Menu
wuraka76
Joining in
Message 1 of 5
Flag for a moderator

Area 20 - is it always only 50% of the advertised speed?

Hi all,

I have just been connected to VM boradband (literally an hour ago). I have done a few speed checks with my work laptop, personal laptop and an iPad, using diferent tests on each. (Ookla etc) All of them come back around 50-60Mbps. I am suposedly getting 100Mbps...

So... as I am brand new to VM my questions are, Is this a common thing? should I expect only to get this amount? The Virgin website spouts about 99.8 speed for this time of day.

Secondly, is there any point in phoning? I am happy to be on hold for an eternity if it gets somewhere. If I am likely to et messed about with no resolution I would sooner get a brew on and read a book instead.

Thanks in advance for any help!!

0 Kudos
DavidJWalker
Rising star
Message 2 of 5
Flag for a moderator

Re: Area 20 - is it always only 50% of the advertised speed?

when frist boot up the router it does take time to build up the internet speed that you can get nomaly this is frist 24 hours just keep it on all the time it will pick up i know some people turn it off at night and the router does not take that much power to keep on 24/7

Using VIVID 350 Optical Fibre, Player TV, Talk Weekends

Just another VM user trying to help out so my answers may be wrong.
If you do like my answer please mark it as helpful; it may help others
0 Kudos
cje85
Knows their stuff
Message 3 of 5
Flag for a moderator

DavidJWalker wrote:
when frist boot up the router it does take time to build up the internet speed that you can get nomaly this is frist 24 hours just keep it on all the time it will pick up 

This isn't correct, with cable services like Virgin there is no 'training' period like the DSL based services (BT etc). It doesn't take time to build up the connection speed.