Menu
Reply
Highlighted
Tuning in
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎04-02-2017
Message 1 of 18 (398 Views)

Nice service Virgin Media, getting 1 instead of 100

This will be quick, four engineers have come and none of them was capable enough to solve my problem, I'm paying for 100mbps and receiving less than 10, sometimes less than 1 and can't even open YouTube. I feed up with engineers coming to my house, changing the router and saying "oh its a problem in the area" even though every time I talked with an agent from the chat they told me that there was no problem in the area. The last engineer came and took 20 minutes to do NOTHING, this problem has been going since November I don't even know why I still using this service, it is literally pathetic that 4 engineers could not fix this, I am amazed.

For the first couple of months, the speed was pretty good it ranged from 50 to 115 (most of the times 80). But now is unusable most of the times.

I don't know what to do because I can't end the contract since I would have to pay an early disconnection fee for the remaining duration of the contract, (which is a scam if you ask me) and I'm sorry but I won't be giving money away for free like that.

The funniest thing is that every time the engineer came, the speed went up to normal for a couple of hours or a day. I guess will have to keep calling engineers every day until the problem is solved. It's nice that engineers don't cost me anything apart from a headache.

I'm currently in area 015 (N15 5JH).

Reply
0 Kudos

Accepted Solutions
Fibre optic
  • 493
  • 6
  • 46
Registered: ‎09-12-2014
Message 18 of 18 (90 Views)
Helpful Answer
confirmed by LFranco
3 weeks ago

Re: Nice service Virgin Media, getting 1 instead of 100

With the issues you are having Virgin Media would allow you to leave without any fees just request a fualt ticket and speak to Virgin Media retention's department over the phone.

It is a strange one however as you say none of your neighbours have the same issues but you also say that the engineers have said there is problems in your area......

If it is indeed a SNR issue I am surprised they have allowed it to continue for so long.

As I see it you have 2 choices ask Virgin to let you leave with no penalty or stay and demand a fault ticket and estimated fix date along with compensation by credit to your bill.

Good luck with whatever path you take.










<SIG>


Currently enjoying my over sold over utilised Virgin Media Vivid 200 gamer package that achieves 15/20 meg during peak times now that's superfast lol.

Just look how poor my BQM monitor is, but Virgin Media simply do not care...

My Broadband Ping - Vivid 200 Gamer


SEE MY ONGOING THREAD HERE


Area 04 Rowley Regis B65 high utilisation fault ticket F004670584 

Fault reported 09th December 2014
Fault ticket raised January 2015
Deferred to May 2015

Deferred to 12th August 2015
Deferred to 14th October 2015
Deferred to 4th November 2015
Deferred to mid April 2016
Deferred to 06th of July 2016
Deferred to 31st September 2016
Deferred to 30th 
November 2016
Deferred to 
15th February 2017
Deferred to 12th July 2017 
Deferred to 20th September 2017

WHAT AN ABSOLUTE JOKE THIS IS.

2 YEARS and counting.


How can any company get away with such long fix times is beyond me and I myself would never treat my customers in such a poor way.


CMTS card upgrades completed 7th April 2017 old was Cadant now Cisco
Upgraded to 20 downstream channels completed 18th October 2016 
Upgraded to 16 downstream channels August 2016 (From 8)
F004332353 High Utilisation closed on August 1st 2016 - 
Fault reference F003508309 ticket was closed in ERROR!!!!!!
 -

See where this Helpful Answer was posted

Reply
0 Kudos

All Replies
Superuser
  • 7.36K
  • 453
  • 1.93K
Registered: ‎10-07-2014
Message 2 of 18 (386 Views)

Re: Nice service Virgin Media, getting 1 instead of 100

So we can help us to help you, can you

Go to your Superhub Log in screen

Do NOT log in.

Little button top right.....


Can you post Upstream, Downstream and Network logs.



Screen caps are nice, C&P will do- Don't stress about formatting if you C&P. Someone will get a look and see if there's anything obvious amiss.


Reply
0 Kudos
Tuning in
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎04-02-2017
Message 3 of 18 (379 Views)

Re: Nice service Virgin Media, getting 1 instead of 100

I hope this is what you're looking for.

