Menu
rodbrown1949
Dialled in
Message 1 of 5
Flag for a moderator

F-Secure Network Protection App Does not Appear to be protecting my confidential data! Can anyone help?

I have a number of devices on my local home network, including an Android phone, a Windows 10 laptop and a Chromebook with Chrome os. I downloaded the free F-Secure suite of apps to protect my network and devices whilst browsing the internet and, I thought,   protect me from viruses and trojans.

Last week a pop up message informed me that my confidential data (passwords and debit card / banking details had been breached and my Chromebook was frozen by Windows security, until I called a number and got the problem resolved. I'm not sure if I have been scammed, especially as I was not working on Windows, but Chrome os, but I could do nothing with the chromebook anyway, as it was definitely frozen, and I could not get out of the pop up, so I called them. I'm not technical enough to fully understand what caused the problem, but I was told that F-Secure would not have prevented it as I may have clicked a link in a message and caused the problem myself (I know I never do this)!

The crowd I phoned offered to fix it and further protect me for another year for £120. After some hassle, they eventually agreed to accept £50 to fix and protect my network for 3 months. I reluctantly agreed as I believed I had no other choice. He could not fix the problem on my chromebook as he was not familiar with Chrome os, so I logged on to my Windows 10 laptop and we went through a number of procedures until he fixed the problem. He did not take any debit card or banking details, but agreed to take payment through my PayPal account, (where I know my banking details are protected and my purchase is also potentially protected) ..........everything was fine until today!

My Chromebook froze again with a message to call an american toll free number Who wanted to remove a Trojan and fix my m/c for $99. I refused and hung up.