Menu
Reply
Highlighted
Joining in
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎20-04-2017
Message 1 of 8 (186 Views)

How long does a upgrade Take ? What am i waiting for ?

I have just upgraded online from 100mb to 200mb gamer. 

What am i actually waiting for ? as i assumed it would be almost instant as i have the hub 3 so nothing needs changing as far as i know.

I have had a email with a order number but the website says i have not orders so confused,

Any information would be good or even a idea of how long this normally takes.

Reply
0 Kudos

Accepted Solutions
Rising star
  • 673
  • 13
  • 83
Registered: ‎09-12-2014
Message 2 of 8 (320 Views)
Helpful Answer
confirmed by wrightyukgorl
‎21-04-2017 09:33

Re: How long does a upgrade Take ? What am i waiting for ?

If you want to wait here for a Virgin Forum staff member to reply you could be waiting a week or more, if you call them however they should be able to activate it for you there and then while you are on the phone.

All that need to happen for your upgrade to go through is for your hub 3 to download the new config file you could try powering off your hub for 5 mins and then back on to see if that pushes it quicker.



DO YOU SUFFER FROM SLOW DOWNLOAD SPEEDS AT PEAK TIMES? CLICK HERE

This is the poor quality of my Superhub 3 connection Smiley Sad
My Broadband Ping - Vivid 200 Gamer

Area 04 Rowley Regis B65 high utilisation fault ticket F004670584  SEE MY ONGOING THREAD HERE

Fault reported 09/2014 - Fault ticket raised 01/01/15 - Changed to 05/15 -  Changed to 12/08/15 - Changed to 14/10/15 - Changed to 04/11/15 - Changed to 15/04/16 - Changed to 06/07/16 - Changed to 31/09/16 - Changed to 30/11/16 - Changed to 15/02/17 - Changed to 12/07/17 - Changed to 20/09/17 - Changed to 14/06/17

Upgraded to 24 downstream channels completed 25/04/17 - CMTS card upgrades completed 07/04/17 - Upgraded to 20 downstream channels completed 18/10/16 - Upgraded to 16 downstream channels 06/08/16 (From 8) - F004332353 High Utilisation closed on 01/08/16 -  - Fault reference F003508309 ticket was closed in ERROR!!!!!! -

Thanks to BT Fibre Broadband I can actually game without lag Smiley Very Happy
My Broadband Ping - BT FIBRE 80/20

See where this Helpful Answer was posted

Reply
0 Kudos

All Replies
Rising star
  • 673
  • 13
  • 83
Registered: ‎09-12-2014
Message 2 of 8 (321 Views)
Helpful Answer
confirmed by wrightyukgorl
‎21-04-2017 09:33

Re: How long does a upgrade Take ? What am i waiting for ?

If you want to wait here for a Virgin Forum staff member to reply you could be waiting a week or more, if you call them however they should be able to activate it for you there and then while you are on the phone.

All that need to happen for your upgrade to go through is for your hub 3 to download the new config file you could try powering off your hub for 5 mins and then back on to see if that pushes it quicker.



DO YOU SUFFER FROM SLOW DOWNLOAD SPEEDS AT PEAK TIMES? CLICK HERE

This is the poor quality of my Superhub 3 connection Smiley Sad
My Broadband Ping - Vivid 200 Gamer

Area 04 Rowley Regis B65 high utilisation fault ticket F004670584  SEE MY ONGOING THREAD HERE

Fault reported 09/2014 - Fault ticket raised 01/01/15 - Changed to 05/15 -  Changed to 12/08/15 - Changed to 14/10/15 - Changed to 04/11/15 - Changed to 15/04/16 - Changed to 06/07/16 - Changed to 31/09/16 - Changed to 30/11/16 - Changed to 15/02/17 - Changed to 12/07/17 - Changed to 20/09/17 - Changed to 14/06/17

Upgraded to 24 downstream channels completed 25/04/17 - CMTS card upgrades completed 07/04/17 - Upgraded to 20 downstream channels completed 18/10/16 - Upgraded to 16 downstream channels 06/08/16 (From 8) - F004332353 High Utilisation closed on 01/08/16 -  - Fault reference F003508309 ticket was closed in ERROR!!!!!! -

Thanks to BT Fibre Broadband I can actually game without lag Smiley Very Happy
My Broadband Ping - BT FIBRE 80/20

Reply
0 Kudos
Forum Team
  • 8.77K
  • 246
  • 514
Registered: ‎07-04-2015
Message 3 of 8 (119 Views)

Re: How long does a upgrade Take ? What am i waiting for ?

Hi there wrightyukgorl,

 

Thanks for posting and welcome to the community.

 

Sorry to read you are having with the speed upgrade.

 

Looking at your account, I can see that you are connected to the correct broadband package.

 

On your other thread you mentioned slow broadband speeds. I've taken a look into this and there is a high peak time traffic fault in your area which is causing slow speeds. The reference number is F004916039 and has a review date of 6th September.

 

If there is anything else you would like me to check, let me know.

Regards

Sam


New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


Reply
0 Kudos
Joining in
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎20-04-2017
Message 4 of 8 (102 Views)

Re: How long does a upgrade Take ? What am i waiting for ?

Isn't there a law about selling a service that you can not provide ? I believe there is.

Selling me a 200mbps connection when you can only offer 50 at best during peak times.

Not sure you can get away with upto 200 Mbps with that one to be fair.
Reply
0 Kudos
Superuser
  • 4.4K
  • 216
  • 914
Registered: ‎12-01-2015
Message 5 of 8 (90 Views)

Re: How long does a upgrade Take ? What am i waiting for ?

VM are covered by law as the service is sold as 'up to', not guarenteed speeds.


Why would you upgrade though if you already had a fault?
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
All posts made are personal opinions as I do not work for VirginMedia.
Kudo's a post if you find it useful and want to say thanks
Mark a post as a helpful answer if it answers your question
Reply
0 Kudos
Joining in
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎20-04-2017
Message 6 of 8 (86 Views)

Re: How long does a upgrade Take ? What am i waiting for ?

When I was on 100 Mbps I used to get no lower than 50 at peak time I class that as upto as you say plus I didn't know there was a fault then.

So when upgrading to 200 as it above there 100 Mbps connection I exspect to get no lower than 100 at peak times.



Reply
0 Kudos
Superuser
  • 4.4K
  • 216
  • 914
Registered: ‎12-01-2015
Message 7 of 8 (80 Views)

Re: How long does a upgrade Take ? What am i waiting for ?

That isn't how it works or should be looked at.

If you were getting 50 on 100, (which is a half - for simplicities sake) that doesn't mean you would get 100 on 200, it would likely still be you getting 50 on 200. Increasing the max amount of bandwidth you COULD take doesn't increase the amount available for you to take.

Now you may end up getting slightly more than 50 anyway as you might get more downstream channels which mitigates over utilization a bit, but that's not guarenteed, or you may still be on the same amount of channels.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
All posts made are personal opinions as I do not work for VirginMedia.
Kudo's a post if you find it useful and want to say thanks
Mark a post as a helpful answer if it answers your question
Reply
0 Kudos
Joining in
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎20-04-2017
Message 8 of 8 (74 Views)

Re: How long does a upgrade Take ? What am i waiting for ?

That makes perfect sense.

I am just annoyed they happily charged me more for a service they could not give.

And when I rang them in the end I even explained why I wanted to upgrade and they said nothing
Reply
0 Kudos