Menu
Reply
  • 13
  • 0
  • 0
Liamsy
Joining in
93 Views
Message 1 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Connection disconnects even after new HUB?

Hey,

So we we're experiencing problems with our connection - Losing it 4-5 times a day! A few months back we had an engineer come out and rewire the house and replace the HUB 3 (This was due to a previous problem) Solid a rock for about 3 months, until a few weeks back. Had an engineer come out last Monday, checked the line to see it was stable and replaced the HUB for us. Following morning, we post connection - Fine, might of been a one off? Was solid for the rest of the day. Wednesday was fine but come today, we've had 1 disconnect so far? Speeds are fine etc. The router completely losing signal, flashes green etc and eventually comes back to life.

Slightly frustrated that we pay all this money a month, been a customer for over 7 years at this house but the problem can't be located?

Any suggestions on what I can try?

Thanks in advanced.
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 8.72K
  • 716
  • 1.83K
Superuser
Superuser
83 Views
Message 2 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Connection disconnects even after new HUB?

Is it just the wifi light flashing green, or the base light?

Do devices connected directly to the hub by ethernet cable drop out the same time?

If so, posting some basic diagnostic info may help.

Navigate to the hub's GUI using http://192.168.100.1
Don't log in, click the Router Status button .
Copy \ Paste the Downstream, Upstream, and Network Logs.

Don't worry about the formatting, but do obscure personal information like your WAN IP address.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 13
  • 0
  • 0
Liamsy
Joining in
64 Views
Message 3 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Connection disconnects even after new HUB?

Thanks for the reply - The status light also flashes and turns green. The router acts like it's been rebooted - Completely disconnects and reconnects. Here are the logs you asked for, I'm hoping they'll help you sort the problem.

Cable Modem Status Item Status Comments

Acquired Downstream Channel(Hz)
298750000
Locked
Ranged Upstream Channel(Hz)
39400000
Locked
Provisioning State
Online

 

 

Downstream bonded channels Channel Frequency(Hz) Power
(dBmV) SNR
(dB) Modulation Channel ID

12987500002.740.3256 qam17
23227500002.740.3256 qam20
33147500002.740.3256 qam19
43067500002.740.3256 qam18
52907500002.740.3256 qam16
62827500002.740.3256 qam15
72747500002.740.9256 qam14
82667500002.740.3256 qam13
92587500002.540.3256 qam12
102507500002.240.3256 qam11
112427500002.440.9256 qam10
122347500002.240.3256 qam9
13226750000240.3256 qam8
142187500002.240.9256 qam7
152107500002.240.9256 qam6
16202750000240.9256 qam5
17194750000240.3256 qam4
18186750000240.3256 qam3
191787500003.740.9256 qam2
201707500003.740.9256 qam1

 

Upstream bonded channels Channel ID Frequency(Hz) Mode Power
(dBmV) Modulation Channel Bandwidth(Hz) Symbol Rate (ksps)

239400000ATDMA41.864 qam64000005120
146200000ATDMA41.864 qam64000005120

 

Operational Configuration General Configuration Value

Network access
Enabled
Maximum Number of CPEs
1
Baseline Privacy
Enabled
Docsis Mode
Docsis30
Config file
foA,.iyewrkldJKDHSU
Primary Downstream Service Flow
SFID27475
Max Traffic Rate115100000
Primary Upstream Service Flow
SFID27474
Max Traffic Rate6400000

 

Network Log Date And Time Error Number Event Description

2017-10-09 18:14:34.0068010600DHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-V3c1310bb03cca99.cm modified;CM-
2017-10-09 19:35:07.0068010100DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-
2017-10-09 19:57:09.0068010400DHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-
2017-10-09 19:57:09.0068010600DHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-V3c1310bb03cca99.cm modified;CM-
2017-10-10 07:15:32.0084000700RCS Partial Service;CM-
2017-10-10 07:15:44.0084020200Lost MDD Timeout;CM-
2017-10-10 07:15:50.0082000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-
2017-10-10 07:15:55.0084000700RCS Partial Service;CM-
2017-10-10 07:15:55.0082000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-
2017-10-10 07:16:10.0082000300Ranging Request Retries exhausted;CM-
2017-10-10 07:16:10.0082000600Unicast Maintenance Ranging attempted - No response - Retries exhausted;CM-
2017-10-10 07:16:10.0082000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-
2017-10-10 07:16:26.0084000700RCS Partial Service;CM-
2017-10-10 07:17:10.0082000400Received Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-
2017-10-11 05:51:37.0082000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-
2017-10-11 13:09:43.0084000700RCS Partial Service;CM-
2017-10-12 10:15:34.0082000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-
2017-10-12 10:16:08.0084000700RCS Partial Service;CM-
2017-10-12 10:16:50.0082000400Received Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-
2017-10-12 13:37:34.0082000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-

 

The NETWORK LOG has been edited. I've deleted the MAC addresses but kept the rest of the information.

Also, unsure if the Ethernet devices are disconnected too but it's my PC, PS4 and Virgin Box - Neither are usually active when it happens but I strongly believe it would be the same.

Hope this information helps!

Thank you 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 8.72K
  • 716
  • 1.83K
Superuser
Superuser
61 Views
Message 4 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Connection disconnects even after new HUB?

Power levels and downstream SNR are fine.

There are a couple of T4 errors showing in the log which would suggest a drop in connection, but no evidence of the hub re-registering with the CMTS.

Personally, I would wait here a few days until VM pick up this thread and can take a closer look at your connection.

While you are waiting it maybe worth starting a Broadband Quality Monitor here to get a deeper insight on how your connection is performing and give VM additional diagnostic information if required. I would let the graph propagate until VM pick up the thread.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 9.54K
  • 280
  • 605
Forum Team
Forum Team
42 Views
Message 5 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Connection disconnects even after new HUB?

Hey Liamsy,

Thanks for getting in touch Smiley Happy

Sorry to read about your connection troubles. I've tried to test this, but I can't find your account info. Please either post back to us while connected to your home network so I can pick up your IP address, or drop me a PM confirming your name and home address.

Speak soon,

Take care.

Heather_J

Tech fan? Have you read our Digital life blog yet? Check it out


0 Kudos
Reply
  • 13
  • 0
  • 0
Liamsy
Joining in
39 Views
Message 6 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Connection disconnects even after new HUB?

I'm online connected to the network now Heather Smiley Happy
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 13
  • 0
  • 0
Liamsy
Joining in
19 Views
Message 7 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Connection disconnects even after new HUB?

STILL having problems. It's just literally lost connection, came back up and then went again right after! Absolutely ridiculous!
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 13
  • 0
  • 0
Liamsy
Joining in
15 Views
Message 8 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Connection disconnects even after new HUB?

3rd time in 15 minutes...
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 13
  • 0
  • 0
Liamsy
Joining in
9 Views
Message 9 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Connection disconnects even after new HUB?

UPDATE - Seem to be losing signal via WiFi without the router restarting/flashing green? I have to admit - We're on the verge of ringing up to cancel - We NEED WiFi as we use them for our baby monitors. What can we do?
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 13
  • 0
  • 0
Liamsy
Joining in
5 Views
Message 10 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Connection disconnects even after new HUB?

UPDATE - Managed to change the WiFi channel for both frequencies - Didn't lose connection for a few hours so that seemed to work. This morning, we've just this minute had a disconnect 😑
0 Kudos
Reply