Menu
Reply
  • 34
  • 0
  • 0
VM_Phil
On our wavelength
350 Views
Message 1 of 24
Flag for a moderator

Does anyone understand these numbers from the modem?

Currently getting about 5mb on a 200mb server that normally runs at 220mb. It's happened a few times. Probably Hub is broken.

 

Just curious does anyone know how to interpret these figures? Are they normal or abnormal?

 

Downstream bonded channelsChannel Frequency(Hz) Power(dBmV) SNR(dB) Modulation Channel ID

12987500006.436.6256 qam21
23227500006.435.7256 qam24
33147500005.535256 qam23
43067500005.335256 qam22
52907500006.136.6256 qam20
6282750000636.3256 qam19
72747500005.436.6256 qam18
82667500004.535.7256 qam17
92587500003.434.3256 qam16
102507500001.733.4256 qam15
11242750000334.4256 qam14
122347500003.435256 qam13
132267500002.734.9256 qam12
142187500002.234.3256 qam11
152107500001.233.8256 qam10
162027500000.933.4256 qam9
171947500001.734.4256 qam8
181867500002.935.5256 qam7
191787500001.734.4256 qam6
20170750000-2.230.6256 qam5
21162750000-5.727.6256 qam4
22154750000-6.226.7256 qam3
23146750000-131.9256 qam2
241387500000.934.3256 qam1

 

 

Upstream bonded channelsChannel ID Frequency(Hz) Mode Power(dBmV) Modulation Channel Bandwidth(Hz) Symbol Rate (ksps)

425800000ATDMA39.816 qam64000005120
332600000ATDMA39.816 qam64000005120

 

Network LogDate And TimeError NumberEvent Description

2018-01-20 01:01:57.0082000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-01-20 01:02:56.0084020200Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-01-20 04:27:48.0084000700RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2018-01-20 04:28:11.0084020200Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 9.81K
  • 686
  • 1.92K
Superuser
Superuser
346 Views
Message 2 of 24
Flag for a moderator

Re: Does anyone understand these numbers from the modem?

downstream levels are all over the place plus snr is equally as bad - wait for VM to get to the thread - that can take about a week or ring for a tech - you are likely to get offshore - there is nothing they can do regardless of anything they say - its an external fault in all probability - if its a system fault any tech is likely to be cancelled until thats sorted

the only thing you can do is make sure all coax connections are tight

____________________

Tony
  • 34
  • 0
  • 0
VM_Phil
On our wavelength
341 Views
Message 3 of 24
Flag for a moderator

hanksRe: Does anyone understand these numbers from the modem?

Thanks for replying. Are you able to offer any more detail on how specifically they're wrong? I'm just curious.

I may be able to snag another Hub3 from somewhere not sure if I can just plug it right in though.

 

It's odd it was fine earlier and for six months before this, but I had this exact same issue (speed wise) in June last year.

 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 9.81K
  • 686
  • 1.92K
Superuser
Superuser
330 Views
Message 4 of 24
Flag for a moderator

Re: hanksRe: Does anyone understand these numbers from the modem?

they are just bad - downstream should be -6 to +10 but thats the range - spread should be 3 or 4 - yours is all over - not sure what low level of snr is but 20 odd is way too low

its not the hub its the input so external - you cannot add another hub they are locked to your account so any other will not be activated - check the coax connections - after that its a tech and if its a network fault you are not going to get a tech until thats sorted

____________________

Tony
Highlighted
  • 34
  • 0
  • 0
VM_Phil
On our wavelength
325 Views
Message 5 of 24
Flag for a moderator

Re: hanksRe: Does anyone understand these numbers from the modem?

Hi

Checked coax in wall and in hub, both were tight though some give in one of the nuts so pinched it up.

Still same though 5mb :/

 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 34
  • 0
  • 0
VM_Phil
On our wavelength
322 Views
Message 6 of 24
Flag for a moderator

#Re: hanksRe: Does anyone understand these numbers from the modem?

Can temperature effect it? I suppose by cold/hot contraction/expansion it might. It's 1 degree c.

 

 

 

Well I'll wait for a forum member to look at this and book a tech I just tried calling CS but it's crazy busy.

 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 34
  • 0
  • 0
VM_Phil
On our wavelength
283 Views
Message 7 of 24
Flag for a moderator

Re: #Re: hanksRe: Does anyone understand these numbers from the modem?

So now I've got 30mbs but nothing has changed insofar as I can see.

 

hannel Frequency(Hz) |||    Power(dBmV) |||    SNR(dB) ||||   Modulation   ||||  Channel ID

12987500006.335.7256 qam21
2322750000635.5256 qam24
33147500005.334.4256 qam23
4306750000534.9256 qam22
5290750000636.3256 qam20
62827500005.936.3256 qam19
72747500005.135.5256 qam18
82667500004.335256 qam17
92587500003.233.3256 qam16
102507500001.532.6256 qam15
112427500002.733.9256 qam14
122347500003.234.4256 qam13
132267500002.433.8256 qam12
142187500001.933.4256 qam11
152107500000.932.9256 qam10
162027500000.532.5256 qam9
171947500001.433.3256 qam8
181867500002.534.4256 qam7
191787500001.433.1256 qam6
20170750000-2.729.2256 qam5
21162750000-6.226.4256 qam4
22154750000-6.525.7256 qam3
23146750000-1.530.5256 qam2
241387500000.433256 qam1
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 1.54K
  • 95
  • 363
cje85
Super solver
277 Views
Message 8 of 24
Flag for a moderator

Re: #Re: hanksRe: Does anyone understand these numbers from the modem?

Temperature can have an effect, power levels rise slightly in cold weather and fall in warm weather, but this won't be causing your problems. The variance in power levels is far too large and the SNR is poor on several channels (below about 33db will cause problems).

You will need an engineer as Tony has said. if you want to wait for the forum team instead of phoning, be aware that they reply to topics in order of the oldest post, so bumping the thread will push it to the  back of the queue. 

 

  • 29
  • 0
  • 6
RFoGTech
On our wavelength
273 Views
Message 9 of 24
Flag for a moderator

Re: Does anyone understand these numbers from the modem?

SNR issue my friend will require an engineer its possibly a passive device e.g splitter or block isolator or connectors on the drop cable from the main cab. If your neighbours have Virgin, you could download the VM wifi app and use this until this gets resolved.

  • 12.67K
  • 360
  • 1.47K
Forum Team
Forum Team
217 Views
Message 10 of 24
Flag for a moderator

Re: #Re: hanksRe: Does anyone understand these numbers from the modem?

Hi VM_Phil,

Sorry that you're experiencing slow throughput. Looking at your posted Hub stats I would say that the power level variance has a bit of a wide spread. The modem SNR though shouldn't present too much of a problem if only one or two channels are affected.

At the moment my tests indicate that Modem SNR doesn't drop below 35.7dB on any channel and are also fine on the upstream. 

However, given your speed concerns and the power level query I think it would be wise to get an engineer out to take a look at things. Please reply to my PM (purple envelope icon, top right of page) and I'll schedule an appointment. 

 


Jen
Forum Team



0 Kudos
Reply