Menu
Reply
Superfast
  • 1.46K
  • 4
  • 18
Registered: ‎13-05-2011
Message 21 of 50 (230 Views)

Re: NOISE STILL ON THE NETWORK IN S6 AFTER 6 YEARS!

HI Tim

I've had loads of Pt visits all they do is check my cab and the cabling in the house they don't check the network i believe its coming from up the road and it will be the main cab cos the noise has got worse since they added more downstream channels.

Cheers
Shaun
Reply
0 Kudos
Forum Team
  • 8.49K
  • 259
  • 885
Registered: ‎05-12-2011
Message 22 of 50 (200 Views)

Re: NOISE STILL ON THE NETWORK IN S6 AFTER 6 YEARS!

[ Edited ]

Thanks Tim.

 

Hello Exoticcshot and Shaun

 

I am sorry you are still having problems with intermittent low DS SNR. I seem to recall Shaun that last year we spoke to the engineers about it, we monitored and observed that the low SNR only seemed to occur when area downstream traffic was maxed out, it looked liked it may have been symptomatic of this and because the extra impact would have been negligible it was decided to wait to see how the upgrade work progressed. As you have mentioned the downstream channels have increased and although overall downstream traffic is still breaking our thresholds it is certainly in a better place that it was. With this in mind it may well be time to revisit the downstream SNR issue. I think to begin please we would like to arrange another Principal Engineer visit, we will make sure they have all the information and take it from there. 

I will send you a PM to arrange an appointment, please reply when you have a moment.

 

Thank you

 

 

 

 

Nicola

Virgin Media Forum Team
Superfast
  • 1.46K
  • 4
  • 18
Registered: ‎13-05-2011
Message 23 of 50 (186 Views)

Re: NOISE STILL ON THE NETWORK IN S6 AFTER 6 YEARS!

Hi Nicola

Sorry but speeds are fine when I've gone back to mums and done speed tests it hits 110 meg all the time nearly plus noise on the network effect the speed to so do we not know that the noise is playing apart in the speeds looking bad at your end?

Clearly the noise which is on the network is coming from a cab up the road the other guy what kept posting on here too was getting noise and he lives on another road and connected to a different cab than my mums so someone needs to find where its coming from! Plus my mate what does live up the road was I'm sure problems too but it was hard to go and check his hub I asked him but he could never be bothered so I bet im right like last time when it took virgin to clear the other noise up and kept blaming me for calling them out and charged me for calling them out only if they went to other cabs in the area and checked everyone to find the noise it wouldn't have gone on for 3 years this is 6 years cos it never really got fixed fully.

Cheers
Shaun
Reply
0 Kudos
Forum Team
  • 8.49K
  • 259
  • 885
Registered: ‎05-12-2011
Message 24 of 50 (177 Views)

Re: NOISE STILL ON THE NETWORK IN S6 AFTER 6 YEARS!

Hello Shaun

 

Fully appreciate what you say, although the area is still breaking our traffic thresholds due to the work we have done so far the actual traffic is much lower. We will do our best with the SNR issue, I have just replied to your brother's PM.

 

Thank you for your help and patience

Nicola

Virgin Media Forum Team
Reply
0 Kudos
Superfast
  • 1.46K
  • 4
  • 18
Registered: ‎13-05-2011
Message 25 of 50 (174 Views)

Re: NOISE STILL ON THE NETWORK IN S6 AFTER 6 YEARS!

Hi NIcola

Thanks. The noise is the main problem for the dropping of the low SNR find that and fix it the SNR will be alot better

Is this Saturday booked up? I've ask my brother to ring me when he comes if its Pt it should be chris I'm working till 12 so I can talk to him about it if he's not upto speed with things.

Cheers
Shaun
Reply
0 Kudos
Forum Team
  • 8.49K
  • 259
  • 885
Registered: ‎05-12-2011
Message 26 of 50 (170 Views)

Re: NOISE STILL ON THE NETWORK IN S6 AFTER 6 YEARS!

Hello Shaun

 

Appreciate your help, all busy this Saturday I am afraid, once you have had a chat with your brother please reply to my latest PM to him and we will happily take it from there.

 

Thank you

 

 

Nicola

Virgin Media Forum Team
Reply
0 Kudos
Tuning in
  • 25
  • 0
  • 2
Registered: ‎19-12-2016
Message 27 of 50 (155 Views)

Re: NOISE STILL ON THE NETWORK IN S6 AFTER 6 YEARS!

