should think.
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 14
  • 0
  • 3
Forgotten
Tuning in
193 Views
Message 7 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: S70 Vivid200 Speed @~20Mps


AdamPanic2013 wrote:

Been on 150 to Virgnmedia. The customer service, did a test and tweaked some dials that should give a better Signal To Noise Ratio.

Also informed be that apparently they are working on upgrading the cables in my area. Work start ~1 Jan 2017 should be finished 1 Feb 2017


From when you pointed this out last night I had the same problem with speeds but not from what Virgin Media was providing from what http://speedtest.net was showing me using another speed test provider / location did yield better results (200Mbps) what you would expect.

Always use http://beta.speedtest.net or http://ovh.net for any speed test you do.

"I have not failed. I've just found 10,000 ways that won't work." - How everyone in a technical field should think.
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 12
  • 0
  • 0
AdamPanic2013
Tuning in
169 Views
Message 8 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: S70 Vivid200 Speed @~20Mps

I have been using those SpeedTest for my values. Currently there at about half it should be.
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 14
  • 0
  • 3
Forgotten
Tuning in
166 Views
Message 9 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: S70 Vivid200 Speed @~20Mps


AdamPanic2013 wrote:
I have been using those SpeedTest for my values. Currently there at about half it should be.

That's fair enough I just wouldn't take those values for granted, I'd try other speed test sites and Speedtest.net is not what is used to be i'd go for beta.speedtest.net if you would like to stay with them they focus on that much more.

I'd always do my tests on OVH.net first, it's using OVH own servers and not allowing others to host for it (Less chance for downtime / failure)

"I have not failed. I've just found 10,000 ways that won't work." - How everyone in a technical field should think.
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 5.32K
  • 169
  • 353
Moderator
Moderator
118 Views
Message 10 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: S70 Vivid200 Speed @~20Mps

Hey AdamPanic2013,

 

I'm sorry to hear you're suffering problems with your speeds at the moment, I understand how frustrating this can be and will see what I can do to help.

 

I've run some initial diagnostics and I can see the issue that your were told of on the phone. I've also tested your hub to ensure there aren't any other issues affecting the connection, everything looks good there.

 

With regards the issue you were informed of, our engineers are currently planning to undertake some broadband upgrades to support the increased demand for our services in the area. Once this work is completed you'll find that speeds return to normal. The impact of these issues should only affect speeds during peak times.

 

The reference for the work is F004150410 and the current review date is 1st February, as you were advised. I've passed your details over to a colleague who'll be in touch about a loss of service credit and they'll provide updates when we know more on the next review date. Feel free to bump this thread if you have further questions or if you'd like to check for updates.

Kev

The do's and don'ts. Keep the community welcoming for all. Follow the house rules


0 Kudos
Reply