Menu
Reply
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
martinlynch
Joining in
322 Views
Message 1 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Hub gets stuck when connecting

Hi all, I originally posted this on Networking but since I've never had a working connection maybe it's setup related.

We signed up just after Xmas and got the kit setup on the 30th Dec.

Our hub seems to get stuck with flashing green internet arrows. Hub logs show various T3 timeouts and no ranging response messages. Helpdesk were able to see it attempting to connect and download the firmware but it was "getting stuck".

Virgin engineer visited last week and (after replacing the hub) confirmed line was fine and passed my call on to the "IT department". He said they would be working through the night to get it sorted. However when I called the next day, they had literally no idea what was happening and reckoned it could take up to 7 more days to fix it.

I'm now getting a bit fed up and wondering if going with Virgin media was the right choice. Surely it shouldn't take this long especially with a supposedly working hub and line?

Thanks
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 1.25K
  • 64
  • 221
Adduxi
Knows their stuff
302 Views
Message 2 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub gets stuck when connecting

Please post your power levels and logs from the Hub.

If there is a genuine fault you should also be getting money off your bill, for non supply.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
martinlynch
Joining in
285 Views
Message 3 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub gets stuck when connecting

Hi Adduxi, thanks for the reply. Please see below, apologies for the dodgy formatting. Engineer seemed to think line was ok. I believe he fitted something to moderate the power levels.

 

Downstream bonded channels

Channel

Frequency(Hz)

Power 
(dBmV)

SNR
(dB)

Modulation

Channel ID

1

483000000

1.7

37.6

256 qam

22

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel ID

Frequency(Hz)

Modulation

Power 
(dBmV)

Mode

Channel Bandwidth(Hz)

Symbol Rate (ksps)

41

46200000

ATDMA

44.5

64 qam

6400000

5120

 

1970-01-01 04:13:41.0082000900B-INIT-RNG Failure - Retries exceeded;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;1970-01-01 04:13:45.0082000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;1970-01-01 04:36:30.0082000900B-INIT-RNG Failure - Retries exceeded;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;1970-01-01 04:36:33.0082000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;1970-01-01 04:57:16.0082000900B-INIT-RNG Failure - Retries exceeded;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;1970-01-01 04:57:20.0082000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;1970-01-01 05:14:46.0082000900B-INIT-RNG Failure - Retries exceeded;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;1970-01-01 05:14:47.0082000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;1970-01-01 05:35:46.0082000900B-INIT-RNG Failure - Retries exceeded;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;1970-01-01 05:36:26.0082000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;1970-01-01 05:54:19.0082000900B-INIT-RNG Failure - Retries exceeded;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;1970-01-01 05:54:21.0082000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;1970-01-01 06:17:13.0082000900B-INIT-RNG Failure - Retries exceeded;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;1970-01-01 06:17:15.0082000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;1970-01-01 06:39:06.0082000900B-INIT-RNG Failure - Retries exceeded;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;1970-01-01 06:39:08.0082000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;1970-01-01 06:58:34.0082000900B-INIT-RNG Failure - Retries exceeded;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;1970-01-01 06:58:35.0082000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;1970-01-01 07:16:25.0082000900B-INIT-RNG Failure - Retries exceeded;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;1970-01-01 07:16:27.0082000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
martinlynch
Joining in
251 Views
Message 4 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub gets stuck when connecting

Is anyone able to confirm based on the above logs/channel info whether my line looks ok?
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
martinlynch
Joining in
231 Views
Message 5 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub gets stuck when connecting

My timeline so far:

27th Dec - Subscribe to Virgin Broadband service
30th Dec - Receive and setup hub. No internet connectivity
31st Dec - Call customer support and engineer appointment booked
5th Jan - Engineer visits, replaces hub. Confirms line ok but unable to fix connection. Logs call with IT department
6th Jan - Call customer support, advises IT dept turnaround 5-7 days
11 Jan - Web chat to check on progress. No record of anything being logged with IT department (!!). New engineer appointment made for 13th Jan

Everyone I speak to is friendly and helpful but it feels like there's a bit of a disconnect between departments. I posted my logs above but nobody has replied to say whether the power levels etc look normal.

I'm starting to lose hope!

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 9.98K
  • 292
  • 624
Forum Team
Forum Team
222 Views
Message 6 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub gets stuck when connecting

Hey martinlynch,

 

Thanks for posting Smiley Happy

 

I've just this moment replied to your other post regarding this, I've also sent you a PM.

 

Hope to hear back from you soon,

Take care.

Heather_J

Tech fan? Have you read our Digital life blog yet? Check it out


  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
martinlynch
Joining in
197 Views
Message 7 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub gets stuck when connecting

Thanks for the reply Heather.

Engineer discovered a filter installed in the cabinet to prevent FM interference travelling back into the Virgin network. I think they fit them after someone disconnects from the service. Some channels could connect, others could not, so it kept getting stuck at the point of registering the hub.

Relieved to say all working well now Smiley Happy

Cheers

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 9.98K
  • 292
  • 624
Forum Team
Forum Team
184 Views
Message 8 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub gets stuck when connecting

Hey martinlynch,

 

Glad to hear everything is good for you now!

 

I appreciate you keeping me in the loop.

 

If there's anything else I can help with, please just ask.

 

Take care.

Heather_J

Tech fan? Have you read our Digital life blog yet? Check it out


0 Kudos
Reply