Menu
Notverytech
Tuning in
Message 1 of 21
Flag for a moderator

Letter from virgin media about Hub 3.

Hi everyone, hope this is right page to post this?

Long time Virgin Media Customer, have been happy with service until very recently, this post is not meant to be a rant, i'm reasonably calm as i post this, i have a question for some of you and also need to mention few concerns. I have been using computers for many years, but not wifi devices.

Received a letter telling me that at the end of April my older internet modem will stop working and i will need to order the free Hub 3. Spent over an hour trying to navigate the free 150 telephone number [ more about that in a moment ] and i am considering cancelling both internet and phone line with Virgin Media and switching to another provider, which would be a real shame.

The problem i have is this, i do not have any wifi devices at all, i use a ethernet cable with my older Pc's and actually prefer this. My computers and mobile phones are not that old but i have no need for wifi right now and some of the stories about this Hub 3 do not exactly fill me with confidence.

Not exactly sure what my current Virgin Media modem is, probably early version 1 Motorola, it works, no wifi but its fast enough for my needs, does not need firmware updates or any first time internet setup procedure, connect an ethernet cable to pc, turn it on and that is it.

Question for some of you more skilled

If the coaxial internet lead that is attached to my older modem is to be unconnected and connected to the new Hub 3,  how can this be a different internet signal? why can't i just continue to use my older modem until i have need for wifi and a new modem?

Virgin Media claims the Hub 3 is free but there is a £14.99 charge, not happy about that at all, i only found out about the charge after speaking to someone at Virgin Media, nothing in the letter.