{
"1.3.6.1.2.1.10.127.1.1.4.1.4.3":"46039",
"1.3.6.1.2.1.10.127.1.1.4.1.4.48":"25118",
"1.3.6.1.2.1.10.127.1.1.4.1.4.49":"31831",
"1.3.6.1.2.1.10.127.1.1.4.1.4.50":"37573",
"1.3.6.1.2.1.10.127.1.1.4.1.4.51":"57444",
"1.3.6.1.2.1.10.127.1.1.4.1.4.52":"64123",
"1.3.6.1.2.1.10.127.1.1.4.1.4.53":"75285",
"1.3.6.1.2.1.10.127.1.1.4.1.4.54":"90416",
"1.3.6.1.2.1.10.127.1.1.4.1.4.55":"104050",
"1.3.6.1.2.1.10.127.1.1.4.1.4.56":"120610",
"1.3.6.1.2.1.10.127.1.1.4.1.4.57":"138265",
"1.3.6.1.2.1.10.127.1.1.4.1.4.58":"156682",
"1.3.6.1.2.1.10.127.1.1.4.1.4.59":"176141",
"1.3.6.1.2.1.10.127.1.1.4.1.4.60":"196619",
"1.3.6.1.2.1.10.127.1.1.4.1.4.61":"213173",
"1.3.6.1.2.1.10.127.1.1.4.1.4.62":"231381",
"1.3.6.1.2.1.10.127.1.1.4.1.4.63":"247016",
"1.3.6.1.2.1.10.127.1.1.4.1.4.64":"260379",
"1.3.6.1.2.1.10.127.1.1.4.1.4.65":"275208",
"1.3.6.1.2.1.10.127.1.1.4.1.4.66":"292666",
"1.3.6.1.2.1.10.127.1.1.4.1.4.67":"308345",
"1.3.6.1.2.1.10.127.1.1.4.1.4.68":"323715",
"1.3.6.1.2.1.10.127.1.1.4.1.4.69":"334391",
"1.3.6.1.2.1.10.127.1.1.4.1.4.70":"340887",
"1":"Finish"
}
Reply
0 Kudos
Superuser
  • 12.62K
  • 632
  • 4.19K
Registered: ‎01-11-2009
Message 28 of 50 (149 Views)

Re: NOISE STILL ON THE NETWORK IN S6 AFTER 6 YEARS!


Exoticcshot wrote:
{
"1.3.6.1.2.1.10.127.1.1.4.1.4.3":"46039",
"1.3.6.1.2.1.10.127.1.1.4.1.4.48":"25118",
"1.3.6.1.2.1.10.127.1.1.4.1.4.49":"31831",
"1.3.6.1.2.1.10.127.1.1.4.1.4.50":"37573",
"1.3.6.1.2.1.10.127.1.1.4.1.4.51":"57444",
"1.3.6.1.2.1.10.127.1.1.4.1.4.52":"64123",
"1.3.6.1.2.1.10.127.1.1.4.1.4.53":"75285",
"1.3.6.1.2.1.10.127.1.1.4.1.4.54":"90416",
"1.3.6.1.2.1.10.127.1.1.4.1.4.55":"104050",
"1.3.6.1.2.1.10.127.1.1.4.1.4.56":"120610",
"1.3.6.1.2.1.10.127.1.1.4.1.4.57":"138265",
"1.3.6.1.2.1.10.127.1.1.4.1.4.58":"156682",
"1.3.6.1.2.1.10.127.1.1.4.1.4.59":"176141",
"1.3.6.1.2.1.10.127.1.1.4.1.4.60":"196619",
"1.3.6.1.2.1.10.127.1.1.4.1.4.61":"213173",
"1.3.6.1.2.1.10.127.1.1.4.1.4.62":"231381",
"1.3.6.1.2.1.10.127.1.1.4.1.4.63":"247016",
"1.3.6.1.2.1.10.127.1.1.4.1.4.64":"260379",
"1.3.6.1.2.1.10.127.1.1.4.1.4.65":"275208",
"1.3.6.1.2.1.10.127.1.1.4.1.4.66":"292666",
"1.3.6.1.2.1.10.127.1.1.4.1.4.67":"308345",
"1.3.6.1.2.1.10.127.1.1.4.1.4.68":"323715",
"1.3.6.1.2.1.10.127.1.1.4.1.4.69":"334391",
"1.3.6.1.2.1.10.127.1.1.4.1.4.70":"340887",
"1":"Finish"
}

It' helps to post the SNR as well.

________________________________________


Only use Helpful answer if your problems been solved.

Reply
0 Kudos
Superfast
  • 1.46K
  • 4
  • 18
Registered: ‎13-05-2011
Message 29 of 50 (131 Views)

Re: NOISE STILL ON THE NETWORK IN S6 AFTER 6 YEARS!

