Menu
Reply
  • 34
  • 1
  • 3
SleeD
On our wavelength
270 Views
Message 1 of 14
Flag for a moderator

30Mbps on 300Mbps connection, can't downgrade without new contract, can't cancel. HELP.

I was previously a virgin media customer, and had next to no issues for the 15+ years (Blueyonder etc) days of using VM.

Since purchasing another property, I took VM out again. This time, I've had non-stop issues, from the very beginning.

After finally getting the service installed (after 2 failed attempts, when I clearly stated that there was NO EXISTING LINE, yet this was ignored), I received the 200Mbps service.

This service seemed to work perfectly, however I wasn't on this for particularly long to know whether the issues would've happened regardless of upgrading to 300Mbps, or not.

Eitherway, I upgraded to Homeworks+, and received 300Mbps. The initial speedtests showed 320Mbps, happy.

Since this initial point, i've had endless faults.

My connection has (since late august), been down 17 times, of which I've rang around 10 times. When my connection isn't down, I rarely ever get 300Mbps, usually only around absolute offpeak hours (11am on a weekday, maybe). Usually it is no more than 100Mbps.

I've continuously raised this issue with VM, who sent an engineer round once after identifying that my power levels were borderline, and should resolve the issue.

The issue hasn't been resolved, and as the engineer visited in offpeak hours, the subsequent speedtest they took showed 280Mbps, however all other times as mentioned, is no more than 100Mbps.

Multiple times on the phone, and also whilst the engineer visited, I've raised issues where my connection is clearly being throttled. YouTube has a serious buffering issue, very similar to the issue I recall in 2012-2014 with the caching issue, however everyone seems to act like this doesn't exist, it does, and it needs resolving.

I've tried to reduce my speed from 300Mbps package, to 200Mbps package, as I'm getting absolutely zero benefits from being on the 300Mbps, whilst costing me £10/m more. I was told, I am unable to downgrade to 200Mbps unless I take out a new contract, therefore extending the contract by 5 months, which equates to MORE than continuing to pay for the 300Mbps service would cost.

I've tried to ride it out, in the hope that VM can resolve the underlying infrastructure that is clearly oversubscribed in this area, however enough is enough.

I'm currently paying £60/month, for 30Mbps (as we speak). I'm getting literally 10% of the advertised speed, am unable to cancel, and unable to downgrade my service to at least save money whilst I wait out the remainder of this contract.

My ideal solution is that Virgin Media accept that the area is hugely oversubscribed, and upgrade the infrastructure according so I'm able to receive the speeds I'm paying for.

Or, i'd like to cancel immediately. The service is absolutely terrible, and it's becoming harder and harder to justify £60/month for a 30Mbps, unstable, throttled, connection.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 5.36K
  • 273
  • 1.18K
Superuser
Superuser
264 Views
Message 2 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: 30Mbps on 300Mbps connection, can't downgrade without new contract, can't cancel. HELP.

I thought the Homeworks+ was an addon and could be removed at any time?



Might be worth calling during business hours and ask to speak to cancellations to see what they come up with. See if you can get through to the infamous 'Scottish guy in Swansea' who (as legend goes) can usually do something to help.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
All posts made are personal opinions as I do not work for VirginMedia.
Kudo's a post if you find it useful and want to say thanks
Mark a post as a helpful answer if it answers your question

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 34
  • 1
  • 3
SleeD
On our wavelength
234 Views
Message 3 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: 30Mbps on 300Mbps connection, can't downgrade without new contract, can't cancel. HELP.

This was my understanding of Homeworks+ too.

I don't know if this is a running joke on the forums that I'm not aware of, but last time I managed to get hold of someone useful, it was indeed a scottish man from swansea!
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 8.3K
  • 518
  • 2.3K
Superuser
Superuser
220 Views
Message 4 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: 30Mbps on 300Mbps connection, can't downgrade without new contract, can't cancel. HELP.

So we can help us to help you, can you

Go to your Superhub Log in screen

Do NOT log in.

Little button top right.....


Can you post Upstream, Downstream and Network logs.



Screen caps are nice, C&P will do- Don't stress about formatting if you C&P. Someone will get a look and see if there's anything obvious amiss.


