Menu
Reply
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
dickinsonjim
Joining in
683 Views
Message 1 of 13
Flag for a moderator

200Mbps, getting 5, "because traffic management"

On 200Mbps. Getting 5Mbps downlaods on WIFI and about 80Mbps download on Wired.

Guy on the phone insisted this was because of traffic management and it would be fine in 24 hours. Surely that's nonsense- I thought it only affected upload speeds? 

0 Kudos
Reply

Helpful Answers
  • 16.11K
  • 1.34K
  • 3.27K
Superuser
Superuser
1,042 Views
Message 8 of 13
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: 200Mbps, getting 5, "because traffic management"

yeah your downstream power levels are out of spec, and then upstream power level isn't great either.. to check is there any attenuators attached to the white coax cable. might say forward path 5+-dbmv
----------------------------------------------------------
If someone's helped you out say thanks by clicking on the thumbs up. If someone's solved your problem, why not mark their message as an Accepted Solution
0 Kudos
Reply

All Replies
  • 16.11K
  • 1.34K
  • 3.27K
Superuser
Superuser
671 Views
Message 2 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: 200Mbps, getting 5, "because traffic management"

hiya @dickinsonjim yes the traffic policy only applies to upload you can view this policy via -> http://help.virginmedia.com/system/selfservice.controller?CONFIGURATION=1001&PARTITION_ID=1&secureFl... since with wifi speeds can vary greatly depending on factors such as distance, device, if its using 2.4/5ghz, wifi interference (e.g. other wifi routers, baby monitors, cordless telephones, microwaves etc.. almost anything that is high power electrical device).
----------------------------------------------------------
If someone's helped you out say thanks by clicking on the thumbs up. If someone's solved your problem, why not mark their message as an Accepted Solution
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
dickinsonjim
Joining in
646 Views
Message 3 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: 200Mbps, getting 5, "because traffic management"

Two hours I'm not getting back.

Spent 2 hours with the guy on the phone trying to explain and then re-explain and then put me on hold and re-explain why the traffic management policy would mean getting 50Mbps download on 200 service.

Two highlights.

One when he told me "Nigel's not my real name you know"

"Thank you James. Thank you for not losing your temper. I've learned more on this call than I did on my training course"

Eventually...eventually... he checked my "downstream power" and said I probably have a fault and an engineer will come...in 2 weeks!

Is this normal? 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
dickinsonjim
Joining in
644 Views
Message 4 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: 200Mbps, getting 5, "because traffic management"

4t

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 164
  • 0
  • 7
Manestream
On our wavelength
629 Views
Message 5 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: 200Mbps, getting 5, "because traffic management"

yes. But be prepared to get a txt saying engineer has been cancelled as they found a fault in your area, you will get another txt when work is completed, if your problem persists after this recontact support or phone again with your issue. 

LOL round-and-round the merry-go-round we go

 

P.S - Welcome to the club Smiley Wink

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 16.11K
  • 1.34K
  • 3.27K
Superuser
Superuser
597 Views
Message 6 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: 200Mbps, getting 5, "because traffic management"

to check on your power levels if you could goto http://192.168.0.1 clicking router status top right [no need to login] and if you could copy/paste the downstream, upstream, network log and operational config, don't worry about the formatting we can easily read it.
----------------------------------------------------------
If someone's helped you out say thanks by clicking on the thumbs up. If someone's solved your problem, why not mark their message as an Accepted Solution
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
dickinsonjim
Joining in
556 Views
Message 7 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: 200Mbps, getting 5, "because traffic management"

Thanks in advance

Downstream

Downstream DS-1DS-2DS-3DS-4DS-5DS-6DS-7DS-8Frequency (Hz)202750000210750000218750000226750000234750000242750000250750000258750000Lock Status(QAM Lock/FEC Sync/MPEG Lock)LockedLockedLockedLockedLockedLockedLockedLockedChannel ID12345678Modulation256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAMSymbol Rate (Msym/sec)6.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.952000Interleave DepthI=12
J=17I=12
J=17I=12
J=17I=12
J=17I=12
J=17I=12
J=17I=12
J=17I=12
J=17Power Level (dBmV)10.8110.209.899.589.068.758.938.85RxMER (dB)37.6437.3636.8436.8436.6136.3936.3936.17Pre RS Errors30706289222675048325105612218884257946430574Post RS Errors288275272282315329287320

