Menu
Reply
  • 115
  • 0
  • 3
MaffewE
Dialled in
459 Views
Message 1 of 26
Flag for a moderator

Issues following installation of new Hub 3.0 - including complete connection loss this morning..

Following the issues I've previously detailed in this linked thread, an engineer came round on the 12th June. He checked my connection, and replaced my old Superhub 2ac with a 3.0. This took a bit longer than expected to connect in with the network, but after that, initially all seemed well.

However, there have been a collection of issues ongoing in the past few weeks which mean I remain unhappy with my connection. Starting with the most serious problem, from earlier today:

This morning, I awoke to find that my connection was completely broken. While I could connect to the hub via wifi and check the settings, nothing else was working and all channels (upstream and downstream) were missing. The error log was also particularly long, and the green lights on the front of the hub were both flashing.

Checking the Broadband Monitor graph, it appears this started to occur just after 1am:

33120dbbc88ba5bdc1f81ce83e699f8c5167a205-30-06-2017.png

At around half 6am I started trying to sort the problem by turning the router off and on again... and if anything, this made things worse. It started a continual cycle of lights on the front of the hub:

- The wifi light coming on flashing, quickly becoming static..
- ..followed by the connect light flashing green, quickly becoming static..
- ..all the  lights going out..
- ..and then the whole collection of lights flashing briefly before the process repeated.

At this time I was completely unable to access the hub via wifi, so couldn't see any more information from the network logs etc.

After about half an hour of this, I tried turning it off and on again. This time, after about five minutes, everything returned to working order. It's remained working from then till now.

Here's what the various information pages in the hub admin says. Firstly, the network log - though this only seems to cover from the second eventually successful attempt at restoring things:

Date And Time Error Number Event Description
2017-06-30 05:26:00.00 68000500 TFTP failed - Request sent - No Response;CM-MAC=XXX;CMTS-MAC=XXX;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-06-30 05:26:00.00 68001101 TFTP Request Retries exceeded, CM unable to register
2017-06-30 05:26:02.00 82000400 Received Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-MAC=XXX;CMTS-MAC=XXX;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-06-30 05:26:27.00 84020100 Missing Mandatory MDD TLV on primary DS Channel;CM-MAC=XXX;CMTS-MAC=XXX;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-06-30 05:27:30.00 73040200 TLV-11 - Illegal Set operation failed;CM-MAC=XXX;CMTS-MAC=XXX;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-06-30 05:30:33.00 68000500 TFTP failed - Request sent - No Response;CM-MAC=XXX;CMTS-MAC=XXX;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-06-30 05:30:33.00 68001101 TFTP Request Retries exceeded, CM unable to register
2017-06-30 05:30:35.00 82000400 Received Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-MAC=XXX;CMTS-MAC=XXX;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-06-30 05:32:22.00 73040200 TLV-11 - Illegal Set operation failed;CM-MAC=XXX;CMTS-MAC=XXX;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-06-30 05:35:25.00 68000500 TFTP failed - Request sent - No Response;CM-MAC=XXX;CMTS-MAC=XXX;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-06-30 05:35:25.00 68001101 TFTP Request Retries exceeded, CM unable to register
2017-06-30 05:35:27.00 82000400 Received Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-MAC=XXX;CMTS-MAC=XXX;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-06-30 05:35:51.00 84020100 Missing Mandatory MDD TLV on primary DS Channel;CM-MAC=XXX;CMTS-MAC=XXX;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-06-30 05:36:58.00 73040200 TLV-11 - Illegal Set operation failed;CM-MAC=XXX;CMTS-MAC=XXX;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-06-30 05:40:01.00 68000500 TFTP failed - Request sent - No Response;CM-MAC=XXX;CMTS-MAC=XXX;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-06-30 05:40:01.00 68001101 TFTP Request Retries exceeded, CM unable to register
2017-06-30 05:40:09.00 82000400 Received Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-MAC=XXX;CMTS-MAC=XXX;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-06-30 05:40:53.00 84020100 Missing Mandatory MDD TLV on primary DS Channel;CM-MAC=XXX;CMTS-MAC=XXX;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-06-30 05:41:58.00 73040200 TLV-11 - Illegal Set operation failed;CM-MAC=XXX;CMTS-MAC=XXX;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-06-30 05:48:18.00 82000200 No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=XXX;CMTS-MAC=XXX;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

Also, here's the usual other stats that get requested:

Downstream bonded channels
Channel Frequency(Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
1 298750000 2.5 43.3 256 qam 13
2 322750000 1.9 40.3 256 qam 16
3 314750000 2 40.3 256 qam 15
4 306750000 2.2 40.9 256 qam 14
5 290750000 2.5 40.3 256 qam 12
6 282750000 2.7 40.9 256 qam 11
7 274750000 2.7 43.3 256 qam 10
8 266750000 3 40.9 256 qam 9
9 258750000 3.2 43.3 256 qam 8
10 250750000 3.2 40.9 256 qam 7
11 242750000 3.5 40.9 256 qam 6
12 234750000 3.7 40.9 256 qam 5
13 226750000 4 40.9 256 qam 4
14 218750000 4 43.3 256 qam 3
15 210750000 4.1 40.9 256 qam 2
16 202750000 4.4 43.3 256 qam 1

