Menu
Reply
Highlighted
Tuning in
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: 3 weeks ago
Message 1 of 16 (1,019 Views)

To Hub 3 or NOT to Hub 3 that is my question

Hello all first post on and I would like to ask a question.

I have been rooting and reading the pages to try and get some understanding of the various VM hub/modems.

I am on a SH2a but have had a Hub3 sat in its box since January. I am an "if it aint broke type " but I have read about the advantages of the Hub3.

I run a router on a Hub 2a in modem mode and my only probs have been big SLLLLOOOOWWWW downs and daily the service just stops for up to a minute at a time. Very frustrating.

Should I proceed and get this Hub 3 installed or NOT ..... I see lots of probs peeps have been having with the Hub 3.0.

TIA  Rod

 

 

Reply
0 Kudos

Accepted Solutions
Fibre optic
  • 338
  • 17
  • 126
Registered: ‎31-07-2015
Message 2 of 16 (2,017 Views)
Helpful Answer
confirmed by Rodrosssuk
3 weeks ago

Re: To Hub 3 or NOT to Hub 3 that is my question

Hub 3 won't fix problems you have with your local cabling and/or/congestion. Not to the noticeable extent anyway.

It has no advantages whatsoever, unless you are after speeds above 200mbps.

 

See where this Helpful Answer was posted

Super solver
  • 1.61K
  • 141
  • 436
Registered: ‎30-01-2015
Message 3 of 16 (2,008 Views)
Helpful Answer
confirmed by Rodrosssuk
3 weeks ago

Re: To Hub 3 or NOT to Hub 3 that is my question

The hub 2a is by far the best hub to date, leave the 3 in its box.

Wired or wireless? Do you get these problems all the time or is it just at peak times, evenings, weekends?

See where this Helpful Answer was posted


All Replies
Fibre optic
  • 338
  • 17
  • 126
Registered: ‎31-07-2015
Message 2 of 16 (2,018 Views)
Helpful Answer
confirmed by Rodrosssuk
3 weeks ago

Re: To Hub 3 or NOT to Hub 3 that is my question

Hub 3 won't fix problems you have with your local cabling and/or/congestion. Not to the noticeable extent anyway.

It has no advantages whatsoever, unless you are after speeds above 200mbps.

 

Super solver
  • 1.61K
  • 141
  • 436
Registered: ‎30-01-2015
Message 3 of 16 (2,009 Views)
Helpful Answer
confirmed by Rodrosssuk
3 weeks ago

Re: To Hub 3 or NOT to Hub 3 that is my question

The hub 2a is by far the best hub to date, leave the 3 in its box.

Wired or wireless? Do you get these problems all the time or is it just at peak times, evenings, weekends?

Tuning in
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: 3 weeks ago
Message 4 of 16 (994 Views)

Re: To Hub 3 or NOT to Hub 3 that is my question

I am half wired and half wireless ........  Xbox , Big Telly and  2  Home Clouds are wired  everything else is wireless.

Slow downs are predictably late afternoon through to early evening.  The 30 second service "Shut Offs"  are completely random but extremely frustrating as I listen to Internet Radio Steams and Podcasts most of the day and night.

I am tempted to have a go with the Hub 3.0  if I could be reassured that I could revert back to the SH2A if things do not work out.

Also I have recently started using a paid VPN service to avoid the tracking and polling which had reached such a ridiculous level and any sense of confidentiality or privacy  had disappeared long ago. 

Many thanks for your prompt replies and advice .... much appreciated

regs rod 

 

 

 

Reply
0 Kudos
Super solver
  • 1.61K
  • 141
  • 436
Registered: ‎30-01-2015
Message 5 of 16 (974 Views)

Re: To Hub 3 or NOT to Hub 3 that is my question

Post hub power levels and logs to see if there's anything obvious.

