Menu
westie13
Tuning in
Message 1 of 14
Flag for a moderator

I am new to Virgin and need to know how to connect my tv etc

I am new to Virgin and need to know how to connect a panasonic HD tv that is about 5 years old, a blu ray player, a sound bar, an amazon fire and a virgin tivo box. Is it possible to connect them all and if so what do i need and in what order do I connect them please. Back in my day we just had tv through a roof aerial and am totally baffled as to what goes where. Would be grateful for any advice but please in terms for the oldies please.

Helpful Answers
Forum Team
Forum Team
Message 12 of 14
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: I am new to Virgin and need to know how to connect my tv etc

Hi westie13,

That would be fine, you can unplug the optical from the TiVo® and put it into your soundbar.

Also, a HDMI splitter is a great idea! You can then set up all of your devices at the same time. In the mean time, you can plug in either the Amazon Fire or the Blu Ray player, then switch them depending on which one you want to use at that time.

Let me know how far you get and drop me a message if you get stuck.

Speak soon Smiley Very Happy

Josh

Tech fan? Have you read our Digital life blog yet? Check it out

All Replies
Superuser
Superuser
Message 2 of 14
Flag for a moderator

hiya @westie13 welcome to the virignmedia community forum, well on the TV that would connect via HDMI port, you only need to connect the Tivo to the hub if you want to use Tv anywhere, e.g. to watch TiVo on devices such a tablet, laptop, PC etc.. to setup this up could take a look at -> http://help.virginmedia.com/system/selfservice.controller?CMD=VIEW_ARTICLE&ARTICLE_ID=4297&CURRENT_C...

as for the sound bar/blu ray player this will connect via HDMI to the TV, would be good time to read the manuals on these, if you need us to provide a guide would need to know the make/model of the devices..