Menu
Reply
  • 16
  • 0
  • 0
mrzoltowski
Joining in
128 Views
Message 1 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Low speeds not as advertised

Heya,

The service is a bit spotty, has been for a few months now ... a year ago everything was chugging along nicely but over time it continuously has gotten slower and slower. 

I am now getting 79-90Mbps on average (at peak it gets crazy slow) for a 200Mbps monthly service.

Packet loss is also annoying and it is affecting my work which relies on a clean line.

I conducted several speed tests, as I dont trust speedtest.net, ISP's are now prioritising traffic to those servers to give unrealistic results. They all average at around 79-90Mbps.  

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 2.96K
  • 378
  • 939
Superuser
Superuser
105 Views
Message 2 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Low speeds not as advertised

Are you using a wired Ethernet connection to the VM hub or a wireless connection? Wireless is easily disrupted by a number of external factors, so a wired test is the best way to get a true picture of what speed your line is able to achieve. It also helps to pinpoint if the issue is with the wireless or your line.
______________________
Scott

Disclaimer - I don't work for Virgin Media. I'm just another VM user trying to help out so my answers may be wrong Smiley Happy If my answer solves your problem please mark it as helpful as it may help others
My setup: Vivid 200 Optical fibre with Superhub 2 in modem mode connected to a Netgear R7000 router. Telewest/VM user since 2001.  

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 15
  • 0
  • 0
Weege
Joining in
97 Views
Message 3 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Low speeds not as advertised

I am having exact same problem signed up for 50mps and getting between 17 and 27 speeds. How are u supposed to check speeds by hardline? Everything is done by wifi hence why I wanted 50mps

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 16
  • 0
  • 0
mrzoltowski
Joining in
90 Views
Message 4 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Low speeds not as advertised

Im pretty IT savvy so yes I have done an Ethernet connection, also tested more than one device, as well as 3 different Ethernet cables.

Dont get me started on WIFI on the Superhub, the 2Ghz spectrum is so crowded that it is completely useless unless you are 2m from the router, and the 5Ghz is randomly cutting out and the router needs a reset .. at least a few times a day. (edit: week/month, it happens randomly) I have installed WiFi repeaters (Netgear) around the house and use EoP dongles to feed data to places.

The main PC is directly wired to the router, about 8 meters in cable length (also tried a shorter cable just in case).

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 2.96K
  • 378
  • 939
Superuser
Superuser
81 Views
Message 5 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Low speeds not as advertised

@Weege I recommend you create your own thread to get help with your problem.  Even if it sounds similar the cause could well be different and it gets confusing trying to diagnose two issues in one thread.

@mrzoltowski If you go to http://192.168.0.1/ (or http://192.168.100.1/ if you are in modem mode) to get the VM hub GUI. Don't login but instead click on Router Status which is either a button in the top right of the screen or a text link at the bottom of the screen depending on which hub you have. Click on the Downstream, Upstream and Network Log sections and copy & paste the figures from those screens and post them here, don't worry about the formatting or you can post screenshots if that is easier. Be careful to edit out or obscure any reference to your WAN IP or MAC address in the log to protect your privacy.

The community can have a look for you and see if anything in the figures looks wrong and advise accordingly. Or you can wait for the VM staff to pick up this thread (can take 7-10 days) and run checks on your line.

______________________
Scott

Disclaimer - I don't work for Virgin Media. I'm just another VM user trying to help out so my answers may be wrong Smiley Happy If my answer solves your problem please mark it as helpful as it may help others
My setup: Vivid 200 Optical fibre with Superhub 2 in modem mode connected to a Netgear R7000 router. Telewest/VM user since 2001.  

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 16
  • 0
  • 0
mrzoltowski
Joining in
73 Views
Message 6 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Low speeds not as advertised

Hey SCA1972, thank you for taking the time on this.

Here are the logs you mentioned:

DS-1 DS-2 DS-3 DS-4 DS-5 DS-6 DS-7 DS-8

Frequency (Hz)315000000267000000275000000283000000291000000299000000307000000323000000
Lock Status(QAM Lock/FEC Sync/MPEG Lock)LockedLockedLockedLockedLockedLockedLockedLocked
Channel ID129123124125126127128130
Modulation256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM
Symbol Rate (Msym/sec)6.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.952000
Interleave DepthI=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
Power Level (dBmV)8.097.968.137.817.827.908.088.20
RxMER (dB)35.0835.9735.6035.2535.4235.4235.2535.25
Pre RS Errors662912410116756401665142116642710
Post RS Errors2852962923332833173071010

