Menu
philstar
Tuning in
Message 1 of 5
Flag for a moderator

Area 30 SLOW BROADBAND

hey,

I signed up early this year to the Virgin 100mb broadband service. I don't have the TV or phone I just pay for the broadband.

I have literally never seen a speed over 40mbs. Am I the only one or is this typical of virgin?

When its very very slow I run speedtests and about this time of day my connection is running in the 2 - 3 mbs range which is bloody shocking.

I work in tech and IT, specifically networking so before its suggested: yes, my home is setup perfectly, no the problem is not at my end.

The irony is I changed from Sky because the fastest they could do for me was 4.6m/s. That was at least consistent and always at the rated speed.

So now im wondering, if I drop my speed down to a cheaper, slower connection will I still just get the speeds I am getting anyway? Or is it some sort of multiplier where dropping to 50 will get me peaktime speeds of 1 and so on.

As a side project I am going to take a screenshot once a day of my virgin internet speed and keep a record for as long as I can be bothered, ill be posting my results in a blog. Ill drop back once I have a couple of months readings and post a link.

Is this just me?

0 Kudos
MrDark
On our wavelength
Message 2 of 5
Flag for a moderator

Re: Area 30 SLOW BROADBAND

It's not just you I am geting 5 Mbps on a 200Mbps line.

The only thing worse then Virgin medias terrible broadband speeds is there awful customer service
0 Kudos
Forum Team
Forum Team
Message 3 of 5
Flag for a moderator

Hi there philstar, 

Thanks for posting and welcome to the community Smiley Very Happy

Sorry to hear that you're experiencing slow speeds, I know this can be frustrating.