Menu
Reply
  • 9
  • 0
  • 1
Nefestus
Tuning in
511 Views
Message 1 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Poor speed - w5

Hello there,

I imagine (know) I'm dealing with an over utilised area but just to make sure there's nothing wrong with my power levels I thought I'd post to check that it's not just the over utilised area.

Also, I would like to know the fault code for my area/review date if possible and any compensation that I'd be able to receive for such a degradation (seriously, look at this monitor (second monitor)) to service.

Furthermore, is the over utilisation accountable for the increased minimum ping achieved in the first monitor (this is actually a good day)? It's annoying enough to be unable to play games and such online but sometimes the minimum ping will be so high even loading basic web pages becomes impossible!

 

5870033873

1d1d82f8888ffb2930977f718dcb5ee2-11-12-2016

96a1f615eba8f213a42161b3e8dc89a8-04-12-2016

xHTEaGr

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 9.02K
  • 760
  • 1.88K
Superuser
Superuser
497 Views
Message 2 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Poor speed - w5

Your downstream power levels are too low and the upstream are running quite warm.

These need to be adjusted by a VM tech. However, this does not mean you have a utilisation issue as well. it should become clearer when the power levels are bak in tolerance.

VM need to take a closer look. You can wait here for about a week until a VM Forum Team Member picks up the thread, or give them a call on 150 from a VM line or 0345 454 1111 for a quicker response.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 9
  • 0
  • 1
Nefestus
Tuning in
435 Views
Message 3 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Poor speed - w5

Hey guys, engineer came today and fixed the power levels.

Definitely a utilisation issue in my opinion since this is what I have now still (red is when engineer visited)

 

3a82b182fb389ed7ff537270e553daa6-20-12-2016

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 9
  • 0
  • 1
Nefestus
Tuning in
376 Views
Message 4 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Poor speed - w5

Just bumping since I haven't had a reply for a few weeks. The problem is still occurring every single day at peak times.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 41
  • 0
  • 3
RealChris
On our wavelength
357 Views
Message 5 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Poor speed - w5

Same area, w6.

Just as unusable...

 large-6.png

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 9.88K
  • 323
  • 854
legacy1
Hero
341 Views
Message 6 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Poor speed - w5


RealChris wrote:

Same area, w6.

Just as unusable...

 large-6.png


Looks like VM forgot to turn on QoS at their end and the bandwidth is a unfair slug feast? if your sure your not causing it? 

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
EdxAllen
Joining in
332 Views
Message 7 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Poor speed - w5

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 5.98K
  • 159
  • 415
Forum Team
Forum Team
281 Views
Message 8 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Poor speed - w5

Hi there Nefestus,

 

I am very sorry to hear about the connection fault experienced.

 

I've managed to locate your account and it appears that your connection is currently being affected by two separate faults. One concerning SNR under the reference of F004981736, with a review set for 12/01/2017. This is known to cause an intermittent connection. The second fault listed concerns a high demand for our service in your area under the fault reference F003402163, with a review set for 08/02/2017. This is known to cause slower speeds during peak times.

 

I've sent you a private message so that we can chat some more about this.

 

Speak soon,

 

Nat_J

 

 

 

 


Who's who? Find out more about our community members. Good folk to know


0 Kudos
Reply
  • 9
  • 0
  • 1
Nefestus
Tuning in
219 Views
Message 9 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Poor speed - w5

Hello,

I was previously under fault F003402163 which was apparently resolved and it was genuinely fixed for about a week. Now the problem is back even worse. Is there a new fault number/compensation available now?

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/f83cb19816b46bdd16ab73fe9f7bdddce4...
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 359
  • 20
  • 117
Joe92
Fibre optic
215 Views
Message 10 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Poor speed - w5


Nefestus wrote:
Hello,

I was previously under fault F003402163 which was apparently resolved and it was genuinely fixed for about a week. Now the problem is back even worse. Is there a new fault number/compensation available now?

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/f83cb19816b46bdd16ab73fe9f7bdddce4...

The same issue is back? damn! not again Liberty Global (VM)! Way to totally rip your customers off!

0 Kudos
Reply