Upstream

Upstream US-1US-2US-3US-4Channel Type2.0N/AN/A2.0Channel ID10N/AN/A12Frequency (Hz)39400000N/AN/A25800000Ranging StatusSuccessOtherOtherSuccessModulation16QAMN/AN/A16QAMSymbol Rate (Sym/sec)5120000N/AN/A5120000Mini-Slot Size4N/AN/A4Power Level (dBmV)32.25N/AN/A31.00T1 Timeouts0000T2 Timeouts0000T3 Timeouts0002T4 Timeouts0000

Operational Config

General Configuration

Network Access Allowed
Maximum Number of CPEs 1
Baseline Privacy Enabled
DOCSIS Mode EuroDOCSIS 3.0
Config File  

Primary Downstream Service Flow

SFID 326703
Max Traffic Rate 230000000 bps
Max Traffic Burst 42600 bytes
Min Traffic Rate 0 bps

Primary Upstream Service Flow

SFID 326702
Max Traffic Rate 12700000 bps
Max Traffic Burst 16320 bytes
Min Traffic Rate 0 bps
Max Concatenated Burst 16320 bytes
Scheduling Type

Best Effort

 

 

Network Log

 

Network Log

First Time Last Time Priority Error Number Description
17/12/2016 23:20:05 GMT 17/12/2016 23:20:05 GMT Critical (3) 82000200 No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
17/12/2016 22:29:28 GMT 17/12/2016 22:29:28 GMT Critical (3) 82000200 No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
17/12/2016 18:15:12 GMT 17/12/2016 18:15:12 GMT Error (4) 68010302 DHCP WAN IP - ##########
17/12/2016 18:14:14 GMT 17/12/2016 18:14:14 GMT Error (4) 68000407 TOD established
Time Not Established Time Not Established Notice (6) 84000510 Downstream Locked Successfully
17/12/2016 16:32:43 GMT 17/12/2016 16:32:43 GMT Error (4) 68010302 DHCP WAN IP - ##########
17/12/2016 16:31:48 GMT 17/12/2016 16:31:48 GMT Error (4) 68000407 TOD established
Time Not Established Time Not Established Notice (6) 84000510 Downstream Locked Successfully
17/12/2016 13:53:04 GMT 17/12/2016 13:53:04 GMT Critical (3) 82000200 No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
17/12/2016 00:53:20 GMT 17/12/2016 00:53:20 GMT Error (4) 68010302 DHCP WAN IP - ##########
17/12/2016 00:52:44 GMT 17/12/2016 00:52:44 GMT Error (4) 68000407 TOD established
17/12/2016 00:52:31 GMT 17/12/2016 00:52:31 GMT Notice (6) 84000510 Downstream Locked Successfully
17/12/2016 00:48:30 GMT 17/12/2016 00:48:30 GMT Critical (3) 82000400 Received Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out
17/12/2016 00:48:12 GMT 17/12/2016 00:48:12 GMT Critical (3) 82000400 Received Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out
16/12/2016 10:59:47 GMT 16/12/2016 10:59:47 GMT Error (4) 68010302 DHCP WAN IP - ##########
16/12/2016 10:59:09 GMT 16/12/2016 10:59:09 GMT Error (4) 68000407 TOD established
16/12/2016 10:58:57 GMT 16/12/2016 10:58:57 GMT Critical (3) 82000200 No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
16/12/2016 10:58:57 GMT 16/12/2016 10:58:57 GMT Critical (3) 82000200 No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
16/12/2016 10:58:52 GMT 16/12/2016 10:58:52 GMT Notice (6) 84000510 Downstream Locked Successfully
16/12/2016 10:58:17 GMT 16/12/2016 10:58:17 GMT Error (4) 68010100 DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4

 

[MOD EDIT: Personal and private information has been removed from this post. Please do not post personal or private information in your public posts. Please review the Forum Guidelines]

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 16.11K
  • 1.34K
  • 3.27K
Superuser
Superuser
1,043 Views
Message 8 of 13
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: 200Mbps, getting 5, "because traffic management"

yeah your downstream power levels are out of spec, and then upstream power level isn't great either.. to check is there any attenuators attached to the white coax cable. might say forward path 5+-dbmv
----------------------------------------------------------
If someone's helped you out say thanks by clicking on the thumbs up. If someone's solved your problem, why not mark their message as an Accepted Solution
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
dickinsonjim
Joining in
526 Views
Message 9 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: 200Mbps, getting 5, "because traffic management"

Nope- no attenuators

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 16.11K
  • 1.34K
  • 3.27K
Superuser
Superuser
466 Views
Message 10 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: 200Mbps, getting 5, "because traffic management"

then would need to wait for tech to arrive, making sure all connection are finger tight
----------------------------------------------------------
If someone's helped you out say thanks by clicking on the thumbs up. If someone's solved your problem, why not mark their message as an Accepted Solution
0 Kudos
Reply