0 Kudos
Reply
  • 34
  • 1
  • 3
SleeD
On our wavelength
212 Views
Message 5 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: 30Mbps on 300Mbps connection, can't downgrade without new contract, can't cancel. HELP.

up down vm.jpg

Network LogDate And TimeError NumberEvent Description2016-11-16 06:25:19.0068010100DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;2016-11-17 13:53:13.0068010400DHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;2016-11-18 16:12:38.0082000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;2016-11-20 14:11:28.0068010100DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;2016-11-21 07:50:49.0082000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;2016-11-21 08:40:41.0068010100DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;2016-11-21 09:54:41.0068010400DHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;2016-11-25 01:31:54.0082000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;2016-11-25 23:53:40.0068010100DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;2016-11-26 03:22:53.0082000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;2016-11-26 14:53:32.0068010100DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;2016-12-01 10:03:09.0068010400DHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;2016-12-06 05:33:07.0068010100DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;2016-12-07 13:03:10.0068010400DHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;2016-12-08 15:51:04.0084000700RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;2016-12-10 13:14:26.0068010100DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;2016-12-11 08:55:46.0068010400DHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;2016-12-15 23:00:52.0068010100DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;2016-12-17 05:02:19.0068010400DHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;2016-12-18 13:25:54.0082000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 8.3K
  • 518
  • 2.3K
Superuser
Superuser
208 Views
Message 6 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: 30Mbps on 300Mbps connection, can't downgrade without new contract, can't cancel. HELP.

Upstream looks odd with two different modulations.

And network log is odder (more odd?) 

Can you set up a BQM

HERE

Run it for say 24 hrs, and post the result.

 Dont forget youll need to make sure your super hub is configured to reply to ICMP echo requests.On HUB3 switch OFF firewall temporarily...

 

 

 

 

 


0 Kudos
Reply
  • 5.36K
  • 273
  • 1.18K
Superuser
Superuser
192 Views
Message 7 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: 30Mbps on 300Mbps connection, can't downgrade without new contract, can't cancel. HELP.


SleeD wrote:


I don't know if this is a running joke on the forums that I'm not aware of, but last time I managed to get hold of someone useful, it was indeed a scottish man from swansea!

 

Genuinely when i've heard people say they got through to the UK call centre, its always the Scottish man they speak to Smiley Tongue

Don't know if its just 1 guy running the show or lots of Scottish people crammed into one room. Either way its 'the Scottish guy from Swansea'

 

 

 

 

Agree with Kippies in that something is definately playing up, showing in your upstream.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
All posts made are personal opinions as I do not work for VirginMedia.
Kudo's a post if you find it useful and want to say thanks
Mark a post as a helpful answer if it answers your question

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 34
  • 1
  • 3
SleeD
On our wavelength
135 Views
Message 8 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: 30Mbps on 300Mbps connection, can't downgrade without new contract, can't cancel. HELP.

So after digging around, the issue seems to be in regards to my CMTS, which also explains the dodgy US channels.

 

Can someone from VM please advise when my CMTS is due to be upgraded? as currently, I'm struggling to get 300Mbps from a speed test, and -any- single threaded downloads, including youtube, are heavily limited to about 2-3Mbps, ie - 250KB/s.

It's becoming a bit of a joke now, that im paying £60/month for what is essentially a 3Mbps connection, and technical support are either unaware or unwilling to appreciate that it is an issue.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 548
  • 3
  • 31
arronlowley
Up to speed
121 Views
Message 9 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: 30Mbps on 300Mbps connection, can't downgrade without new contract, can't cancel. HELP.

im paying for 300/20 also, my speed has been all over since the 19th of this month, i asked if i could downgrade to the gamer package and was told it will cost the same... yet new customers get it for £50, its a joke.

http://www.thinkbroadband.com/ping/share/6c7f9a9f20c4b3cac9edc401f62167c3.html
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 3.1K
  • 36
  • 591
Ignition
Trouble shooter
100 Views
Message 10 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: 30Mbps on 300Mbps connection, can't downgrade without new contract, can't cancel. HELP.

Hmm. You are on an old school CMTS. Ideally Homeworks+ shouldn't have been released to you unless load on the network was very low.

I suspect the issues will be resolved with installation of a new CMTS and upgrade to 24 downstream channels and potentially 4 upstream, however there may be issues delaying this.

There may not be the capacity on your local network for the extra channels so components in cabinets quite literally need replacing, and/or issues with space, power or cooling delaying new CMTS install.