Menu
Reply
  • 12
  • 0
  • 0
Gilreth
Joining in
1,320 Views
Message 1 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Lost MDD Timeout errors

Getting lots of  Lost MDD Timeout error 84020200 on the router.

Just cleared the log and latest refreshed 3 minutes ago: Previous to this had a screen full of errors at 14:14-14:15

01/01/2017 14:50:48 GMT01/01/2017 14:50:48 GMTWarning (5)84020200Lost MDD Timeout
01/01/2017 14:50:36 GMT01/01/2017 14:50:36 GMTWarning (5)84020200Lost MDD Timeout
01/01/2017 14:50:12 GMT01/01/2017 14:50:12 GMTWarning (5)84020200Lost MDD Timeout

 

Downstream:

DS-1DS-2DS-3DS-4DS-5DS-6DS-7DS-8
Frequency (Hz)211000000171000000179000000187000000195000000203000000219000000227000000
Lock Status(QAM Lock/FEC Sync/MPEG Lock)LockedLockedLockedLockedLockedLockedLockedLocked
Channel ID61234578
Modulation256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM
Symbol Rate (Msym/sec)6.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.952000
Interleave DepthI=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
Power Level (dBmV)3.050.821.562.282.113.112.903.25
RxMER (dB)35.0834.0833.9634.4834.7735.0824.2531.54
Pre RS Errors356679942814092111459708331725504731235988551157602231062400665
Post RS Errors63328247861067422573109520446

 

Upstream:

  US-1 US-2 US-3 US-4

Channel TypeN/AN/A2.02.0
Channel IDN/AN/A34
Frequency (Hz)N/AN/A3260000025800000
Ranging StatusOtherOtherSuccessSuccess
ModulationN/AN/A16QAM16QAM
Symbol Rate (Sym/sec)N/AN/A51200005120000
Mini-Slot SizeN/AN/A44
Power Level (dBmV)N/AN/A41.5041.25
T1 Timeouts0000
T2 Timeouts0000
T3 Timeouts0000
T4 Timeouts0000
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 2.62K
  • 209
  • 797
Dave_cq
Trouble shooter
1,308 Views
Message 2 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Lost MDD Timeout errors

Looks like a Signal to Noise issue.   All of these should be more than 34.5 and they are not ...

RxMER (dB)  35.08   34.08   33.96   34.48   34.77   35.08   24.25   31.54

 

It looks like you have a noisy connection which will require an engineer's visit to sort out.

 

********* SuperHub 2ac - Asus rt-ac68u Router - Vivid 100Mbps **********

Electron
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 12
  • 0
  • 0
Gilreth
Joining in
1,296 Views
Message 3 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Lost MDD Timeout errors

Thanks - I did wander about the SNR given the number of errors we are experiencing on the links but was not able to discover the value it should be. Just looked now and DS-7 is not able to lock-on at all and the others are all running at less than 34.5dB SNR so I shall be contacting Virgin in the morning. Have reset router, reseated cables and done as much as I can from my end already (electronic engineer with telecoms specialism so have a good idea of things). We are on an original cable link from when cable first became available on the street - 1998/9 from memory. Suspect noise is getting in somewhere so could be an interesting investigation - we have been having wireless Internet blips all Christmas - wired network more robust to the slight blips it appears but I know getting nasty lag in online gaming on wired PCs - friend on Minecraft server currently getting horrendous lag at points.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 12
  • 0
  • 0
Gilreth
Joining in
1,270 Views
Message 4 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Lost MDD Timeout errors

Just as an update got a ping monitor running - live graph:

My Broadband Ping

 My Broadband Ping - Home

Interestingly had a bad day on Saturday which corresponds to a lot of MDD Timeouts on the router.

My Broadband Ping - Home

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 5.32K
  • 169
  • 353
Moderator
Moderator
1,249 Views
Message 5 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Lost MDD Timeout errors

Hi Gilreth,

 

I'm sorry for the lost MDD timeouts you're seeing at the moment and that these seem to be causing the blips you've noticed with your connection.

 

I can see how bad things were from Saturday's BQM graph, though the live graph looks OK for the past 24 hours with no obvious dropped packets anywhere. I've tested your hub and network segment and both are currently looking OK as well.