Downstream bonded channels Channel Frequency(Hz) Power
(dBmV) SNR
(dB) Modulation Channel ID

12990000000.538.9256 qam13
23230000000.438.9256 qam16
3315000000038.9256 qam15
43070000000.540.3256 qam14
52910000000.538.9256 qam12
62830000000.738.9256 qam11
72750000000.538.6256 qam10
8267000000-0.238.9256 qam9
9259000000038.9256 qam8
10251000000038.9256 qam7
11243000000038.6256 qam6
122350000001.438.6256 qam5
132270000001.727.7256 qam4
142190000001.532.3256 qam3
152110000002.438.9256 qam2
162030000002.738.6256 qam1

 

 

Upstream bonded channels Channel ID Frequency(Hz) Mode Power
(dBmV) Modulation Channel Bandwidth(Hz) Symbol Rate (ksps)

9039400000ATDMA4364 qam64000005120
9225800000ATDMA4364 qam64000005120

 

Date And Time Error Number Event Description

2017-02-04 19:50:53.0084020200Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-02-04 19:51:10.0084000700RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-02-04 20:01:23.0084020200Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-02-04 20:01:36.0084000700RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-02-04 20:04:59.0084020200Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-02-04 20:05:00.0084000700RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-02-04 20:05:15.0084020200Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-02-04 20:05:19.0084000700RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-02-04 20:05:51.0084020200Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-02-04 20:06:20.0084000700RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-02-04 20:06:24.0084020200Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-02-04 20:06:30.0084000700RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-02-04 20:09:11.0084020200Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-02-04 20:09:41.0084000700RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-02-04 20:12:05.0084020200Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-02-04 20:13:23.0084000700RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-02-04 20:13:37.0084020200Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-02-04 20:14:20.0084000700RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-02-04 20:15:15.0084020200Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-02-04 20:15:23.0084000700RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
Reply
0 Kudos
Superuser
  • 7.36K
  • 453
  • 1.93K
Registered: ‎10-07-2014
Message 4 of 18 (358 Views)

Re: Nice service Virgin Media, getting 1 instead of 100

Kay somethings up there-

Set up a BQM

HERE

 Run it for say 24 hrs, and post the result.

 Dont forget youll need to make sure your super hub is configured to reply to ICMP echo requests...

 

 

 


Reply
0 Kudos
Tuning in
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎04-02-2017
Message 5 of 18 (320 Views)

Re: Nice service Virgin Media, getting 1 instead of 100

[ Edited ]

2017-02-10 (1).png

Please help, I cant load virgin media's page

Reply
0 Kudos
Tuning in
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎04-02-2017
Message 6 of 18 (278 Views)

Re: Nice service Virgin Media, getting 1 instead of 100

[ Edited ]

Still waiting for an answer, is anyone in area 15 having similar problems?

Reply
0 Kudos
Superuser
  • 7.36K
  • 453
  • 1.93K
Registered: ‎10-07-2014
Message 7 of 18 (262 Views)

Re: Nice service Virgin Media, getting 1 instead of 100

Its an odd one- Ill flag for staff to get a look at.

You dont seem to be getting increases in latency we would expect to see from overutilisation, but your packet loss is woeful.

 

 


Reply
0 Kudos
Forum Team
  • 8.08K
  • 250
  • 826
Registered: ‎05-12-2011
Message 8 of 18 (254 Views)

Re: Nice service Virgin Media, getting 1 instead of 100

[ Edited ]

Thanks for taking a look Kippies.

 

Hello LFranco

 

Welcome to our forum, I am truly sorry you are having this problem with the connection, we will do our best to help.

The line and hub look good, I did wonder if it was an area SNR problem but that is looking good for the last week, traffic not too bad. 

Please would you bring us up to date, how has it been the past week, is the BQM still showing a problem?

Also please would you give the hub a reboot to zero our network counters so we may monitor from then on.

 

Thank you

Nicola

Virgin Media Forum Team
Reply
0 Kudos
Tuning in
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎04-02-2017
Message 9 of 18 (245 Views)

Re: Nice service Virgin Media, getting 1 instead of 100

My Broadband Ping

It did improve but still, sometimes it is unusable

Reply
0 Kudos
Forum Team
  • 8.08K
  • 250
  • 826
Registered: ‎05-12-2011
Message 10 of 18 (244 Views)

Re: Nice service Virgin Media, getting 1 instead of 100

Hello LFranco

 

Thanks for the update, looking back it may well have been an area SNR issue however as I say for the last week it has been good. Does the BQM graph look better?

 

Thank you

Nicola

Virgin Media Forum Team
Reply
0 Kudos