Menu
Reply
Superuser
  • 8.79K
  • 575
  • 1.61K
Registered: ‎20-09-2011
Message 11 of 20 (166 Views)

Re: 200mb not even close, engineers no help at all

i beg to differ on the assessment of the levels - downstream is fine - limits are -6 + 10 - upstream is ok - its towards the max but unless its fluctuating i cannot see that being the problem

its worth logging the power levels against the difference in speeds - see if the levels remain constant

____________________

Tony
Reply
0 Kudos
Rising star
  • 666
  • 13
  • 82
Registered: ‎09-12-2014
Message 12 of 20 (160 Views)

Re: 200mb not even close, engineers no help at all


-tony- wrote:

i beg to differ on the assessment of the levels - downstream is fine - limits are -6 + 10 - upstream is ok - its towards the max but unless its fluctuating i cannot see that being the problem

its worth logging the power levels against the difference in speeds - see if the levels remain constant

 


Well if I adjust mine so all 24 of my channels are 7 or above I start to see slower speeds and even T3 timeouts.

 



DO YOU SUFFER FROM SLOW DOWNLOAD SPEEDS AT PEAK TIMES? CLICK HERE

This is the poor quality of my Superhub 3 connection Smiley Sad
My Broadband Ping - Vivid 200 Gamer

Area 04 Rowley Regis B65 high utilisation fault ticket F004670584  SEE MY ONGOING THREAD HERE

Fault reported 09/2014 - Fault ticket raised 01/01/15 - Changed to 05/15 -  Changed to 12/08/15 - Changed to 14/10/15 - Changed to 04/11/15 - Changed to 15/04/16 - Changed to 06/07/16 - Changed to 31/09/16 - Changed to 30/11/16 - Changed to 15/02/17 - Changed to 12/07/17 - Changed to 20/09/17 - Changed to 14/06/17

Upgraded to 24 downstream channels completed 25/04/17 - CMTS card upgrades completed 07/04/17 - Upgraded to 20 downstream channels completed 18/10/16 - Upgraded to 16 downstream channels 06/08/16 (From 8) - F004332353 High Utilisation closed on 01/08/16 -  - Fault reference F003508309 ticket was closed in ERROR!!!!!! -

Thanks to BT Fibre Broadband I can actually game without lag Smiley Very Happy
My Broadband Ping - BT FIBRE 80/20

Reply
0 Kudos
Superuser
  • 8.79K
  • 575
  • 1.61K
Registered: ‎20-09-2011
Message 13 of 20 (151 Views)

Re: 200mb not even close, engineers no help at all


tommey wrote:

-tony- wrote:

i beg to differ on the assessment of the levels - downstream is fine - limits are -6 + 10 - upstream is ok - its towards the max but unless its fluctuating i cannot see that being the problem

its worth logging the power levels against the difference in speeds - see if the levels remain constant

 


Well if I adjust mine so all 24 of my channels are 7 or above I start to see slower speeds and even T3 timeouts.

 


i cannot dispute that but that does not mean thats the answer here or for any other connection on the network - range is -6 + 10 as you well know and connections work within that range 

____________________

Tony
Reply
0 Kudos
Joining in
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎20-10-2016
Message 14 of 20 (141 Views)

Re: 200mb not even close, engineers no help at all

So... erm.., what is the answer? lol I'm paying full price on a connection that rarely gets half of what I'm paying for, most the time much less? What's my solution?
Reply
0 Kudos
Superuser
  • 8.79K
  • 575
  • 1.61K
Registered: ‎20-09-2011
Message 15 of 20 (135 Views)

Re: 200mb not even close, engineers no help at all

you need input from VM to look at it from their side - they will get here in a week or thereabouts - it sounds like a fault rather than utilisation but only they can know

if there is a fault and a fault number is raised then you should be able to claim a reduction in your bill - dont expect a fortune - as to paying full price for half speed at times they have that covered - we all agree to their T & C's - whether we read them or not is not relevant but they nicely cover slow downs by selling us speeds UPTO

____________________

Tony
Reply
0 Kudos
Joining in
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎20-10-2016
Message 16 of 20 (132 Views)

Re: 200mb not even close, engineers no help at all

Yeah the guy changed the router and everything on our side wiring etc still no joy. The engineers just kind of waffle on all coming up with different excuses but no actual solutions? I'm certainly not expecting max speeds all the time but somewhere near would be nice. When you're struggling to load a picture on a supposed 200mb connection then there's something wrong, I had dial up connections that were more responsive at times. Do you mean virgin will answer on this thread within a week? Many thanks mate
Reply
0 Kudos
Superuser
  • 8.79K
  • 575
  • 1.61K
Registered: ‎20-09-2011
Message 17 of 20 (129 Views)

Re: 200mb not even close, engineers no help at all

yes VM will get to the thread and look at it from their side - times vary but a week is about the norm

____________________

Tony
Reply
0 Kudos
Forum Team
  • 8.74K
  • 246
  • 513
Registered: ‎07-04-2015
Message 18 of 20 (109 Views)

Re: 200mb not even close, engineers no help at all

Hi there StavEllis,

 

Thanks for taking the time to post on the community.

 

My apologies you are experiencing issues with the broadband speeds.

 

I would like to check your connection in more detail, however I was unable to locate your account. If you can send me a Private Message confirming your name and address, I will look into this.

 

Hope to hear from you soon

Sam


New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


Reply
0 Kudos
Forum Team
  • 8.74K
  • 246
  • 513
Registered: ‎07-04-2015
Message 19 of 20 (98 Views)

Re: 200mb not even close, engineers no help at all

Hi StavEllis,

 

Thanks for the reply and confirming your details, I appreciate it.

 

I've taken a look at your line, the hub and the network and all is showing as fine. The power levels are within range, there are no faults reported and the traffic on the network is running low, which is good. 

 

I appreciate all the checks you have completed so far and the engineer appointments you have had to try and fix this for you. I would like to just start from scratch and complete speed tests at different times of the day whilst the Hub is in modem mode please? When using speedtest.net, make sure that the default server is selected and try to post the link/screenshot of the results (without the IP address showing). 

 

I understand how frustrating this is and I would like to find the cause of this for you.

Speak to you soon

Sam


New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


Reply
0 Kudos
Joining in
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎20-10-2016
Message 20 of 20 (82 Views)

Re: 200mb not even close, engineers no help at all

Hi sam

Thanks for getting back to me, I'll actually be out for the country for the next 10 days - 2 weeks can I pick this back up when I get home?
Reply
0 Kudos