Check your service statusCable National
Ask a question
Reply
One to Watch
thor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎23-08-2009

Virginmedia blocked sites?

Is there a list of websites blocked by virginmedia that I can check with?

I have been trying to connect to 2 website: www.simregister.co.uk and cas.unibet.co.uk and cannot get access to either. They work on other networks and the unibet has actually worked on my virginmedia connection until recently. Clearing cookies, cache and using different browsers has not worked. so I have come to the conclusing that Virgin must be blocking them for some reason.

Please use plain text.
The Sorcerer’s Apprentice
FergalButler
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎23-08-2009

Re: Virginmedia blocked sites?


thor wrote:

Is there a list of websites blocked by virginmedia that I can check with?

I have been trying to connect to 2 website: www.simregister.co.uk and cas.unibet.co.uk and cannot get access to either. They work on other networks and the unibet has actually worked on my virginmedia connection until recently. Clearing cookies, cache and using different browsers has not worked. so I have come to the conclusing that Virgin must be blocking them for some reason.


No, there is no such list available as far as I am aware.

 

It is more probable that this is being caused by some network connectivity issue between your connection and the site.

 

Open the command prompt in Windows and type:

 

tracert www.simregister.co.uk

 

Post the results here. This may show where the connection is being lost between your computer and the site. 

Please use plain text.
One to Watch
rwm24
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎23-08-2009

Re: Virginmedia blocked sites?

[ Edited ]

I can't access simregister.co.uk either, these are tracert results:

 

Tracing route to www.simregister.co.uk [193.82.199.50]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1     6 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  192.168.1.1
  2    18 ms    10 ms    37 ms  10.227.168.1
  3    19 ms    14 ms    19 ms  leic-cam-1a-v106.network.virginmedia.net [82.3.3
4.65]
  4    12 ms    10 ms    19 ms  leic-t3core-1a-ae1-0.network.virginmedia.net [19
5.182.174.129]
  5    41 ms    32 ms    22 ms  lee-bb-a-as8-0.network.virginmedia.net [213.105.
172.17]
  6    56 ms    21 ms    17 ms  bre-bb-b-as2-0.network.virginmedia.net [213.105.
175.26]
  7    59 ms    22 ms    26 ms  telc-ic-1-as0-0.network.virginmedia.net [62.253.
185.74]
  8    21 ms    20 ms    27 ms  ldn-b2-link.telia.net [213.248.100.97]
  9    18 ms    32 ms    45 ms  ldn-tch-i2-link.telia.net [80.91.250.214]
 10    55 ms    15 ms    30 ms  ldn-tch-i1-link.telia.net [80.91.250.217]
 11    37 ms    62 ms    24 ms  ldn-b5-link.telia.net [80.91.250.209]
 12    21 ms    34 ms    23 ms  telstra-ic-133123-ldn-b5.c.telia.net [213.248.93
.42]
 13    19 ms    36 ms    15 ms  154.32.3.142
 14    22 ms    29 ms    39 ms  cr-1.CBG4.intl.telstra.net [154.32.3.193]
 15    49 ms    21 ms    23 ms  cr-2.CBG4.intl.telstra.net [154.32.3.98]
 16    20 ms    39 ms    31 ms  154.32.4.194
 17    36 ms    36 ms    40 ms  51.77.32.154.psie.net [154.32.77.51]
 18     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 19     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 20     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 21     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 22     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 23     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 24     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 25     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 26     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 27     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 28     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 29     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 30     *        *        *     Request timed out.

Trace complete.

 

 

Please use plain text.
One to Watch
thor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎23-08-2009

Re: Virginmedia blocked sites?

Hello there technomage, thanks for taking an interest.

Here is my traceroute and it seems to time out at  the same spot as rwm24.

Is there no way to get round this?

 

>tracert www.simregister.co.uk

Tracing route to www.simregister.co.uk [193.82.199.50]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1     1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  192.168.2.1
  2     8 ms    29 ms     8 ms  10.45.220.1
  3    12 ms     7 ms     8 ms  hudd-cam-1b-v108.network.virginmedia.net [80.7.1
54.189]
  4    18 ms    19 ms    34 ms  hudd-core-1b-ge-012-0.network.virginmedia.net [1
95.182.174.81]
  5    23 ms     9 ms     8 ms  lee-bb-b-xe-602-0.network.virginmedia.net [212.4
3.162.121]
  6     7 ms     9 ms    10 ms  lee-bb-a-ae0-0.network.virginmedia.net [62.253.1
87.185]
  7    26 ms    16 ms    15 ms  bre-bb-b-as2-0.network.virginmedia.net [213.105.
175.26]
  8    18 ms    15 ms    30 ms  telc-ic-1-as0-0.network.virginmedia.net [62.253.
185.74]
  9    21 ms    32 ms    15 ms  ldn-b2-link.telia.net [213.248.100.97]
 10    18 ms    15 ms    57 ms  ldn-tch-i2-link.telia.net [80.91.250.214]
 11    18 ms    16 ms    16 ms  ldn-tch-i1-link.telia.net [80.91.250.217]
 12    15 ms    19 ms    21 ms  ldn-b5-link.telia.net [80.91.250.209]
 13    16 ms    15 ms    19 ms  telstra-ic-133123-ldn-b5.c.telia.net [213.248.93
.42]
 14    19 ms    17 ms    15 ms  154.32.3.142
 15    34 ms    19 ms    38 ms  cr-1.CBG4.intl.telstra.net [154.32.3.193]
 16    19 ms    19 ms    20 ms  cr-2.CBG4.intl.telstra.net [154.32.3.98]
 17    26 ms    17 ms    20 ms  154.32.4.194
 18    29 ms    35 ms    25 ms  51.77.32.154.psie.net [154.32.77.51]
 19     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 20     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 21     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 22     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 23     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 24     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 25     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 26     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 27     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 28     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 29     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 30     *        *        *     Request timed out.

