Menu
Reply
Highlighted
Joining in
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: Thursday
Message 1 of 8 (128 Views)

How long does a upgrade Take ? What am i waiting for ?

I have just upgraded online from 100mb to 200mb gamer. 

What am i actually waiting for ? as i assumed it would be almost instant as i have the hub 3 so nothing needs changing as far as i know.

I have had a email with a order number but the website says i have not orders so confused,

Any information would be good or even a idea of how long this normally takes.

Reply
0 Kudos

Accepted Solutions
Fibre optic
  • 495
  • 7
  • 47
Registered: ‎09-12-2014
Message 2 of 8 (204 Views)
Helpful Answer
confirmed by wrightyukgorl
Friday

Re: How long does a upgrade Take ? What am i waiting for ?

If you want to wait here for a Virgin Forum staff member to reply you could be waiting a week or more, if you call them however they should be able to activate it for you there and then while you are on the phone.

All that need to happen for your upgrade to go through is for your hub 3 to download the new config file you could try powering off your hub for 5 mins and then back on to see if that pushes it quicker.










<SIG>


Currently enjoying my over sold over utilised Virgin Media Vivid 200 gamer package that achieves 15/20 meg during peak times now that's superfast lol.

Just look how poor my BQM monitor is, but Virgin Media simply do not care...

My Broadband Ping - Vivid 200 Gamer


SEE MY ONGOING THREAD HERE


Area 04 Rowley Regis B65 high utilisation fault ticket F004670584 

Fault reported 09th December 2014
Fault ticket raised January 2015
Deferred to May 2015

Deferred to 12th August 2015
Deferred to 14th October 2015
Deferred to 4th November 2015
Deferred to mid April 2016
Deferred to 06th of July 2016
Deferred to 31st September 2016
Deferred to 30th 
November 2016
Deferred to 
15th February 2017
Deferred to 12th July 2017 
Deferred to 20th September 2017

WHAT AN ABSOLUTE JOKE THIS IS.

2 YEARS and counting.


How can any company get away with such long fix times is beyond me and I myself would never treat my customers in such a poor way.


Upgraded to 24 downstream channels completed 25th April 2017
CMTS card upgrades completed 7th April 2017 old was Cadant now Cisco

Upgraded to 20 downstream channels completed 18th October 2016 
Upgraded to 16 downstream channels August 2016 (From 8)
F004332353 High Utilisation closed on August 1st 2016 - 
Fault reference F003508309 ticket was closed in ERROR!!!!!!
 -

See where this Helpful Answer was posted

Reply
0 Kudos

All Replies
Fibre optic
  • 495
  • 7
  • 47
Registered: ‎09-12-2014
Message 2 of 8 (205 Views)
Helpful Answer
confirmed by wrightyukgorl
Friday

Re: How long does a upgrade Take ? What am i waiting for ?

If you want to wait here for a Virgin Forum staff member to reply you could be waiting a week or more, if you call them however they should be able to activate it for you there and then while you are on the phone.

All that need to happen for your upgrade to go through is for your hub 3 to download the new config file you could try powering off your hub for 5 mins and then back on to see if that pushes it quicker.










<SIG>


Currently enjoying my over sold over utilised Virgin Media Vivid 200 gamer package that achieves 15/20 meg during peak times now that's superfast lol.

Just look how poor my BQM monitor is, but Virgin Media simply do not care...

My Broadband Ping - Vivid 200 Gamer


SEE MY ONGOING THREAD HERE


Area 04 Rowley Regis B65 high utilisation fault ticket F004670584 

Fault reported 09th December 2014
Fault ticket raised January 2015
Deferred to May 2015

Deferred to 12th August 2015
Deferred to 14th October 2015
Deferred to 4th November 2015
Deferred to mid April 2016
Deferred to 06th of July 2016
Deferred to 31st September 2016
Deferred to 30th 
November 2016
Deferred to 
15th February 2017
Deferred to 12th July 2017 
Deferred to 20th September 2017

WHAT AN ABSOLUTE JOKE THIS IS.

2 YEARS and counting.


How can any company get away with such long fix times is beyond me and I myself would never treat my customers in such a poor way.


Upgraded to 24 downstream channels completed 25th April 2017
CMTS card upgrades completed 7th April 2017 old was Cadant now Cisco

Upgraded to 20 downstream channels completed 18th October 2016 
Upgraded to 16 downstream channels August 2016 (From 8)
F004332353 High Utilisation closed on August 1st 2016 - 
Fault reference F003508309 ticket was closed in ERROR!!!!!!
 -

Reply
0 Kudos
Forum Team
  • 8.24K
  • 235
  • 478
Registered: ‎07-04-2015
Message 3 of 8 (61 Views)

Re: How long does a upgrade Take ? What am i waiting for ?

Hi there wrightyukgorl,

 

Thanks for posting and welcome to the community.

 

Sorry to read you are having with the speed upgrade.

 

Looking at your account, I can see that you are connected to the correct broadband package.

 

On your other thread you mentioned slow broadband speeds. I've taken a look into this and there is a high peak time traffic fault in your area which is causing slow speeds. The reference number is F004916039 and has a review date of 6th September.

 

If there is anything else you would like me to check, let me know.

Regards

Sam


New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


Reply
0 Kudos
Joining in
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: Thursday
Message 4 of 8 (44 Views)

Re: How long does a upgrade Take ? What am i waiting for ?

Isn't there a law about selling a service that you can not provide ? I believe there is.

Selling me a 200mbps connection when you can only offer 50 at best during peak times.

Not sure you can get away with upto 200 Mbps with that one to be fair.
Reply
0 Kudos
Superuser
  • 4.28K
  • 209
  • 882
Registered: ‎12-01-2015
Message 5 of 8 (32 Views)

Re: How long does a upgrade Take ? What am i waiting for ?

VM are covered by law as the service is sold as 'up to', not guarenteed speeds.


Why would you upgrade though if you already had a fault?
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
All posts made are personal opinions as I do not work for VirginMedia.
Kudo's a post if you find it useful and want to say thanks
Mark a post as a helpful answer if it answers your question
Reply
0 Kudos
Joining in
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: Thursday
Message 6 of 8 (28 Views)

Re: How long does a upgrade Take ? What am i waiting for ?

When I was on 100 Mbps I used to get no lower than 50 at peak time I class that as upto as you say plus I didn't know there was a fault then.

So when upgrading to 200 as it above there 100 Mbps connection I exspect to get no lower than 100 at peak times.



Reply
0 Kudos
Superuser
  • 4.28K
  • 209
  • 882
Registered: ‎12-01-2015
Message 7 of 8 (22 Views)

Re: How long does a upgrade Take ? What am i waiting for ?

That isn't how it works or should be looked at.

If you were getting 50 on 100, (which is a half - for simplicities sake) that doesn't mean you would get 100 on 200, it would likely still be you getting 50 on 200. Increasing the max amount of bandwidth you COULD take doesn't increase the amount available for you to take.

Now you may end up getting slightly more than 50 anyway as you might get more downstream channels which mitigates over utilization a bit, but that's not guarenteed, or you may still be on the same amount of channels.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
All posts made are personal opinions as I do not work for VirginMedia.
Kudo's a post if you find it useful and want to say thanks
Mark a post as a helpful answer if it answers your question
Reply
0 Kudos
Joining in
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: Thursday
Message 8 of 8 (16 Views)

Re: How long does a upgrade Take ? What am i waiting for ?

That makes perfect sense.

I am just annoyed they happily charged me more for a service they could not give.

And when I rang them in the end I even explained why I wanted to upgrade and they said nothing
Reply
0 Kudos