Menu
Esme
Joining in
Message 1 of 12
Flag for a moderator

'New installation' but old cable?

I'm new to cable, and when two men turned up yesterday,unfortunately just as I was leaving, to say they'd be installing my connection 'up to the house front', and actually explained how they'd be running cable along the ground under my hedge in an armoured covering, that's what I expected (and still expect) to see when I got home hours later.

They pointed out that the house must have had a previous (NTL, they said) cable connection before my time (news to me), since the cable and the box (very battered) were still clinging, covered in cobwebs, dust and scraps of dried-up vegetation, to the wall.

As I drove away, they were indeed feeding miles of thick round black cable down under the pavement to get to the cabinet 60 or 70 meters away.

But when I got home, no new cable had been fitted from the pavement hole to my house at all (I inspected this very carefully).

Very disappointed with this, even before installation IN the house takes place on 14 Dec. Reason for using Virgin was that it's the only way, as far as I know, to get guaranteed 'FTTP', shiny new high-tech. cable as advertised by Virgin, right into the house. Ten- or fifteen-year-old cable will always leave me wondering. In fact I'm even considering cancelling unless it's replaced before in-house installation (and I'm now wondering how well THAT'S going to go).

Thanks

0 Kudos
Superuser
Superuser
Message 2 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: 'New installation' but old cable?

Firstly, what has been installed is high grade coax cable, not fibre. Excluding newly commissioned areas, all Virgin connections are HFC network (Hybrid Fibre Coax). Fibre goes to an optical node in a large street cabinet, which is then converted to RF over coax to feed between 500 - 2000 customers. So it is similar to FTTC (Fibre To Cabinet)