Menu
Highlighted
Sturan
Joining in
Message 1 of 4
Flag for a moderator

Letter from Virgin about spam - is F secure up to the job?

So I receive a letter today stating that my internet connection is the source of spam emails. I know I receive loads of them and just delete them. I have done all the scans and checked mail forwarding however a friend advised of a malware app that will identify and remove malware. This thing found loads that F secure has not picked up.  Is F secure worth it?  And how on earth do I know if I have solved the problem?   I am in the process of checking the kids laptops but I paid for F secure to cover all devices and prevent this type of thing....I am no super techie so any advice would be great

0 Kudos

Helpful Answers
Superuser
Superuser
Message 4 of 4
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Letter from Virgin about spam - is F secure up to the job?

Sturan wrote:

Like I said, I am no super Techie so maybe my expectations were wrong.....but how can I know I have resolved the problem of spam emails being sent from this connection

How do I know I'm safe?

If you have followed the above advice & have rescanned your device and found it to be clean, you can be confident that you have resolved the issue. …

source: Virgin Media Help - Home network SPAM alert

All Replies
Superuser
Superuser
Message 2 of 4
Flag for a moderator

Sturan wrote:

So I receive a letter today stating that my internet connection is the source of spam emails. I know I receive loads of them and just delete them. I have done all the scans and checked mail forwarding however a friend advised of a malware app that will identify and remove malware.

If you are referring to Malwarebytes then AFAIK prior to release 3.0 it was a remediation tool designed to run alongside antivirus programs as and when needed however that changed with the release of 3.0, read more here: Announcing Malwarebytes 3.0, a next-generation antivirus replacement