Menu
Reply
  • 14
  • 4
  • 0
garvey2003
On our wavelength
125 Views
Message 1 of 7
Flag for a moderator

New Installation low speed

I just had my broadband installed, had a few issues, like no broadband when the engineer left due to network issue.

Once I had broadband, I had to setup the TV etc. and tested the connection speed all day and the max speed was 135mb nothing else on the network, that's only 2 thirds of the speed I should be getting.

Tested from my wired computer and only get 92mb which will be down to the old Network card not being a gigabyte card, will change that shortly.

Anyway, is this the speed I should expect, as I should be on the 150mb broadband, seems stupid paying for the extra third I can't have. I am a little disappointed so far

0 Kudos
Reply

Helpful Answers
  • 14
  • 4
  • 0
garvey2003
On our wavelength
162 Views
Message 6 of 7
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: New Installation low speed

Card is fine, just installed a new card with latest drivers etc. tried a few cables. the light is green which should mean gigabit
this is the router status pages
____________________________-

Cable Modem Status
Item Status Comments
Acquired Downstream Channel(Hz) 434750000 Locked
Ranged Upstream Channel(Hz) 39400000 Locked
Provisioning State Online
========================================================
Downstream bonded channels
Channel Frequency(Hz) Power(dBmV) SNR(dB) Modulation Channel ID
1 434750000 6 40.3 256 qam 4
2 562750000 3.2 38.9 256 qam 20
3 554750000 3.4 38.9 256 qam 19
4 546750000 3.5 38.9 256 qam 18
5 538750000 3.5 38.9 256 qam 17
6 530750000 3.9 38.6 256 qam 16
7 522750000 4 38.6 256 qam 15
8 514750000 4.3 38.9 256 qam 14
9 506750000 4.5 38.9 256 qam 13
10 498750000 4.6 38.9 256 qam 12
11 490750000 5 38.9 256 qam 11
12 482750000 5 38.9 256 qam 10
13 474750000 5.1 40.3 256 qam 9
14 466750000 5.4 40.3 256 qam 8
15 458750000 5.5 38.9 256 qam 7
16 450750000 5.5 40.3 256 qam 6
17 442750000 5.6 40.3 256 qam 5
18 426750000 6 40.3 256 qam 3
19 418750000 5.9 40.3 256 qam 2
20 410750000 6 38.9 256 qam 1
=====================================================
Upstream bonded channels
Channel ID Frequency(Hz) Mode Power(dBmV) Modulation Channel Bandwidth(Hz) Symbol Rate (ksps)
38 39400000 ATDMA 39.8 64 qam 6400000 5120
40 25800000 ATDMA 39.8 64 qam 6400000 5120
==============================================================
Operational Configuration
General Configuration Value
Network access Enabled
Maximum Number of CPEs 1
Baseline Privacy Enabled
Docsis Mode Docsis30
Config file V0dea97109ea7aa00.cm

Primary Downstream Service Flow
SFID 14421
Max Traffic Rate 230000000

Primary Upstream Service Flow
SFID 14420
Max Traffic Rate 12700000
=================================================

Not sure what I am looking at to be honest
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 14
  • 4
  • 0
garvey2003
On our wavelength
131 Views
Message 7 of 7
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: New Installation low speed

Resolved, it would seem I had the wrong Ethernet cable, I had cat5 not cat5e, easy mistake as its been laid for about 12 years haha
0 Kudos
Reply

All Replies
  • 9.65K
  • 672
  • 1.87K
Superuser
Superuser
122 Views
Message 2 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: New Installation low speed

wireless is anybodies guess - you need to upgrade the lan card in the computer and test again - if thats still low then something is [obviously] wrong - get that done and go from there

____________________

Tony
  • 14
  • 4
  • 0
garvey2003
On our wavelength
99 Views
Message 3 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: New Installation low speed

card has been checked and is a gigabit card, 93mbps is the max I get not on wifi and wired connection.

Cable Modem Status


Item

Status

Comments


Acquired Downstream Channel(Hz)
434750000

Locked

Ranged Upstream Channel(Hz)
39400000

Locked

Provisioning State
Online
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 11.07K
  • 1.02K
  • 2.26K
Superuser
Superuser
94 Views
Message 4 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: New Installation low speed

Having a gigabit card is not a guarantee of speeds above 100Mb.

Is the card configured for more than 100Mb?

Do you have a good enough cable for high speeds? What colour is the LED on the gigabit card?

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 11.07K
  • 1.02K
  • 2.26K
Superuser
Superuser
90 Views
Message 5 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: New Installation low speed

Also, are you sure you are on a 150Mb service as it is not a current speed.

What speed does My VirginMedia say you have?

What speed does your Superhub operational configuration say you have?

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 14
  • 4
  • 0
garvey2003
On our wavelength
163 Views
Message 6 of 7
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: New Installation low speed

Card is fine, just installed a new card with latest drivers etc. tried a few cables. the light is green which should mean gigabit
this is the router status pages
____________________________-

Cable Modem Status
Item Status Comments
Acquired Downstream Channel(Hz) 434750000 Locked
Ranged Upstream Channel(Hz) 39400000 Locked
Provisioning State Online
========================================================
Downstream bonded channels
Channel Frequency(Hz) Power(dBmV) SNR(dB) Modulation Channel ID
1 434750000 6 40.3 256 qam 4
2 562750000 3.2 38.9 256 qam 20
3 554750000 3.4 38.9 256 qam 19
4 546750000 3.5 38.9 256 qam 18
5 538750000 3.5 38.9 256 qam 17
6 530750000 3.9 38.6 256 qam 16
7 522750000 4 38.6 256 qam 15
8 514750000 4.3 38.9 256 qam 14
9 506750000 4.5 38.9 256 qam 13
10 498750000 4.6 38.9 256 qam 12
11 490750000 5 38.9 256 qam 11
12 482750000 5 38.9 256 qam 10
13 474750000 5.1 40.3 256 qam 9
14 466750000 5.4 40.3 256 qam 8
15 458750000 5.5 38.9 256 qam 7
16 450750000 5.5 40.3 256 qam 6
17 442750000 5.6 40.3 256 qam 5
18 426750000 6 40.3 256 qam 3
19 418750000 5.9 40.3 256 qam 2
20 410750000 6 38.9 256 qam 1
=====================================================
Upstream bonded channels
Channel ID Frequency(Hz) Mode Power(dBmV) Modulation Channel Bandwidth(Hz) Symbol Rate (ksps)
38 39400000 ATDMA 39.8 64 qam 6400000 5120
40 25800000 ATDMA 39.8 64 qam 6400000 5120
==============================================================
Operational Configuration
General Configuration Value
Network access Enabled
Maximum Number of CPEs 1
Baseline Privacy Enabled
Docsis Mode Docsis30
Config file V0dea97109ea7aa00.cm

Primary Downstream Service Flow
SFID 14421
Max Traffic Rate 230000000

Primary Upstream Service Flow
SFID 14420
Max Traffic Rate 12700000
=================================================

Not sure what I am looking at to be honest
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 14
  • 4
  • 0
garvey2003
On our wavelength
132 Views
Message 7 of 7
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: New Installation low speed

Resolved, it would seem I had the wrong Ethernet cable, I had cat5 not cat5e, easy mistake as its been laid for about 12 years haha
0 Kudos
Reply