Menu
Reply
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
pendlebum
Tuning in
1,737 Views
Message 1 of 41
Flag for a moderator

Area 31 barely usable broadband

Hi, I've phoned customer service before to be told there are problems in my area that are going to take months to sort out - I want to know when and I want to know why, if you know the effect on your service is going to be dire, that we weren't told and why I'm still paying for this service. I can't stream from iTunes or Netflix or even watch trailers on YouTube.

 

From my router:

Downstream:

Downstream   DS-1 DS-2 DS-3 DS-4 DS-5 DS-6 DS-7 DS-8 419000000 Hz 411000000 Hz 427000000 Hz 435000000 Hz 443000000 Hz 451000000 Hz 459000000 Hz 467000000 Hz Locked Locked Locked Locked Locked Locked Locked Locked 50 49 51 52 53 54 55 56 QAM256 QAM256 QAM256 QAM256 QAM256 QAM256 QAM256 QAM256 6.952000 6.952000 6.952000 6.952000 6.952000 6.952000 6.952000 6.952000 I=12
J=17 I=12
J=17 I=12
J=17 I=12
J=17 I=12
J=17 I=12
J=17 I=12
J=17 I=12
J=17 10.4 dBmV 10.8 dBmV 9.8 dBmV 9.2 dBmV 9.3 dBmV 8.6 dBmV 8.1 dBmV 7.8 dBmV 39.8 dB 39.9 dB 39.4 dB 39.4 dB 39.4 dB 38.6 dB 38.6 dB 38.3 dB

Frequency (Hz)
Lock Status(QAM Lock/FEC Sync/MPEG Lock)
Channel ID
Modulation
Symbol Rate (Msym/sec)
Interleave Depth
Power Level (dBmV)
RxMER (dB)

 

Upstream:

Upstream US-1US-2US-3US-4Channel Type2.02.0N/AN/AChannel ID58N/AN/AFrequency (Hz)46200000 Hz25800000 HzN/AN/ARanging StatusSuccessSuccessN/AN/AModulationQAM16QAM16N/AN/ASymbol Rate (Sym/sec)51200005120000N/AN/AMini-Slot Size128128N/AN/APower Level (dBmV)38.3 dBmV36.0 dBmVN/AN/AT1 Timeouts00N/AN/AT2 Timeouts00N/AN/AT3 Timeouts00N/AN/AT4 Timeouts11N/AN/A

 

 

If that information shows the problem is my end then I'll apologise but I don't believe it is and it's been going on since about September. That's more than three months at £35/month

 

Matt

Tags (3)
0 Kudos
Reply

Helpful Answers
  • 145
  • 4
  • 14
Swinder
Up to speed
3,410 Views
Message 2 of 41
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Area 31 barely usable broadband

If they have confirmed it is high utilisation which is the cause of your problems then there are literally 3 options for you to entertain.

  1. Wait to see if it improves when people start going back to work.
  2. Stick it out but contact customer services and demand the bill reflect that of the service you are receiving.
  3. Use the coming price increase as a get out of contract option to jump ship to another ISP.

I am in the same boat myself but I am awaiting a response to tell me what the problem is and then I need to decide on which options I take from there. A couple of years ago I had the same issue and I sat it out for the first real working week after New Year and everything went back to normal.

It is worthwhile updating your post/thread with any speedtest, ping, tracert and BQM stats that you can get both during and out of peak hours. You can setup your BQM here; http://www.thinkbroadband.com/ping


All Replies
  • 145
  • 4
  • 14
Swinder
Up to speed
3,411 Views
Message 2 of 41
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Area 31 barely usable broadband

If they have confirmed it is high utilisation which is the cause of your problems then there are literally 3 options for you to entertain.

  1. Wait to see if it improves when people start going back to work.
  2. Stick it out but contact customer services and demand the bill reflect that of the service you are receiving.
  3. Use the coming price increase as a get out of contract option to jump ship to another ISP.

I am in the same boat myself but I am awaiting a response to tell me what the problem is and then I need to decide on which options I take from there. A couple of years ago I had the same issue and I sat it out for the first real working week after New Year and everything went back to normal.

It is worthwhile updating your post/thread with any speedtest, ping, tracert and BQM stats that you can get both during and out of peak hours. You can setup your BQM here; http://www.thinkbroadband.com/ping

  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Ferraic
Joining in
1,616 Views
Message 3 of 41
Flag for a moderator

Re: Area 31 barely usable broadband

I am also in the situation where I can't even watch BBC iPlayer after 8pm. The speed has been shamefully bad since just before xmas. Trouble is, where could you go? Would the other suppliers slow down the service too?

I am due a free upgrade to 150mbs in May which is a joke since I am barley getting 3mbs in the evenings.