Upstream bonded channels
Channel ID Frequency(Hz) Mode Power (dBmV) Modulation Channel Bandwidth(Hz) Symbol Rate (ksps)
4 46200000 ATDMA 44 16 qam 6400000 5120
5 39400000 ATDMA 44 16 qam 6400000 5120

Prior to today, while the packet loss previously noted via the 'red spikes' on Broadband Monitor graphs did seem to have lessened, there were also a collection of other smaller issues.

The network log regularly contained isolated one-off T3 errors - no big chains of them, but just ones far away from any other notes in the log.

There were also a number of isolated logs of 'RCS Partial Service', and it also seemed to be having issues renewing the DHCP. However, due to this issues this morning, I unfortunately don't have a log from the hub of these issues at this time.

Finally, on two occasions (Sunday 25th and Tuesday 27th), I seemed to be getting about 50Mbps maximum from my 150Mbps connection. While I've had many issues with my connection in the last year or so, it's pretty much always went at full speed when working - which makes the reduction in both instances unusual. On both occasions, going into the hub admin and choosing to restart made the speed go back to normal.

Can someone look into the issues noted above, as following having a pretty much flawless connection up to early 2016, the near continual problems I've been having since are really getting a bit much! (Especially when they're of the nature they were this morning...)

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 115
  • 0
  • 3
MaffewE
Dialled in
417 Views
Message 2 of 26
Flag for a moderator

Re: Issues following installation of new Hub 3.0 - including complete connection loss this morning..

The issues have resurfaced today, as of around 4pm, and this time turning the hub off and on hasn't managed to fix anything. Cureently in a loop of base/WiFi light constant green with flashing arrows and then base light flashing green, WiFi constant green and arrows not lit.

Here's the Broadband Monitor for the last 24hrs:

fc82e436c9cd192f2f09ca0a2f4ec580289b1806-05-07-2017.png

I phoned up 150 around 7ish, and after the nice woman I spoke to had a few of her own issues with her system, she advised there was a reported fault in my area as of 5.28pm. apparently, someone's connection is feeding back into the network, an engineer is looking into it, and broadband / on demand may be intermittent until it's resolved. (Though it does seem someone more dead than intermittent right now...)

I was advised it may take time for the issue to be fixed, as the feedback would have to be isolated, but the current resolution date was down as 12th June. I asked about compensation or credit to my account for loss of service, and she said this was noted against my account, and would be applied once the issue was resolved for the period affected.

Now, here's the question:

Is the above correct? Can anyone from Virgin provide me with anymore details regarding when this might be fixed, and confirm that I will be credited for loss of service?

While the lady I spoke to was helpful and polite, I've had so many issues over the past year or so, so many broken promises from Virgin and a connection that's steadily been getting worse (to the point of no connection at all right now), so you hopefully appreciate that I want to double check and confirm what the current situation actually is.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 33
  • 2
  • 5
reeves1985
On our wavelength
411 Views
Message 3 of 26
Flag for a moderator

Re: Issues following installation of new Hub 3.0 - including complete connection loss this morning..

I've had this problem for 2 weeks with no connection whatsoever. So don't hold your breath at any joy from virgin staff.
I've had every senior and principle engineer out and even the top of IT tech and nobody can figure it out.

I can't believe a company this size can not fix this issue.
I believe the issue is linked to activation of new equipment on the account and not locking on to the upstream and downstream network. This is what the green flashing dance is telling them.

I've had a total of 8 engineers out altogether and the physical network is perfect from cabinet to my house but tech support line 2 still will not believe that it's an account issue.

I also believe the only way to resolve this until someone within virgin IT can figure out where the issues lie is either.
A. Virgin giving a complete new account to the customer and transferring package details and discounts across.

B. The customer actually cancelling the contract and signing up again.

The problem with A is virgin will not do this I've tried and tried but still insist on sending an engineer to fix the problem.

The problem with B is you have to give 39 days notice and you cannot sign up in your name again and if my wife was to sign up you have to wait 30 days.

I'm starting to see a pattern emerge from looking on the net that this is a bigger issue than just small isolated issue
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 115
  • 0
  • 3
MaffewE
Dialled in
404 Views
Message 4 of 26
Flag for a moderator

Re: Issues following installation of new Hub 3.0 - including complete connection loss this morning..

If my issue was similar, my confusion would be how it registered fine and worked for the first three weeks or so, and is refusing to register now...

