Menu
Reply
Up to speed
  • 124
  • 2
  • 30
Registered: ‎19-07-2013
Message 1 of 16 (343 Views)

Check Connection please (Superusers?)

Hi Folks,

just wondering if someone could check my connection for issues such as time-outs etc?

Many thanks in advanced

DownStream

Channel Frequency(Hz) Power
(dBmV) SNR
(dB) Modulation Channel ID

12987500001.540.3256 qam17
23227500001.540.9256 qam20
33147500001.740.3256 qam19
43067500001.540.3256 qam18
52907500001.238.9256 qam16
62827500001.440.3256 qam15
72747500001.240.3256 qam14
82667500001.440.3256 qam13
92587500001.240.9256 qam12
102507500001.240.3256 qam11
112427500001.240.3256 qam10
122347500001.240.3256 qam9
132267500001.240.3256 qam8
142187500001.540.9256 qam7
152107500001.540.9256 qam6
162027500001.740.3256 qam5
17194750000240.3256 qam4
18186750000240.3256 qam3
191787500001.740.3256 qam2
201707500001.740.3256 qam1

 

Upstream

Upstream bonded channels Channel ID Frequency(Hz) Mode Power
(dBmV) Modulation Channel Bandwidth(Hz) Symbol Rate (ksps)

546200000ATDMA43.364 qam64000005120
825800000ATDMA43.364 qam64000005120
732600000ATDMA43.364 qam64000005120
639400000ATDMA43.364 qam64000005120

 

Network Log

 

And Time Error Number Event Description
2017-05-29 11:06:27.00 68010400 DHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=a;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-05-29 11:06:27.00 68010600 DHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-V3c1310bb03cca99.cm modified;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-05-30 04:44:14.00 82000200 No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-06-01 12:26:14.00 68010100 DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=CMTS-MAC=CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-06-02 08:26:13.00 68010400 DHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-06-02 08:26:13.00 68010600 DHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-V3c1310bb03cca99.cm modified;CM-MAC=c;CMTS-MAC=;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-06-06 21:31:22.00 68010100 DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-06-07 17:23:07.00 82000200 No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-06-07 19:50:09.00 68010100 DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=CMTS-MAC=CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-06-08 01:19:42.00 82000200 No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=CMTS-MAC=CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-06-08 01:24:50.00 68010100 DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-06-08 03:16:27.00 68010400 DHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-06-08 03:16:27.00 68010600 DHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-V3c1310bb03cca99.cm modified;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-06-09 03:37:51.00 82000200 No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=CMTS-MAC=CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-06-11 09:04:26.00 68010100 DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-06-12 03:18:22.00 82000200 No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=CMTS-MAC=;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-06-12 03:38:24.00 68010100 DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=CMTS-MAC=CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-06-12 06:17:37.00 68010400 DHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-06-12 06:17:37.00 68010600 DHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-V3c1310bb03cca99.cm modified;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-06-15 01:41:08.00 82000200 No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

Reply
0 Kudos
Fibre optic
  • 454
  • 21
  • 101
Registered: ‎28-08-2011
Message 2 of 16 (329 Views)

Re: Check Connection please (Superusers?)

Your power levels and SNR look spot on.. You are getting fairly regular T3 timeouts though which is not good, VM team will look closer for you in a week or so.

 

Up to speed
  • 124
  • 2
  • 30
Registered: ‎19-07-2013
Message 3 of 16 (302 Views)

Re: Check Connection please (Superusers?)

Thank's Andy,

I will wait for VM staff members to check my connection/CMTS Smiley Happy

Reply
0 Kudos
Superuser
  • 15.54K
  • 1.27K
  • 3.12K
Registered: ‎08-06-2010
Message 4 of 16 (298 Views)

Re: Check Connection please (Superusers?)

[ Edited ]

hiya @Spitfire16 yeah looks not bad, you can read about the power levels and the specs they should be within could look at -> http://community.virginmedia.com/t5/QuickStart-set-up-and/POWER-LEVELS-and-SNR-A-TECHNICAL-PRIMER-up...

regards superusers you requested

----------------------------------------------------------
If someone's helped you out say thanks by clicking on the thumbs up. If someone's solved your problem, why not mark their message as an Accepted Solution
Up to speed
  • 124
  • 2
  • 30
Registered: ‎19-07-2013
Message 5 of 16 (280 Views)

Re: Check Connection please (Superusers?)