Hi Tim

SNR has of 2pm

Downstream bonded channels Channel Frequency(Hz) Power
(dBmV) SNR
(dB) Modulation Channel ID

1299000000-2.437.6256 qam21
2323000000-2.737.3256 qam24
3315000000-2.237.6256 qam23
4307000000-2.238.6256 qam22
5291000000-3.437.6256 qam20
6283000000-2.937.3256 qam19
7275000000-1.438.6256 qam18
8267000000-138.6256 qam17
9259000000-1.238.6256 qam16
10251000000-138.6256 qam15
11243000000-137.6256 qam14
12235000000-1.237.6256 qam13
13227000000-1.237.6256 qam12
14219000000-1.237.3256 qam11
15211000000-137.6256 qam10
16203000000-137.6256 qam9
17195000000-1.237.6256 qam8
18187000000-1.237.6256 qam7
19179000000-1.237.3256 qam6
20171000000-1.237.6256 qam5
21163000000-1.537.6256 qam4
22155000000-1.537.6256 qam3
23147000000-237.3256 qam2
24139000000-1.537.6256 qam1

 

Upstream bonded channels Channel ID Frequency(Hz) Mode Power
(dBmV) Modulation Channel Bandwidth(Hz) Symbol Rate (ksps)

425800000ATDMA42.516 qam64000005120
332600000ATDMA42.516 qam64000005120

 

cheers

shaun

Reply
0 Kudos
Tuning in
  • 25
  • 0
  • 2
Registered: ‎19-12-2016
Message 30 of 50 (105 Views)

Re: NOISE STILL ON THE NETWORK IN S6 AFTER 6 YEARS!

Hello Nicola

yesterday i popped round to my mums and took off the 10db forward path attenuator and put a 6db and checked the post rs and they was zero so ive come back to day and checked the post rs errors and they was still zero so turned hub off waited 5 mins and turned it back on and this is what ive got.

"1.3.6.1.2.1.10.127.1.1.4.1.4.3":"0",
"1.3.6.1.2.1.10.127.1.1.4.1.4.48":"0",
"1.3.6.1.2.1.10.127.1.1.4.1.4.49":"0",
"1.3.6.1.2.1.10.127.1.1.4.1.4.50":"0",
"1.3.6.1.2.1.10.127.1.1.4.1.4.51":"0",
"1.3.6.1.2.1.10.127.1.1.4.1.4.52":"0",
"1.3.6.1.2.1.10.127.1.1.4.1.4.53":"0",
"1.3.6.1.2.1.10.127.1.1.4.1.4.54":"0",
"1.3.6.1.2.1.10.127.1.1.4.1.4.55":"0",
"1.3.6.1.2.1.10.127.1.1.4.1.4.56":"0",
"1.3.6.1.2.1.10.127.1.1.4.1.4.57":"0",
"1.3.6.1.2.1.10.127.1.1.4.1.4.58":"0",
"1.3.6.1.2.1.10.127.1.1.4.1.4.59":"0",
"1.3.6.1.2.1.10.127.1.1.4.1.4.60":"0",
"1.3.6.1.2.1.10.127.1.1.4.1.4.61":"0",
"1.3.6.1.2.1.10.127.1.1.4.1.4.62":"0",
"1.3.6.1.2.1.10.127.1.1.4.1.4.63":"193",
"1.3.6.1.2.1.10.127.1.1.4.1.4.64":"0",
"1.3.6.1.2.1.10.127.1.1.4.1.4.65":"0",
"1.3.6.1.2.1.10.127.1.1.4.1.4.66":"0",
"1.3.6.1.2.1.10.127.1.1.4.1.4.67":"0",
"1.3.6.1.2.1.10.127.1.1.4.1.4.68":"0",
"1.3.6.1.2.1.10.127.1.1.4.1.4.69":"0",
"1.3.6.1.2.1.10.127.1.1.4.1.4.70":"0",
"1":"Finish"
}

 

one channel has noise

 

Downstream bonded channels Channel Frequency(Hz) Power
(dBmV) SNR
(dB) Modulation Channel ID

12990000001.236.6256 qam21
23230000000.736.3256 qam24
33150000001.537.3256 qam23
43070000001.537.3256 qam22
52910000000.436.6256 qam20
62830000000.536.3256 qam19
72750000002.437.6256 qam18
82670000002.537.3256 qam17
92590000002.537.3256 qam16
102510000002.237.3256 qam15
112430000002.237.3256 qam14
12235000000237.3256 qam13
13227000000236.3256 qam12
142190000001.936.3256 qam11
152110000002.236.6256 qam10
16203000000236.6256 qam9
17195000000236.6256 qam8
181870000002.236.3256 qam7
191790000001.736.3256 qam6
20171000000236.3256 qam5
211630000001.536.3256 qam4
221550000001.535.7256 qam3
231470000000.935.5256 qam2
241390000000.735.7256 qam1

 

Upstream bonded channels Channel ID Frequency(Hz) Mode Power
(dBmV) Modulation Channel Bandwidth(Hz) Symbol Rate (ksps)

425800000ATDMA43.516 qam64000005120
332600000ATDMA43.516 qam64000005120

 

so what we saying is there noise coming from somewhere or what? or has someone been out and found the problem?

ill check back later with the post rs errors to see if they gone up.

cheers

shaun

 

Reply
0 Kudos