Here's what the network log says:

Date And Time Error Number Event Description
2017-07-05 22:47:38.00 82000200 No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=xxx;CMTS-MAC=xxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-07-05 22:47:39.00 82000700 Unicast Ranging Received Abort Response - initializing MAC;CM-MAC=xxx;CMTS-MAC=xxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-07-05 22:47:39.00 82000200 No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=xxx;CMTS-MAC=xxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-07-05 22:47:40.00 82000700 Unicast Ranging Received Abort Response - initializing MAC;CM-MAC=xxx;CMTS-MAC=xxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-07-05 22:47:40.00 82000200 No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=xxx;CMTS-MAC=xxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-07-05 22:47:41.00 82000700 Unicast Ranging Received Abort Response - initializing MAC;CM-MAC=xxx;CMTS-MAC=xxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-07-05 22:47:41.00 82000200 No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=xxx;CMTS-MAC=xxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-07-05 22:47:42.00 82000700 Unicast Ranging Received Abort Response - initializing MAC;CM-MAC=xxx;CMTS-MAC=xxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-07-05 22:47:42.00 82000200 No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=xxx;CMTS-MAC=xxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-07-05 22:47:43.00 82000700 Unicast Ranging Received Abort Response - initializing MAC;CM-MAC=xxx;CMTS-MAC=xxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-07-05 22:47:43.00 82000200 No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=xxx;CMTS-MAC=xxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-07-05 22:47:44.00 82000700 Unicast Ranging Received Abort Response - initializing MAC;CM-MAC=xxx;CMTS-MAC=xxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-07-05 22:47:44.00 82000200 No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=xxx;CMTS-MAC=xxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-07-05 22:47:45.00 82000700 Unicast Ranging Received Abort Response - initializing MAC;CM-MAC=xxx;CMTS-MAC=xxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-07-05 22:47:45.00 82000200 No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=xxx;CMTS-MAC=xxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-07-05 22:47:46.00 82000700 Unicast Ranging Received Abort Response - initializing MAC;CM-MAC=xxx;CMTS-MAC=xxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-07-05 22:47:46.00 82000200 No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=xxx;CMTS-MAC=xxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-07-05 22:47:47.00 82000700 Unicast Ranging Received Abort Response - initializing MAC;CM-MAC=xxx;CMTS-MAC=xxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-07-05 22:47:47.00 82000200 No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=xxx;CMTS-MAC=xxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
2017-07-05 22:47:48.00 82000700 Unicast Ranging Received Abort Response - initializing MAC;CM-MAC=xxx;CMTS-MAC=xxx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

Also confusing to me, how come it sometimes seems to forget it's a Virgin hub when I go to 192.168.0.1, and says it's a UPC connect box instead...
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 115
  • 0
  • 3
MaffewE
Dialled in
402 Views
Message 5 of 26
Flag for a moderator

Re: Issues following installation of new Hub 3.0 - including complete connection loss this morning..

Here's a screenshot of that:

IMG_20170705_235444.png

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 115
  • 0
  • 3
MaffewE
Dialled in
397 Views
Message 6 of 26
Flag for a moderator

Re: Issues following installation of new Hub 3.0 - including complete connection loss this morning..

And here's the Hub saying the issue is 'registration failure':

IMG_20170706_000740.png

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 33
  • 2
  • 5
reeves1985
On our wavelength
382 Views
Message 7 of 26
Flag for a moderator

Re: Issues following installation of new Hub 3.0 - including complete connection loss this morning..

Mine also registered initially weeks ago.
I've also been registered and connected for 12 years!

Something is telling me there is a system problem at VM HQ or a problem with these new hub 3's
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 115
  • 0
  • 3
MaffewE
Dialled in
367 Views
Message 8 of 26
Flag for a moderator

Re: Issues following installation of new Hub 3.0 - including complete connection loss this morning..

As of just after 1am it's back and working again.. we'll see how long it lasts.

93fc50dc4cef683de82dff0ff4d98f86.png

Was told on the phone yesterday that I'd receive updates on the issue via text message - haven't received anything yet, so not holding out any hope it's actually fixed...

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 33
  • 2
  • 5
reeves1985
On our wavelength
357 Views
Message 9 of 26
Flag for a moderator

Re: Issues following installation of new Hub 3.0 - including complete connection loss this morning..

The old text chestnut!
I've not had 1 text from virgin when they said you'll get one.
They've just booked another engineer without me even knowing and it a good job I logged into my account because nobody will be home.
It's a pointless exercise anyway because the engineers can't fix an account IT problem
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 115
  • 0
  • 3
MaffewE
Dialled in
348 Views
Message 10 of 26
Flag for a moderator

Re: Issues following installation of new Hub 3.0 - including complete connection loss this morning..

Received a text at 6:15pm:
"Virgin Media Outage Update - ID: F005414637 We're pleased to tell you this issue is now fixed. Best wishes, the Virgin Media Team"

And then, at pretty much exactly 7pm, off it went again:

93fc50dc4cef683de82dff0ff4d98f86.pngAnd as I notedyesterday, I was told it was an issue affecting my area.. but it seems my neighbour (literally next door) isn't having any problems.

Sigh.

 

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply