Menu
Nick_M2
Joining in
Message 1 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Broadband contention

Hi Everyone,

I'm a 200 vivid customer and up until 7 months ago have never had a problem. I work in IT and have done for the last 16 years so I know what I'm doing when it comes to network layouts etc.

First thing in the morning around 6 am I get 180-200mb download, totally normal.

• By 7-8am it's dropped to 80mb
  • Anything after 8-9am I'm getting 30mb maximum,
  • Evenings i'm down to 10mb

I've had 3 engineers out and a couple of new hubs, currently using the superhub 3. None of them could find an issue, the last engineer thought it may be a contention problem (after I'd suggested it to him). However, I've spoken to Virgin and they can't tell me when it'll be sorted or if that's what they think the problem is. I've been waiting for months now and still paying full price for a service and getting nowhere near the speed I should.

I'm out of ideas now, the only other service available to me is ADSL, FTTC is coming in a couple of months.

HELP!!!

0 Kudos
voicon
Up to speed
Message 2 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband contention

If the engineers have checked your power levels, connections, etc then it does sound like over utilisation. I had the same issue, engineer visits and was told there were no network issues, eventually I got through to a 2nd line tech who knew what they were doing and found the problem of over utilisation on a spreadsheet.

The VM team members here will be able to look at your account and see if there are issues in your area, they provide truthful information where the 1st line techs just want you off the phone in my experience. It takes a week or just under to get a response here.

If you can't get FTTC yet I guess your stuck with Virgin really so let the forum team do their thing and take it from there.

Nick_M2
Joining in
Message 3 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Should have probably said, i'm in area 08 !

0 Kudos
Forum Team
Forum Team
Message 4 of 8