Menu
Reply
  • 6
  • 0
  • 3
haworthwhite
Tuning in
17,694 Views
Message 1 of 29
Flag for a moderator

200mb upgrade but only getting 35-50mb

I recently got the upgrade to the 200mb broadband speeds (I was previously on 50mb)

Since the upgrade I am not receiving any increased speed. Download between 35-50mb and upload less than 3mb

Have reset the router but no change, whilst diagnostics says everything is OK.

Any help would be appreciated

Helpful Answers
  • 2.96K
  • 378
  • 939
Superuser
Superuser
35,327 Views
Message 2 of 29
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: 200mb upgrade but only getting 35-50mb

Are you using a wired or wireless connection?

You could check that your super hub has picked up the new 200Mbs config. If you go to http://192.168.100.1/ to get the super hub GUI. Don't login but instead click on the Router Status button in the top right of the screen. On the next screen click on Operation Configuration then look for Primary Downstream Service Flow. Under that heading the value for Max Traffic Rate should be 220000000 bps if your hub is correctly configured for 200Mbs.

______________________
Scott

Disclaimer - I don't work for Virgin Media. I'm just another VM user trying to help out so my answers may be wrong :-) If you do like my answer please mark it as helpful as it may help others
My setup: Vivid 200 Optical fibre with Superhub 2 in modem mode connected to a Netgear R7000 router. Telewest/VM user since 2001.

  • 2.96K
  • 378
  • 939
Superuser
Superuser
35,306 Views
Message 4 of 29
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: 200mb upgrade but only getting 35-50mb

OK, that means that your super hub is still configured for only 50Mbps.  If I was to guess I'd say that your upgrade is still to be activated by VM or something went wrong and the activation failed.  When you login to your "My Virgin Media" page, does it say that your package is "Vivid 200 Optical fibre"?

You can try calling VM to confirm the speed boost on your account has been processed, or wait for somebody from the VM forum team to pick this up here in a few days time.

______________________
Scott

Disclaimer - I don't work for Virgin Media. I'm just another VM user trying to help out so my answers may be wrong :-) If you do like my answer please mark it as helpful as it may help others
My setup: Vivid 200 Optical fibre with Superhub 2 in modem mode connected to a Netgear R7000 router. Telewest/VM user since 2001.

  • 10.82K
  • 308
  • 631
Forum Team
Forum Team
35,007 Views
Message 7 of 29
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: 200mb upgrade but only getting 35-50mb

Hi haworthwhite

 

Welcome to the community and thanks for posting.

 

Sorry to see that the Super Hub has not locked onto the correct broadband speed.

 

When checking your account, I can see it has been upgraded to 200 Mbps, however you have one of our older Super Hub models. To resolve this issue I would like to send you a new router that will be compatible for the new speeds. I've sent you a PM (purple envelope icon, right corner) with some details for you to confirm please. Once you have replied I can go ahead with the order.

 

Hope to hear from you soon

Sam


New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide



All Replies
  • 2.96K
  • 378
  • 939
Superuser
Superuser
35,328 Views
Message 2 of 29
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: 200mb upgrade but only getting 35-50mb

Are you using a wired or wireless connection?

You could check that your super hub has picked up the new 200Mbs config. If you go to http://192.168.100.1/ to get the super hub GUI. Don't login but instead click on the Router Status button in the top right of the screen. On the next screen click on Operation Configuration then look for Primary Downstream Service Flow. Under that heading the value for Max Traffic Rate should be 220000000 bps if your hub is correctly configured for 200Mbs.

______________________
Scott

Disclaimer - I don't work for Virgin Media. I'm just another VM user trying to help out so my answers may be wrong :-) If you do like my answer please mark it as helpful as it may help others
My setup: Vivid 200 Optical fibre with Superhub 2 in modem mode connected to a Netgear R7000 router. Telewest/VM user since 2001.

  • 6
  • 0
  • 3
haworthwhite
Tuning in
17,674 Views
Message 3 of 29
Flag for a moderator

Re: 200mb upgrade but only getting 35-50mb

Wireless connection.