 

How are things running currently? Could you post updated downstream stats please so we can see what the Post RS errors are looking like now, as some of these were very high when you first posted. It might also be worth resetting the error counters to see if these are increasing drastically.

 

Catch you soon.

 

Kev

The do's and don'ts. Keep the community welcoming for all. Follow the house rules


0 Kudos
Reply
  • 12
  • 0
  • 0
Gilreth
Joining in
1,248 Views
Message 6 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Lost MDD Timeout errors

Downstream now:

Worth noting I reset error counters on Sunday from memory - and the SNR figures were higher the last time I checked on Tuesday but seem to be dropping again which is what happens every time we reset the router which we have to do pretty frequently - at least once a week and sometimes sveral times in a day at the worst points

Frequency (Hz)211000000171000000179000000187000000195000000203000000219000000227000000
Lock Status(QAM Lock/FEC Sync/MPEG Lock)LockedLockedLockedLockedLockedLockedLockedLocked
Channel ID61234578
Modulation256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM
Symbol Rate (Msym/sec)6.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.952000
Interleave DepthI=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
Power Level (dBmV)2.750.411.442.191.813.172.543.37
RxMER (dB)34.9334.2134.3534.7734.9335.2531.0733.60
Pre RS Errors1040573986914672641792502281674139973856522794
Post RS Errors4466732153946760759410121374
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 3.88K
  • 120
  • 203
Forum Team (Retired) Adam_L
Forum Team (Retired)
1,232 Views
Message 7 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Lost MDD Timeout errors

Hi Gilreth, 

Thanks for getting in touch to let us know about your time out issues, I apologise for any troubles incurred.

I have tested things from here and I can see that there's a number of time outs inside the Hubs logs and an engineer will need to attend in order to resolve this for you.

I will send you a PM (purple envelope at the top) detailing what's required in order to proceed with making the booking. Please respond to me there and I'll get this sorted for you.

Take care, 

Thanks, 

Adam.


Tech fan? Have you read our Digital life blog yet? Check it out


0 Kudos
Reply
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
yoodoll
Joining in
1,043 Views
Message 8 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Lost MDD Timeout errors

Hi all,

Not sure if I have to create a new topic but I have the exact same issue described. Stats below for reference:

 

Downstream   DS-1 DS-2 DS-3 DS-4 DS-5 DS-6 DS-7 DS-8

Frequency (Hz)170750000178750000186750000194750000202750000210750000218750000226750000
Lock Status(QAM Lock/FEC Sync/MPEG Lock)LockedLockedLockedLockedLockedLockedLockedLocked
Channel ID12345678
Modulation256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM
Symbol Rate (Msym/sec)6.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.952000
Interleave DepthI=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
Power Level (dBmV)5.315.275.115.094.834.534.364.07
RxMER (dB)38.9839.4039.407.8439.4038.9824.2936.39
Pre RS Errors76566188735788528431911420906435
Post RS Errors2912738662203672773125367760

306

 

Network Log

First TimeLast TimePriorityError NumberDescription
17/04/2017 21:12:23 GMT17/04/2017 21:12:23 GMTWarning (5)84020200Lost MDD Timeout
17/04/2017 21:12:23 GMT17/04/2017 21:12:23 GMTWarning (5)84020200Lost MDD Timeout
17/04/2017 21:12:23 GMT17/04/2017 21:12:23 GMTWarning (5)84020200Lost MDD Timeout

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 1.62K
  • 145
  • 439
Superuser
Superuser
1,042 Views
Message 9 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Lost MDD Timeout errors

SNR is way too low on channels 4 & 7, loads of pre and post Rs errors on those two.

You'll need a tech visit to look at it I would think. Forum staff can take up to a week to reply. If you want it looking at sooner phone in.

Dave.

  • 10.82K
  • 308
  • 631
Forum Team
Forum Team
1,002 Views
Message 10 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Lost MDD Timeout errors

Evening yoodoll,

 

Thanks for posting and welcome to the community.

 

I'm sorry to see you are having an issue with your broadband connection.

 

As HiVMBye mentioned on the downstream stats you posted the Modem SNR was low and there were high RS Errors. However when I just checked your connection, the Modem SNR is showing as all fine at 38 / 39 dB, which is much better.

 

If you are having the same issue can you re-post the router information again please for us to check over please?

 

Speak soon
Sam


New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


0 Kudos
Reply