 

  US-1 US-2 US-3 US-4

Channel Type2.0N/AN/A2.0
Channel ID1N/AN/A2
Frequency (Hz)46200000N/AN/A39400000
Ranging StatusSuccessOtherOtherSuccess
Modulation64QAMN/AN/A64QAM
Symbol Rate (Sym/sec)5120000N/AN/A5120000
Mini-Slot Size4N/AN/A4
Power Level (dBmV)40.00N/AN/A40.00
T1 Timeouts0000
T2 Timeouts0000
T3 Timeouts0002
T4 Timeouts0000

 

First TimeLast TimePriorityError NumberDescription
19/01/2017 16:42:19 GMT19/01/2017 16:42:19 GMTCritical (3)82000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
19/01/2017 15:53:42 GMT19/01/2017 15:53:42 GMTWarning (5)66050310Auth Success - Web login successful.
19/01/2017 15:53:36 GMT19/01/2017 15:53:36 GMTWarning (5)66050310Auth Success - Web login successful.
19/01/2017 15:31:36 GMT19/01/2017 15:31:36 GMTWarning (5)66050310Auth Success - Web login successful.
18/01/2017 23:27:59 GMT18/01/2017 23:27:59 GMTCritical (3)82000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
18/01/2017 22:04:31 GMT18/01/2017 22:04:31 GMTWarning (5)66050310Auth Success - Web login successful.
18/01/2017 22:01:33 GMT18/01/2017 22:01:33 GMTWarning (5)66050310Auth Success - Web login successful.
18/01/2017 22:01:25 GMT18/01/2017 22:01:25 GMTWarning (5)66050300Auth Fail - Web login failed.
17/01/2017 21:44:20 GMT17/01/2017 21:44:20 GMTError (4)68010302DHCP WAN IP - *********
17/01/2017 21:43:13 GMT17/01/2017 21:43:13 GMTError (4)68000407TOD established
Time Not EstablishedTime Not EstablishedNotice (6)84000510Downstream Locked Successfully
Time Not EstablishedTime Not EstablishedCritical (3)82000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
Time Not EstablishedTime Not EstablishedNotice (6)84000510Downstream Locked Successfully
17/01/2017 21:40:06 GMT17/01/2017 21:40:06 GMTWarning (5)66050310Auth Success - Web login successful.
17/01/2017 19:34:19 GMT17/01/2017 19:34:19 GMTError (4)68010100DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4
13/01/2017 00:05:24 GMT13/01/2017 00:05:24 GMTError (4)68010302DHCP WAN IP - **********
13/01/2017 00:04:17 GMT13/01/2017 00:04:17 GMTError (4)68000407TOD established
Time Not EstablishedTime Not EstablishedNotice (6)84000510Downstream Locked Successfully
11/01/2017 09:20:02 GMT11/01/2017 09:20:02 GMTNotice (6)68010600DHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-******** modified
11/01/2017 09:20:02 GMT11/01/2017 09:20:02 GMTError (4)68010400DHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 2.96K
  • 378
  • 939
Superuser
Superuser
42 Views
Message 7 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Low speeds not as advertised

Power levels look OK.  A few timeouts in the log but not sure they are frequent enough to be of concern.

With nothing obvious in the hub stats and wired speeds not getting above 90Mbps it feels like the PC is negotiating a 100Mbps connection with the hub rather than a gigabit connection.

The only other thing I can suggest and VM staff are likely to suggest it too, is to try putting the hub into modem mode and connecting just one device and see what speeds you get.  Ideally that device would be a Windows PC in safe mode with networking.

______________________
Scott

Disclaimer - I don't work for Virgin Media. I'm just another VM user trying to help out so my answers may be wrong Smiley Happy If my answer solves your problem please mark it as helpful as it may help others
My setup: Vivid 200 Optical fibre with Superhub 2 in modem mode connected to a Netgear R7000 router. Telewest/VM user since 2001.

 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 7.36K
  • 311
  • 522
Forum Team
Forum Team
25 Views
Message 8 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Low speeds not as advertised

Hi mrzoltowski,

 

Welcome to the Community!

 

Really sorry to hear you're experiencing connection issues.

 

I've located your account and I can see an issue with your signal levels. I'd like to send a technician to check this out for you.

 

I've sent you a private message (purple envelope at the top right of your screen) so I can arrange an appointment.

 

Speak soon Smiley Very Happy

 

Josh


Tech fan? Have you read our Digital life blog yet? Check it out


0 Kudos
Reply