Menu
Reply
Tuning in
  • 7
  • 0
  • 1
Registered: ‎14-02-2016
Message 1 of 8 (3,673 Views)

New Hub 3.0 losing connection all the time

[ Edited ]

Hi have just had a new hub 3.0 as I have had the 200mpbs upgrade and the internet wifi keeps dropping even though the wifi signal is strong, the webpage shows "dns probe finished no internet"

Could you check all is well with my new super hub please.

 

Capture.PNGCapture2.PNGCapture3.PNGCapture4.PNGCapture5.PNGCapture6.PNGCapture7.PNGCapture8.PNGCapture9.PNG

Reply
0 Kudos
Forum Team (Retired)
  • 3.88K
  • 118
  • 202
Registered: ‎07-04-2015
Message 2 of 8 (3,633 Views)

Re: New Super Hub 3 losing connection all the time

Hi Ryanevans, 

 

Thanks for posting to let us know about your Super Hub 3 losing connection all the time, I can appreciate this can be frustrating so apologies for any inconvenience caused.

 

I've tested the connection from here and I can see that your Hub is showing up as being offline, is this due to it being switched off your end? If so then could you post back here to let me know at a time when it's going to be back on for me to test it for you.

 

If this is not because it's switched off from your end, then an engineer will be required to resolve this for you, I'll send you a PM (Purple envelope at the top) detailing what's required to book an engineer to visit.

 

As I have said, reply to me in the PM (Purple envelope at the top) if this isn't due the modem being switched off from your end, failing that then just reply to me here on the thread and let me know when it's switched off.

 

Speak soon, 

Thanks, 

Adam.


Tech fan? Have you read our Digital life blog yet? Check it out


Reply
0 Kudos
Tuning in
  • 7
  • 0
  • 1
Registered: ‎14-02-2016
Message 3 of 8 (3,629 Views)

Re: New Super Hub 3 losing connection all the time

Hi Adam,

Thank you for you reply, the Super Hub was switched off when you tried to test it. I have now turned the Super Hub on for you.
Reply
0 Kudos
Forum Team (Retired)
  • 3.88K
  • 118
  • 202
Registered: ‎07-04-2015
Message 4 of 8 (3,623 Views)

Re: New Super Hub 3 losing connection all the time

 

Hi Ryanevans, 

 

Thanks for coming back to me.

 

I've tested your connection and everything looked great! There were no errors or time outs inside the Hubs logs and all of the power levels are within check across the upstream and the downstream also.

 

How do you connect, wired or wireless?

 

If you connect via wireless, have you tried changing the wireless channels to see if that helps improve performance for you?

 

Also, here's some great Wi-Fi tips on getting the best wireless network signal. I hop this information helps you Smiley Happy.

 

It would be great if you could put the Hub into modem mode and monitor the connection to see if your issues still occur when connected in this way.

 

I look forward to hearing from you, 

Thanks, 

Adam.

 


Tech fan? Have you read our Digital life blog yet? Check it out


Reply
0 Kudos
Just joined
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎24-07-2016
Message 5 of 8 (3,458 Views)

Re: New Super Hub 3 losing connection all the time

About 3 months on and I am still having issues. Have got the same issue as you where the hub keeps restarting and the lights on the front keep going green and the hub goes off and comes back on. 

I have the hub in Modem mode as I am using a Netgear R7000 as my router as I needed more control over my network. 

Have had 5 Hubs 6 Power supply's and 4 engineers and still got issues.

No one can help me and I am properly going to leave

Reply
0 Kudos
Rising star
  • 666
  • 13
  • 82
Registered: ‎09-12-2014
Message 6 of 8 (3,430 Views)

Re: New Super Hub 3 losing connection all the time

If you have a Superhub 3 and use modem mode please look at this thread...

http://community.virginmedia.com/t5/Networking-and-wireless/Hub-3-0-port-flapping/td-p/3073985




DO YOU SUFFER FROM SLOW DOWNLOAD SPEEDS AT PEAK TIMES? CLICK HERE

This is the poor quality of my Superhub 3 connection Smiley Sad
My Broadband Ping - Vivid 200 Gamer

Area 04 Rowley Regis B65 high utilisation fault ticket F004670584  SEE MY ONGOING THREAD HERE

Fault reported 09/2014 - Fault ticket raised 01/01/15 - Changed to 05/15 -  Changed to 12/08/15 - Changed to 14/10/15 - Changed to 04/11/15 - Changed to 15/04/16 - Changed to 06/07/16 - Changed to 31/09/16 - Changed to 30/11/16 - Changed to 15/02/17 - Changed to 12/07/17 - Changed to 20/09/17 - Changed to 14/06/17

Upgraded to 24 downstream channels completed 25/04/17 - CMTS card upgrades completed 07/04/17 - Upgraded to 20 downstream channels completed 18/10/16 - Upgraded to 16 downstream channels 06/08/16 (From 8) - F004332353 High Utilisation closed on 01/08/16 -  - Fault reference F003508309 ticket was closed in ERROR!!!!!! -

Thanks to BT Fibre Broadband I can actually game without lag Smiley Very Happy
My Broadband Ping - BT FIBRE 80/20

Reply
0 Kudos
Tuning in
  • 18
  • 0
  • 1
Registered: ‎25-09-2010
Message 7 of 8 (2,993 Views)

Re: New Super Hub 3 losing connection all the time

I had the same problem - finally convinced the supervisor at customer service to reactivate my old modem. Works perfectly.

Reply
0 Kudos
Tuning in
  • 4
  • 0
  • 1
Registered: ‎22-10-2016
Message 8 of 8 (176 Views)

Re: New Super Hub 3 losing connection all the time

Hi

 

there were some upgrades in my area this week (according to the automated info I had to listen to when I called your help line).

And since then, the modem keeps dropping ALL wifi devices off the network, and it happens on both frequencies the 2.4GHz and teh 5GHz frequency bands. I tried changing channels, rebooting/reloading it, nothing makes any difference.

 

It is highly annoying when it happens when I use the internet for entertainment, but it is absolutely UNACCEPTABLE when I'm using it for work (VPN connectivity).  I would really like someone from VM to look into it, and fix it, if need be - come and replace the bloody modem, I don't care.

The information below shows the current status of this Hub 3.0.

Standard specification compliant : DOCSIS 3.0
Hardware version : 10
Software version : 9.1.116V
Cable MAC address : **:**:**:**:**:**
Cable modem serial number : AAAP53495082
System up time : 0 days 2h:49m:30s


WAN IP settings
Your current Hub 3.0 internet settings are displayed below:
MAC address : **:**:**:**:**:**
IPv4 address : REDACTED
Default gateway : REDACTED
IPv4 lease time : 4 days 21h:48m:32s
IPv4 lease expire : 2017-05-24 16:27:06.00
IPv4 DNS servers : 194.168.4.100


 

 

 

 

 

Reply
0 Kudos