Menu
ChrisEdin82
Joining in
Message 1 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Virgin Fibre Keeps Dropping

I have had virgin 100mb fibre for the past two months and pretty much every second day or so my internet connection drops off and I have to reset my router, this does not always resolve the issue, in fact 99% of the time it doesn't help. If i wait an hour or so then my internet connection can come back on its own.

I work as a computer network technician so have done all the usual tests and can only conclude that either my router is faulty or the line is faulty. How can I get someone to check my line and resolve this? I can't have my internet cut off in the middle of a conference call and be down for an hour at a time every other day.
0 Kudos
Superuser
Superuser
Message 2 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: Virgin Fibre Keeps Dropping

The first thing to say that as a computer tech you should know that it is not sensible to rely on a VM residential service for business purposes, especially as you seem to need the service for mission critical applications. If you are using it exclusively for business then you are breach of the terms and conditions of service. VM offers no guarantees of service up-time or service repair times for its residential service. VM Business services offer both.

If you have checked the connections inside the house then there may be an issue in the external cabling or the wider external network.

The common cause of issues like this are SNR faults or power levels. Follow this advice and post details:

Go to 192.168.0.1 - there's no need to log in. In the Superhubs 1 2 and 2ac click the button in the top right corner. If it is the hub 3 click the link underneath the sign in. Post the stats from Downstream and Upstream. Someone who knows will look for you. Don't worry about the power levels

You can wait for a Forum Team member to pick this up and run the test for you but that may take a few days.