Thank you Paul,

I will wait to hear from VM about my T3's which someone who has flagged above , Hopefully everything is ok at my end and also at the CMTS i'm connected too

 

 

Reply
0 Kudos
Forum Team
  • 9.17K
  • 263
  • 584
Registered: ‎01-12-2014
Message 6 of 16 (232 Views)

Re: Check Connection please (Superusers?)

Hey Spitfire16,

Thanks for getting in touch Smiley Happy

Sorry for your recent connection issues. I can see you've called in since your last post and since your last reboot (1 day ago) you've only had 2 T3 time-outs.

Has this settled down for you now?

Speak soon,

Take care.

Heather_J

Tech fan? Have you read our Digital life blog yet? Check it out


Reply
0 Kudos
Up to speed
  • 124
  • 2
  • 30
Registered: ‎19-07-2013
Message 7 of 16 (208 Views)

Re: Check Connection please (Superusers?)

[ Edited ]

Hi Heather,

Many Thanks for your prompt reply,

I actually called to report latency issue's which is being reported on my BQM Graph,  i have attached a few of my graphs below for you to look at , please note my internet connection is idle from Midnight - 9AM , little use during the day and more usage over the course of the evening , i'm unsure why my connection is always spiking , from my knowledge the connection shouldn't be spiking all the time?

I have checked all my BQM graphs from May 1st 2017 to the current day and they all report ping spikes all day and night , a selection from the past few days is below

 

27/06

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/2ec21466baf99d09ee9ddf4bc38988a009...

26/06 - at 11AM approx is when your colleague rebooted the modem remotely , your colleague said she would forward this to level 2 / network for further investigation as to why the connection is always spiking does my account notes reflect this ? , Immediately after the reboot the connection starts to spike 

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/5b910b4365de056c85dbe4b52b1c3769c2...

25/06

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/fcf6ad0f00e94fbb9460f702403639ce43...

Looking forward to your response

 

 

 

Reply
0 Kudos
Up to speed
  • 124
  • 2
  • 30
Registered: ‎19-07-2013
Message 8 of 16 (202 Views)

Re: Check Connection please (Superusers?)

Reply
0 Kudos
Forum Team
  • 8.89K
  • 286
  • 944
Registered: ‎05-12-2011
Message 9 of 16 (173 Views)

Re: Check Connection please (Superusers?)

Hello Spitfire16

 

Thanks for the updates we have taken a thorough look at your connection. The hub and line parameters are nicely in spec. The area traffic does have the occasional spike in the evening and that may give the odd bit of lag however overall it remains quite low. The area upstreams are performing well ie noise and error free. 

I am sorry but the BQM performance may be related to this issue Re: Hub 3 / Compal CH7465-LG (TG2492LG) and CGNV4 Latency Cause

 

Thank you

Nicola

Virgin Media Forum Team
Reply
0 Kudos
Up to speed
  • 124
  • 2
  • 30
Registered: ‎19-07-2013
Message 10 of 16 (156 Views)

Re: Check Connection please (Superusers?)

Hi Nicola,

Many thanks for your response to my thread , it is much appreciated .

I have done 2 pings tests to both bbc.co.uk and to multiplay.co.uk (A Game Server Provider - UK Network)

https://prnt.sc/frxo5n

The left ping test is to the bbc.co.uk and the right one is to multiplay.co.uk

Ive also done a trace route to both bbc.co.uk and multiplay.co.uk using winmtr (delay is set to 1.0 Sec) ,

 from the bbc.co.uk trace route I'm getting packet loss at  ( nrth-bb-1c-ae1-0.network.virginmedia.net and tele-ic-4-ae0-0.network.virginmedia.net )

Trace route BBC.co.uk - http://prntscr.com/frxrxa

Trace route to multiplay.co.uk - http://prntscr.com/frxt5k

Taking the above into account , is the problem down to the Hub 3.0 issues which you have talked about above?

When is the new firmware expected ?

Adam

 

Reply
0 Kudos