Reply
0 Kudos
Tuning in
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: 3 weeks ago
Message 6 of 16 (951 Views)

Re: To Hub 3 or NOT to Hub 3 that is my question

Below is all the data / info I could squeeze out of my SH2a .........  Would some kind person give it all a  look-see and let me know what it is saying .  Many thanks in advance .  regs rod   

Information

Cable Modem

EuroDOCSIS 3.0 Compliant

Serial Number

48314CWS14C0F

Boot Code Version

PSPU-Boot 1.0.20.1391

Software Version

V2.01.12

Hardware Version

1.03

CA Key

Installed

Cable Modem Status

Item

Status

Comments

Acquired Downstream Channel (Hz)

266750000

Locked

Ranged Upstream Channel (Hz)

39400000

Success

Provisioning State

OK

Operational

Downstream

 

DS-1

DS-2

DS-3

DS-4

DS-5

DS-6

DS-7

DS-8

Frequency (Hz)

266750000

234750000

242750000

250750000

258750000

274750000

282750000

290750000

Lock Status(QAM Lock/FEC Sync/MPEG Lock)

Locked

Locked

Locked

Locked

Locked

Locked

Locked

Locked

Channel ID

29

25

26

27

28

30

31

32

Modulation

256QAM

256QAM

256QAM

256QAM

256QAM

256QAM

256QAM

256QAM

Symbol Rate (Msym/sec)

6.952000

6.952000

6.952000

6.952000

6.952000

6.952000

6.952000

6.952000

Interleave Depth

I=12
J=17

I=12
J=17

I=12
J=17

I=12
J=17

I=12
J=17

I=12
J=17

I=12
J=17

I=12
J=17

Power Level (dBmV)

3.92

3.85

4.17

4.03

3.83

3.64

3.37

3.09

RxMER (dB)

37.36

36.84

37.09

37.09

37.64

37.94

37.36

37.09

Pre RS Errors

2776

15048

2519

1600

285

297

318

293

Post RS Errors

291

289

295

295

283

294

315

289

Upstream

 

US-1

US-2

US-3

US-4

Channel Type

2.0

2.0

N/A

N/A

Channel ID

2

1

N/A

N/A

Frequency (Hz)

39400000

46200000

N/A

N/A

Ranging Status

Success

Success

Other

Other

Modulation

16QAM

16QAM

N/A

N/A

Symbol Rate (Sym/sec)

5120000

5120000

N/A

N/A

Mini-Slot Size

4

4

N/A

N/A

Power Level (dBmV)

45.75

46.25

N/A

N/A

T1 Timeouts

0

0

0

0

T2 Timeouts

0

0

0

0

T3 Timeouts

0

0

0

0

T4 Timeouts

0

0

0

0

Upstream Burst

 

Req
(1)

Init Maint
(3)

Per Maint
(4)

Adv Short
(9)

Adv Long
(10)

Adv UGS
(11)

Modulation Type

QPSK

QPSK

QPSK

16QAM

16QAM

16QAM

Differential Encoding

OFF

OFF

OFF

OFF

OFF

OFF

Preamble Length

56

384

384

96

104

104

Preamble Value Offset

396

6

6

1028

1028

1028

FEC Error Correction (T)

0

0

0

6

8

8

FEC Codeword Information Bytes (K)

16

34

34

150

236

236

Maximum Burst Size

0

0

0

3

0

0

Guard Time Size

8

48

48

8

8

8

Last Codeword Length

Fixed

Fixed

Fixed

Shortened

Shortened

Shortened

Scrambler On/Off

ON

ON

ON

ON

ON

ON

General Configuration

Network Access

Allowed

Maximum Number of CPEs

1

Baseline Privacy

Enabled

DOCSIS Mode

EuroDOCSIS 3.0

Config File

 
                      

 

Primary Downstream Service Flow

SFID

31733

Max Traffic Rate

172500000 bps

Max Traffic Burst

42600 bytes

Min Traffic Rate

0 bps

 

Primary Upstream Service Flow

SFID

31697

Max Traffic Rate

10500000 bps

Max Traffic Burst

16320 bytes

Min Traffic Rate

0 bps

Max Concatenated Burst

16320 bytes

Scheduling Type

Best Effort

 
 
