Menu
Reply
  • 3
  • 0
  • 0
Aareco
Joining in
146 Views
Message 1 of 6
Flag for a moderator

200 vivid gamer , getting 30 tw20 20 area

Recently joined VM with the 200 gamer as the whole family uses the net. £151 first bill

First month great speeds 220 all the time.  30 days later speeds are now 30 meg down 19 up ping not to bad at 10-20.

checked for any issues in the  area nothing . hope this is not going to be the usual as there is no point in paying for 200 and getting 30 , i could  just pay for a 30 meg line from one of your competitors.

Will continue to try speed test out of peak hours

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 2.96K
  • 378
  • 939
Superuser
Superuser
115 Views
Message 2 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: 200 vivid gamer , getting 30 tw20 20 area

Are you using a wired Ethernet connection to the VM hub or a wireless connection? Wireless is easily disrupted by a number of external factors, so a wired test is the best way to get a true picture of what speed your line is able to achieve. It also helps to pinpoint if the issue is with the wireless or your line.

Off peak tests would be useful to determine if the speeds are slow all day or only at peak times (typically 4pm-11pm weekdays and weekends)? Some areas are suffering with over utilisation, which results in very slow speeds at peak times but full speed at off peak times.

If off peak wired speeds are slow then some hub stats might help.  Go to http://192.168.0.1/ (or http://192.168.100.1/ if you are in modem mode) to get the VM hub GUI. Don't login but instead click on Router Status which is either a button in the top right of the screen or a text link at the bottom of the screen depending on which hub you have. Click on the Downstream, Upstream and Network Log sections and copy & paste the figures from those screens and post them here, don't worry about the formatting or you can post screenshots if that is easier. Be careful to edit out or obscure any reference to your WAN IP in the log to protect your privacy.

The community can have a look for you and see if anything in the figures looks wrong and advise accordingly. Or you can wait for the VM staff to pick up this thread (can take 7-10 days) and run checks on your line.

______________________
Scott

Disclaimer - I don't work for Virgin Media. I'm just another VM user trying to help out so my answers may be wrong Smiley Happy If my answer solves your problem please mark it as helpful as it may help others
My setup: Vivid 200 Optical fibre with Superhub 2 in modem mode connected to a Netgear R7000 router. Telewest/VM user since 2001.  

  • 3
  • 0
  • 0
Aareco
Joining in
102 Views
Message 3 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: 200 vivid gamer , getting 30 tw20 20 area

Thanks for offering to help .

I always use a wired connection 

 

Tried early this morning and was getting 98 , again this evening as low as 23 . 

Connection was great for the first month

 

Downstream bonded channelsChannelFrequency(Hz)Power
(dBmV)SNR
(dB)ModulationChannel ID12987500009.436.6256 qam3323227500009.936.6256 qam3633147500009.636.6256 qam3543067500009.436.6256 qam345290750000936.3256 qam326282750000936.6256 qam3172747500009.436.6256 qam3082667500009.336.6256 qam299258750000937.6256 qam28102507500008.937.6256 qam27112427500008.637.3256 qam26122347500008.837.3256 qam25

 

hannel ID Frequency(Hz) Mode Power
(dBmV) Modulation Channel Bandwidth(Hz) Symbol Rate (ksps)

2639400000ATDMA41.316 qam64000005120
2732600000ATDMA41.316 qam64000005120

 

 

 

2016-11-22 16:11:27.0084000500SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;2016-11-22 16:11:27.0084000700RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;2016-11-22 16:11:27.0084000500SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;2016-11-22 16:11:31.0084020200Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;2016-11-25 10:56:39.0084000700RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;2016-11-27 11:33:21.0068010100DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;2016-11-28 19:03:24.0068010400DHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;2016-12-01 19:14:39.0068010100DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;2016-12-02 00:17:19.0084000500SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;2016-12-02 00:17:20.0084000700RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;2016-12-02 00:17:20.0084000500SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;2016-12-02 00:17:24.0084020200Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;2016-12-02 00:18:07.0082000400Received Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;2016-12-02 04:07:34.0082000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;2016-12-05 11:18:34.0084000700RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;2016-12-06 23:38:10.0068010100DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;2016-12-08 07:08:14.0068010400DHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;2016-12-10 16:46:58.0082000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;2016-12-11 07:19:27.0068010100DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;2016-12-12 03:00:46.0068010400DHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 3
  • 0
  • 0
Aareco
Joining in
88 Views
Message 4 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: 200 vivid gamer , getting 30 tw20 20 area

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 2.96K
  • 378
  • 939
Superuser
Superuser
68 Views
Message 5 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: 200 vivid gamer , getting 30 tw20 20 area

Power levels are within the recommended range, although the downstream ones are getting close to the top end of that range, which is -6 to +10.  Some unhealthy looking errors in the log but most of them don't seem to be that recent.

Probably best to wait and see what the forum staff say when they get to this thread.

FYI The forum team respond to the oldest post waiting for a reply. This means if you keep posting on the thread then it will bump you to the bottom of their list.

______________________
Scott

Disclaimer - I don't work for Virgin Media. I'm just another VM user trying to help out so my answers may be wrong Smiley Happy If my answer solves your problem please mark it as helpful as it may help others
My setup: Vivid 200 Optical fibre with Superhub 2 in modem mode connected to a Netgear R7000 router. Telewest/VM user since 2001.  

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 12.48K
  • 353
  • 1.45K
Forum Team
Forum Team
44 Views
Message 6 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: 200 vivid gamer , getting 30 tw20 20 area

Hi Aareco,

Sorry for your speed issues so soon after joining us, I'll do what I can to help.

I have thoroughly tested your connection but can find no peak time congestion issues, which is the first thing I though might explain this.
Your Hub is reporting slightly elevated downstream power levels that could be reduced by an engineer. I think that's a good place to start so have sent you a PM (purple envelope icon, top right of page) to make arrangements for a visit. Please reply when you can and we'll get an appointment scheduled in.


Jen
Forum Team



0 Kudos
Reply