Shows 57344000 bps as Max Traffic rate and 10000 bytes as Max Traffic burst

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 2.96K
  • 378
  • 939
Superuser
Superuser
35,307 Views
Message 4 of 29
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: 200mb upgrade but only getting 35-50mb

OK, that means that your super hub is still configured for only 50Mbps.  If I was to guess I'd say that your upgrade is still to be activated by VM or something went wrong and the activation failed.  When you login to your "My Virgin Media" page, does it say that your package is "Vivid 200 Optical fibre"?

You can try calling VM to confirm the speed boost on your account has been processed, or wait for somebody from the VM forum team to pick this up here in a few days time.

______________________
Scott

Disclaimer - I don't work for Virgin Media. I'm just another VM user trying to help out so my answers may be wrong :-) If you do like my answer please mark it as helpful as it may help others
My setup: Vivid 200 Optical fibre with Superhub 2 in modem mode connected to a Netgear R7000 router. Telewest/VM user since 2001.

  • 6
  • 0
  • 3
haworthwhite
Tuning in
17,649 Views
Message 5 of 29
Flag for a moderator

Re: 200mb upgrade but only getting 35-50mb

It does - main message shows as "Your Speed Boost is Complete" and the Vivid 200 Optical Fibre is shown on my broadband package.

Thanks very much for your help. I will wait for VM Forum team to pick up hopefully in next few days.

  • 2.96K
  • 378
  • 939
Superuser
Superuser
17,645 Views
Message 6 of 29
Flag for a moderator

Re: 200mb upgrade but only getting 35-50mb

Probably a good idea, the forum team are are far more knowledgeable than phone support and more reliable Smiley Happy

For future reference, when you do get the router configured correctly it is best to test speeds on a wired connection. Wireless is easily disrupted by a number of external factors, so a wired test is the only way to get a true picture of what speed your line is able to achieve.  Also there are currently only a few wireless devices that can achieve speeds of 200Mbps.

______________________
Scott

Disclaimer - I don't work for Virgin Media. I'm just another VM user trying to help out so my answers may be wrong :-) If you do like my answer please mark it as helpful as it may help others
My setup: Vivid 200 Optical fibre with Superhub 2 in modem mode connected to a Netgear R7000 router. Telewest/VM user since 2001.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 10.82K
  • 308
  • 631
Forum Team
Forum Team
35,008 Views
Message 7 of 29
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: 200mb upgrade but only getting 35-50mb

Hi haworthwhite

 

Welcome to the community and thanks for posting.

 

Sorry to see that the Super Hub has not locked onto the correct broadband speed.

 

When checking your account, I can see it has been upgraded to 200 Mbps, however you have one of our older Super Hub models. To resolve this issue I would like to send you a new router that will be compatible for the new speeds. I've sent you a PM (purple envelope icon, right corner) with some details for you to confirm please. Once you have replied I can go ahead with the order.

 

Hope to hear from you soon

Sam


New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


  • 2.96K
  • 378
  • 939
Superuser
Superuser
17,494 Views
Message 8 of 29
Flag for a moderator

Re: 200mb upgrade but only getting 35-50mb

Glad to hear it is getting sorted.  I never thought to ask about the hub.  I was under the impression that this was checked automatically during the upgrade process and if a new hub was required it was sent out.

______________________
Scott

Disclaimer - I don't work for Virgin Media. I'm just another VM user trying to help out so my answers may be wrong :-) If you do like my answer please mark it as helpful as it may help others
My setup: Vivid 200 Optical fibre with Superhub 2 in modem mode connected to a Netgear R7000 router. Telewest/VM user since 2001.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 601
  • 2
  • 46
hansi
Superfast
14,852 Views
Message 9 of 29
Flag for a moderator

Re: 200mb upgrade but only getting 35-50mb

Mine says 23 and all the noughts but I still don't get 200mbs!
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Lizrob1
Joining in
14,078 Views
Message 10 of 29
Flag for a moderator

Re: 200mb upgrade but only getting 35-50mb

Having the exact same issue and when I check my account it says we have upgraded to 200 Mbps but the connection seems worse,  Have already restarted our device and still no change.

 

Any help is appreciated

0 Kudos
Reply