Menu
storrm
On our wavelength
Message 1 of 22
Flag for a moderator

My Twitch viewers constantly seeing buffering

Hi All,

I've been with Virgin for over 18 years now and will say from the get-go that I've always had good internet service from them.  On this note, I want to make it clear that I'm not pointing the finger of blame at Virgin, but I would like help from you as my ISP to hold someone accountable for the problems I'm having using your service.

I've been streaming to Twitch for a couple of years at relatively high bitrates on the previous 152Mb tier package (3000-3500Kbps, 1080p, 30fps) and on the whole haven't had too many complaints.  My stream shows 0% packet loss so when someone has said "hey, its buffering", I can generally say its something wrong at their end not mine.

However, recently I upgraded to the Vivid 200Mbps service and now everyone complains that my stream is buffering.  My packet loss is still 0% and I'm streaming to a London server, but even if I watch my own stream back live, I'm getting buffering as well.  It makes no sense.  I'm aware that the Internet is a connection of multiple high-ways and interconnects, but somewhere within this hodgepodge is a problem that is causing my service to deteriorate passed an unacceptable level and I would like to know how I find out who it is so I can raise my complaint with them.

Taken from the Twitch website on how to try to resolve streaming issues ;-

"Call your ISP. Work them to understand the route they are providing to our site. If they'll do a traceroute, have them try live.twitch.tv and explain the results such as the number of hops and the response time - more than 100 ms is a big concern for live video. Explain to them why you purchased the high bandwidth package that you did: to play games and watch/stream videos over the Internet. Ask them to connect directly with Twitch."