Menu
Reply
  • 29
  • 0
  • 1
Madpanda
On our wavelength
214 Views
Message 1 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Rebooting

Hi there

I was wondering how often you have to reboot your router?

At the moment im rebooting mine every 5-7 days if im lucky. Is this normal? Is it my router? Or is there a problem in the ts10 area.

Thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 463
  • 62
  • 135
backtothefuture
Fibre optic
211 Views
Message 2 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Re: Rebooting

There shouldn't be a need to regularly reboot your router.  This should be the exception rather than the norm.

Most people wouldn't need to reboot their router for many months.  In fact I've had routers in the past that I haven't rebooted for probably around a year or so.

Why are you having to reboot your router? - Do you lose internet connection and that is the only way to get it back up and running ?

-

If I have helped please feel free to give 'Kudos' by clicking on the thumbs up icon against any of my posts. If I have helped to solve an issue you can also click on the 'Mark As Helpful Answer' link to mark it as helpful.
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 29
  • 0
  • 1
Madpanda
On our wavelength
208 Views
Message 3 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Re: Rebooting

Hi. Yes my internet connection goes off altogether both wireless and wired.
Ive had alot of problems the last few yrs with internet and tv. I gave up on tv and went elsewhere but virgin supposed to be s#*t hot with Internet but it doesn't seem so
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 463
  • 62
  • 135
backtothefuture
Fibre optic
206 Views
Message 4 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Re: Rebooting

Has your Superhub been replaced in the last few years (as I notice you said you have been having issues for a few years) ?

You may have a faulty Superhub and it may just need to be replaced to fix all of your problems.

-

If I have helped please feel free to give 'Kudos' by clicking on the thumbs up icon against any of my posts. If I have helped to solve an issue you can also click on the 'Mark As Helpful Answer' link to mark it as helpful.
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 29
  • 0
  • 1
Madpanda
On our wavelength
201 Views
Message 5 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Re: Rebooting

Yes im sure i have hun. I do know i have had a engineer out a few times too and thats when i got a new hub
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 29
  • 0
  • 1
Madpanda
On our wavelength
168 Views
Message 6 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Re: Rebooting

PLEASE someone help. Its doing my head in now. Rebooted Thursday and yet AGAIN today (sunday). The connection keeps dropping out and have to constantly reboot the router. Is this a fault with the internet or just my box? 

Already disconnected the tv coz of spooks n ghosts with the tv box. Constant problems with internet and had engineer out a fair few times. Maybe its times to get rid of the internet too.

Come on virgin what are you playing at fgs?????

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 3.88K
  • 120
  • 203
Forum Team (Retired) Adam_L
Forum Team (Retired)
157 Views
Message 7 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Re: Rebooting

Hi Madpanda, 

Thanks for getting in touch to let us know about your issues with your broadband connection, I apologise for any inconvenience caused.

I have tested the connection from here and everything looks great! No errors or time outs inside the Hubs logs and all of your power levels are within the preferred ranges.

Are you still having these issues? If so, how are you connected wired or wireless?

Have you tried changing the wireless channels to see if that helps things?

Also, when your connection drops is there any noticeable change to the Hubs light sequence?

Would you also include a recent copy of your Hubs logs in your response for me to compare with the data we have here. You can find these by opening your internet browser and typing 192.168.0.1 into the address bar. Before logging in, it will say 'Router Status' click there and all the information needed is inside.

Take care, 

Thanks, 

Adam.


Tech fan? Have you read our Digital life blog yet? Check it out


0 Kudos
Reply
  • 29
  • 0
  • 1
Madpanda
On our wavelength
152 Views
Message 8 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Re: Rebooting

hi Adam_L

not a clue about changing wireless channels im afraid. The lights on router seem to get stuck then flash as and when they like. we are both wired and wireless. we ended up putting a hole in the wall for a lead to connect pc/xbox wired.

not sure what info you need but here is some of it from network log

13/03/2017 12:35:00 GMT 13/03/2017 12:35:00 GMT Error (4) 68010302 DHCP WAN IP - 82.16.*****
13/03/2017 12:34:26 GMT 13/03/2017 12:34:26 GMT Error (4) 68000407 TOD established
13/03/2017 12:34:17 GMT 13/03/2017 12:34:17 GMT Critical (3) 82000200 No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
13/03/2017 12:34:12 GMT 13/03/2017 12:34:12 GMT Notice (6) 84000510 Downstream Locked Successfully
13/03/2017 12:33:56 GMT 13/03/2017 12:33:56 GMT Error (4) 68000407 TOD established
Time Not Established Time Not Established Notice (6) 84000510 Downstream Locked Successfully
Time Not Established Time Not Established Warning (5) 84020300 MDD message timeout
Time Not Established Time Not Established Warning (5) 84020200 Lost MDD Timeout
Time Not Established Time Not Established Critical (3) 82000100 No Maintenance Broadcasts for Ranging opportunities received - T2 time-out
Time Not Established Time Not Established Critical (3) 84000500 SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync
Time Not Established Time Not Established Notice (6) 84000510 Downstream Locked Successfully
Time Not Established Time Not Established Warning (5) 84020300 MDD message timeout
Time Not Established Time Not Established Warning (5) 84020200 Lost MDD Timeout
Time Not Established Time Not Established Critical (3) 82000400 Received Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out
Time Not Established Time Not Established Warning (5) 68000401 ToD request sent - No Response received
Time Not Established Time Not Established Warning (5) 68000401 ToD request sent - No Response received
Time Not Established Time Not Established Warning (5) 84020200 Lost MDD Timeout
13/03/2017 12:28:13 GMT 13/03/2017 12:28:13 GMT Warning (5) 68000401 ToD request sent - No Response received
13/03/2017 12:28:12 GMT 13/03/2017 12:28:12 GMT Critical (3) 84000500 SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync
13/03/2017 12:28:12 GMT 13/03/2017 12:28:12 GMT Critical (3) 84000500

SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync

 

anything else you need i will try and get. thanks M

[MOD EDIT: For your security personal and private information (WAN IP) has been removed from this post. Please review the Forum Guidelines]

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 9.12K
  • 301
  • 981
Forum Team
Forum Team
126 Views
Message 9 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Re: Rebooting

Hello Madpanda

 

Thanks for getting back and posting the log, it looks like there may be a few problems and best we let an engineer take a look please.

I will send you a forum private message to arrange an appointment, please reply when you have a moment.

 

Thank you

Nicola

Virgin Media Forum Team
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 9.12K
  • 301
  • 981
Forum Team
Forum Team
122 Views
Message 10 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Re: Rebooting

Hello Madpanda

 

Thanks for getting back, engineer has been booked, please check your forum PM for details. Good luck with the visit and let us know how it goes in this thread if you have a moment please.

 

Thank you 

 

Nicola

Virgin Media Forum Team