Menu
Reply
Highlighted
Tuning in
  • 43
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎21-04-2011
Message 1 of 7 (543 Views)

Moving my router into the loft

[ Edited ]

I want to move my router into the loft from a downstairs room. Running the cable from the box outside, up the side of the house and into the loft. What kind of cable do i use? 

thx 

EDIT: im on fibre 200

Reply
0 Kudos

Accepted Solutions
Fibre optic
  • 338
  • 17
  • 126
Registered: ‎31-07-2015
Message 2 of 7 (1,048 Views)
Helpful Answer
confirmed by kezzaman
3 weeks ago

Re: Moving my router into the loft

You are not allowed to do alterations to coax cable yourself. You need to book engineer to do this for you and rebalance check the local cables properly, and this will cost you unless you are calling out to install some new service.

That's why people are usually leaving router where it is, and instead run Ethernet cables to it (this you can do it yourself, usual Cat 6 cable will do).

 

See where this Helpful Answer was posted


All Replies
Fibre optic
  • 338
  • 17
  • 126
Registered: ‎31-07-2015
Message 2 of 7 (1,049 Views)
Helpful Answer
confirmed by kezzaman
3 weeks ago

Re: Moving my router into the loft

You are not allowed to do alterations to coax cable yourself. You need to book engineer to do this for you and rebalance check the local cables properly, and this will cost you unless you are calling out to install some new service.

That's why people are usually leaving router where it is, and instead run Ethernet cables to it (this you can do it yourself, usual Cat 6 cable will do).

 

Superuser
  • 15.58K
  • 1.27K
  • 3.12K
Registered: ‎08-06-2010
Message 3 of 7 (525 Views)

Re: Moving my router into the loft

The standard fee for relocation is £99 as riding the flow said possible run Ethernet cable into loft and attach a switch this will give you mutli Ethernet ports and wireless a decent access point is around £50
----------------------------------------------------------
If someone's helped you out say thanks by clicking on the thumbs up. If someone's solved your problem, why not mark their message as an Accepted Solution
Reply
0 Kudos
Tuning in
  • 43
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎21-04-2011
Message 4 of 7 (513 Views)

Re: Moving my router into the loft

thx for the info

Reply
0 Kudos
Well-informed
  • 954
  • 76
  • 240
Registered: ‎22-02-2017
Message 5 of 7 (501 Views)

Re: Moving my router into the loft

I know BT and Sky will not work in lofts for health and safety reasons. I would guess Virgin Media would be the same. Ethernet to your loft sounds the best bet.
Reply
0 Kudos
Dialled in
  • 83
  • 2
  • 9
Registered: ‎02-02-2014
Message 6 of 7 (441 Views)

Re: Moving my router into the loft

Why do you want to move your router into the loft? If it's to provide better WiFi to the first floor, you can instead install an access point or perhaps a WiFi range extender or HomePlug.

Reply
0 Kudos
Well-informed
  • 954
  • 76
  • 240
Registered: ‎22-02-2017
Message 7 of 7 (254 Views)

Re: Moving my router into the loft

Lofts can be subject to extreme temperature and humidity variation so not the best environment for most electronics.
Reply
0 Kudos