I'll wait a couple of weeks after New year as mentioned above and see what happens.

 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 303
  • 8
  • 96
ntlworld_user
Fibre optic
1,467 Views
Message 4 of 41
Flag for a moderator

Re: Area 31 barely usable broadband

This is what 200mbs looks like in Area 31

10mbs.jpg

This is what happens when you sell a service you have no chance of achieving.

Sort it out Virgin Mediocre!

  • 3.88K
  • 120
  • 203
Forum Team (Retired) Adam_L
Forum Team (Retired)
1,391 Views
Message 5 of 41
Flag for a moderator

Re: Area 31 barely usable broadband

Hi ntlworld_user,

 

I am sorry to hear you're also having these slow speeds issues, I can appreciate they may cause some frustration so apologies for any inconvenience caused.

 

I've had a look over your connection and I can see that we're planning to undertake some upgrades to parts of our external network in your area, these upgrades will be to improve bandwidth and performance during peak times.

 

The reference number for these upgrade works is F003933663 and is currently set for review on 02/03/16, for any further updates on this ticket just post back here closer to the date and we'll gladly take another look for you.

 

Speak soon, 

Thanks, 

Adam.


Tech fan? Have you read our Digital life blog yet? Check it out


0 Kudos
Reply
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
pendlebum
Tuning in
1,385 Views
Message 6 of 41
Flag for a moderator

Re: Area 31 barely usable broadband

Hi Adam,

Thanks for the reply - so this service that has been terrible since September last year is now not going to get any better until March? Great.

How do we cancel and get our money back?
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 151
  • 1
  • 5
SuperHighway
Dialled in
1,224 Views
Message 7 of 41
Flag for a moderator

Re: Area 31 barely usable broadband

are you guys in the RG postcode by chance as Area 31 can also exist in other locations too?

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 368
  • 9
  • 55
Tams
Fibre optic
1,192 Views
Message 8 of 41
Flag for a moderator

Re: Area 31 barely usable broadband


pendlebum wrote:
Hi Adam,

Thanks for the reply - so this service that has been terrible since September last year is now not going to get any better until March? Great.

How do we cancel and get our money back?

March is only a review date, it's not to say the work will be done by then unfortunately. Re you getting any form of a discount for poor service? If not, phone customer services and select retentions. They will be the best people to chat to quoting the fault reference number.  

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 5.25K
  • 229
  • 466
Forum Team
Forum Team
1,127 Views
Message 9 of 41
Flag for a moderator

Re: Area 31 barely usable broadband

Hi Matt,

 

Thanks for taking the time to post your concerns. I'm very sorry to hear your broadband speeds have been poor since around September.

 

I've managed to locate your account to check this. There appears to be a high demand for our service in your area. We're planning to undertake some upgrades to support this. This is being investigated under fault reference F003417538. The next review date has been set for 9th March 2016.

 

I appreciate this has been happening a while for you. Due to the complexity of the work needed we can never give a definite fix date.

 

I've added your details to the fault so we know you're affected too. I'll now move this post to a different team who will be able to keep an eye on the progress. If they require any further information they'll be sure to message you (purple envelope, top right).

 

Thanks


Rich
Forum Team
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 11
  • 0
  • 0
colonelpanic
Joining in
989 Views
Message 10 of 41
Flag for a moderator

Re: Area 31 barely usable broadband

Hi,

I'm in Area 31 also (RG1 post code) and have noticed a marked drop in service quality and performance since about November last year. I had an original Super Hub on the 152Meg service until a couple of weeks ago, when I changed my TV packaged and got a Super Hub 2AC and "upgraded" to Vivid 200.

Now, back in December, the SH1 would drop the connection every few days and speeds were very inconsistent, which I put down to the move to Vivid 200 for other people in my area or over subscription  The new Super Hub has been better. That said, I had no network access (no upstream and one downstream channel: "Network access denied") for a few hours tonight and saw something similar a couple of nights ago too. There's possibly a localised issue/outage tonight. The Tivo box had no catchup available either.  

I'm getting 80 to 100Mbit/s  on speed tests now (10 or 11 up) and this is about the average in the evenings.   Early morning I might hit 150-180 sometimes.  Weekends are the worst with sub-50Mbit/s download speeds at best and down to 3 or 4 meg last weekend I think.

This is all using wired connections and the Super Hub in modem mode.

The 152 service (until November) was very good with a very consistent 130-150Mbit/s pretty much all the time, but the upgraded Vivid 200 is all over the place.   The slightly faster upload (up to 12meg) I like, but the less reliable and inconsistent download performance is a bit annoying.

Cheers

John

 

0 Kudos
Reply