Menu
andybatho
Tuning in
Message 1 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Apalling evening speeds in TW13 area

I have been a customer of Virgin /Telewest for over 20 years now, i was one of the first to get broadband when Telewest released it.

Generally it has been very stable and reliable (apart from a couple of years ago when they "tidied" the cabinet and we lost everything for a week).

I have been running a Samknows box since 2013 and have seen some strange figures come and go.

Now since 2015 everything is going to pot, the broadband just loses the will to live in the evening and my so called 200Mb connection drops to the sub 100 (Speed test also shows the same).

I understand that this will be the often said "over utilisation" excuse but this is now getting ridiculous.

We pay a premium for all of these services (TV, BB & Phone) and feel that we are being short changed by a so called excellent provider.

I would have gone to SKY & BT by now but i am limited to a maximum of 1Mb at the moment and the wife does not want a dish on the wall.

I have attached a SamKnows graph for the last week, to be quite honest it is no different from any other week (20:00 all falls apart).

The last time i had a stable connection was 2013, i have had several upgrades of speed (50, 100, 152 & 200). I am still running the Superhub2 non AC version, i don't think that upgrading to the new white SH3 will make any different all though i know it has more channels. The issue seems to be in the big wide world and not anything in the house (i am a network engineer so can prove that everything is good inside).

Can someone please let me know when upgrades are going to be carried out in this area?

I am in the TW13 area.

if you need anything more then please let me know.

Best regards

Andy

SamKnowsSamKnowsDownstreamDownstream

0 Kudos
Forum Team
Forum Team
Message 2 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Appalling evening speeds in TW13 area

Hi andybatho,