Reply
0 Kudos
Tuning in
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: 3 weeks ago
Message 7 of 16 (948 Views)

Re: To Hub 3 or NOT to Hub 3 that is my question

ALSO 

Network Log

First Time

Last Time

Priority

Error Number

Description

01/09/2017 13:35:51 GMT

01/09/2017 13:35:51 GMT

Error (4)

68000407

TOD established

Time Not Established

Time Not Established

Notice (6)

84000510

Downstream Locked Successfully

30/08/2017 03:22:55 GMT

30/08/2017 03:22:55 GMT

Error (4)

68000407

TOD established

30/08/2017 03:22:44 GMT

30/08/2017 03:22:44 GMT

Notice (6)

84000510

Downstream Locked Successfully

30/08/2017 03:22:15 GMT

30/08/2017 03:22:15 GMT

Critical (3)

82000400

Received Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out

30/08/2017 03:21:15 GMT

30/08/2017 03:21:15 GMT

Critical (3)

82000400

Received Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out

30/08/2017 03:20:15 GMT

30/08/2017 03:20:15 GMT

Critical (3)

82000400

Received Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out

30/08/2017 03:19:15 GMT

30/08/2017 03:19:15 GMT

Critical (3)

82000400

Received Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out

30/08/2017 03:18:15 GMT

30/08/2017 03:18:15 GMT

Critical (3)

82000400

Received Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out

30/08/2017 03:17:15 GMT

30/08/2017 03:17:15 GMT

Critical (3)

82000400

Received Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out

30/08/2017 03:16:15 GMT

30/08/2017 03:16:15 GMT

Critical (3)

82000400

Received Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out

30/08/2017 03:15:34 GMT

30/08/2017 03:15:34 GMT

Error (4)

67070100

DBC-ACK not received

30/08/2017 03:15:32 GMT

30/08/2017 03:15:32 GMT

Warning (5)

85010200

TCS Partial Service

30/08/2017 03:14:40 GMT

30/08/2017 03:14:40 GMT

Error (4)

68000407

TOD established

30/08/2017 03:14:29 GMT

30/08/2017 03:14:29 GMT

Notice (6)

84000510

Downstream Locked Successfully

30/08/2017 03:13:59 GMT

30/08/2017 03:13:59 GMT

Critical (3)

82000400

Received Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out

30/08/2017 03:12:59 GMT

30/08/2017 03:12:59 GMT

Critical (3)

82000400

Received Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out

30/08/2017 03:11:59 GMT

30/08/2017 03:11:59 GMT

Critical (3)

82000400

Received Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out

30/08/2017 03:10:59 GMT

30/08/2017 03:10:59 GMT

Critical (3)

82000400

Received Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out

30/08/2017 03:09:59 GMT

30/08/2017 03:09:59 GMT

Critical (3)

82000400

Received Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out

Reply
0 Kudos
Super solver
  • 1.61K
  • 141
  • 436
Registered: ‎30-01-2015
Message 8 of 16 (941 Views)

Re: To Hub 3 or NOT to Hub 3 that is my question

[ Edited ]

All looks OK. Was worth a look just in case.

Edit: Posted that before you posted the logs.

The T4 errors are where the modem re-starts and TCS partial service means there's been a problem where all the channels don't lock.

Tuning in
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: 3 weeks ago
Message 9 of 16 (839 Views)

Re: To Hub 3 or NOT to Hub 3 that is my question

Many t'anks !
Reply
0 Kudos
Tuning in
  • 8
  • 1
  • 2
Registered: ‎14-11-2016
Message 10 of 16 (652 Views)

Re: To Hub 3 or NOT to Hub 3 that is my question

The hub 3 will use all the bonded downstreams, some areas have more than 8 d/s. SH2 may not use all the d/s available. more d/s =  more speed. swap it out.









VM Engineer
Running Hitron CGN4-BIZ 350mb Static
Reply
0 Kudos