Trace complete.

Please use plain text.
One to Watch
GarfieldLeChat
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎24-08-2009

Re: Virginmedia blocked sites?

http://downforeveryoneorjustme.com/www.simregister.co.uk

 

says it's not down however it's not connecting via this virgin connection here either...

 

which leads me to think it's a dns issue with VM routing... it works fine on my iphone however, so it's not the site which is the problem but VM's routing too it...

 

 

Please use plain text.
The Sorter
AlexBrown
Posts: 899
Registered: ‎12-08-2009

Re: Virginmedia blocked sites?

 


thor wrote:

Hello there technomage, thanks for taking an interest.

Here is my traceroute and it seems to time out at  the same spot as rwm24.

Is there no way to get round this?

 

>tracert www.simregister.co.uk

Tracing route to www.simregister.co.uk [193.82.199.50]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1     1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  192.168.2.1
  2     8 ms    29 ms     8 ms  10.45.220.1
  3    12 ms     7 ms     8 ms  hudd-cam-1b-v108.network.virginmedia.net [80.7.1
54.189]
  4    18 ms    19 ms    34 ms  hudd-core-1b-ge-012-0.network.virginmedia.net [1
95.182.174.81]
  5    23 ms     9 ms     8 ms  lee-bb-b-xe-602-0.network.virginmedia.net [212.4
3.162.121]
  6     7 ms     9 ms    10 ms  lee-bb-a-ae0-0.network.virginmedia.net [62.253.1
87.185]
  7    26 ms    16 ms    15 ms  bre-bb-b-as2-0.network.virginmedia.net [213.105.
175.26]
  8    18 ms    15 ms    30 ms  telc-ic-1-as0-0.network.virginmedia.net [62.253.
185.74]
  9    21 ms    32 ms    15 ms  ldn-b2-link.telia.net [213.248.100.97]
 10    18 ms    15 ms    57 ms  ldn-tch-i2-link.telia.net [80.91.250.214]
 11    18 ms    16 ms    16 ms  ldn-tch-i1-link.telia.net [80.91.250.217]
 12    15 ms    19 ms    21 ms  ldn-b5-link.telia.net [80.91.250.209]
 13    16 ms    15 ms    19 ms  telstra-ic-133123-ldn-b5.c.telia.net [213.248.93
.42]
 14    19 ms    17 ms    15 ms  154.32.3.142
 15    34 ms    19 ms    38 ms  cr-1.CBG4.intl.telstra.net [154.32.3.193]
 16    19 ms    19 ms    20 ms  cr-2.CBG4.intl.telstra.net [154.32.3.98]
 17    26 ms    17 ms    20 ms  154.32.4.194
 18    29 ms    35 ms    25 ms  51.77.32.154.psie.net [154.32.77.51]
 19     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 20     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 21     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 22     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 23     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 24     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 25     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 26     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 27     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 28     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 29     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 30     *        *        *     Request timed out.

Trace complete.


 

 

The trace would suggest it gets lost within / after the Telstra network - psie.net is also theirs.

 

Contacting Telstra would likely be the best solution in this case, cheers.

 

 

 

 

Alex

Alex Brown
Head of Broadband Product Experience, Virgin Media

Tweet us: @virginmedia
Please use plain text.
One to Watch
rwm24
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎23-08-2009

Re: Virginmedia blocked sites?

I have e-mailed Telstra, I will let you know as soon as I get a reply.

Please use plain text.
One to Watch
thor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎23-08-2009

Re: Virginmedia blocked sites?

I think I will drop them an email as well so that they realise that more than one of us are affected. What email address do they have?

Please use plain text.
Boffin
webcrawler2050
Posts: 289
Registered: ‎11-08-2009

Re: Virginmedia blocked sites?

It's a routing issue - something VM can fix, if you get through to UK Support (normal office hours) and ask 2nd line to look at it.

Please use plain text.
Wizard
ironman123
Posts: 190
Registered: ‎18-08-2009

Re: Virginmedia blocked sites?

Looking at the list of hops that the starter of this thread has given it looks like he/she might not have a large enough time or buffer size setting to reach the end of the hop list.

Try using the TCP Optimizer tool [it is mean`t for 20Mb settings and below]but works on 50Mb ok.

Go into custom mode and up the setting that sets the above.

GL.

 

 

I do not work for VM but and a fully skilled electronics and communications engineer.

 

 

Please use plain text.