Menu
jra505
On our wavelength
Message 1 of 71
Flag for a moderator

Just moved to HP3 - slow speed

Just moved house from Watford to Hemel Hempstead - was (and still am) paying for 100mb service and when in Watford I pretty much always got it. Now I'm in the new house and I'm only getting around 70mb on a good day, and on a bad day I get 5mb.

Is there a known problem in this area?

Thanks,
jra505
0 Kudos
jra505
On our wavelength
Message 2 of 71
Flag for a moderator

Re: Just moved to HP3 - slow speed

Having done a search for HP3, I can see that this is by no means an isolated case and has been going on since February?

When is it going to get sorted?

The problem is that at busy times the speed goes through the floor. I'm no expert, but that sounds like a utilisation issue to me.
0 Kudos
BigManA
On our wavelength
Message 3 of 71
Flag for a moderator

Hi,

Whilst I can't say anything about your particular area, what I can say is that you are one of many customers that is suffering from the issues with the broadband speed. Just taking a look through this forum will give you a clear indication of how many other areas are affected by this. I've been told for near a year that my speeds will improve but haven't. I can perfectly get near 100Mbit connection at 8 a.m. but by the time it's 8PM I'll be lucky to get 8Mbit.

It is a utilisation issue, promises for fixes are always broken and you'll keep being told that it'll be fixed by said date but never does.

Just my 2 cents.

It took a year and five months for me to get my speeds back from over utilisation!
jra505
On our wavelength
Message 4 of 71
Flag for a moderator

I spoke to virgin a couple of evenings ago about this issue, and was asked to reset my router. When this made no difference I was put on hold for a bit and when they came back they told me that there is a "network error" in the area and it had now been reported and would be fixed in two days.

So, I'll be sure to be checking it this evening!
0 Kudos