Check your service statusCable National
Ask a question
Reply
One to Watch
Friz
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎11-03-2012

Unable to connect to newsgroup server

Having read previous posts on this problem it seems that your IP address has to be added to the servers by the Virginmedia team. Please could one of the forum team arrange this? IP is 86.29.215.80

 

Thanks.


Please use plain text.
Usually Always Right
Steve_Brett
Posts: 3,746
Registered: ‎16-01-2012

Re: Unable to connect to newsgroup server

[ Edited ]

Hi Friz

We have been advised by our Data and IP team that the new range of IP addresses including 86.29.215.80 has now been provisioned in the newsgroup access control list. Please could you confirm that you are now able to access in order that I can close off the fault ticket that Jenny raised for you.

Kind Regards,


Steve Brett
Help & Support Forum Team

Seen a useful post?Problem Solved?Fault with your service?

Please use plain text.
One to Watch
Friz
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎11-03-2012

Re: Unable to connect to newsgroup server

Hi Steve B

 

No still getting a 502 Authentication fail warning.

Please use plain text.
Wizard
SteveBrett
Posts: 165
Registered: ‎06-08-2009

Re: Unable to connect to newsgroup server

Hmmmm that's a strange error, we usually see 480 - Can you work through the following article and ensure all your settings are correct, you should not need any authentication settings, it is authenticated by your IP address.

 

Usually 502 show up as "too many connections"

 

http://www.virginmedia.com/myvirginmedia/newsgroups/setting-up-outlook-express-exntl.php

 

Appreciate you are probably not using Outlook Express, but the settings are the same for other newsreaders



I work for VirginMedia but if I am posting from this login then it is in my own time from my own PC and my postings on this site don't necessarily represent Virgin Media's positions, strategies or opinions
Please use plain text.
Wizard
SteveBrett
Posts: 165
Registered: ‎06-08-2009

Re: Unable to connect to newsgroup server

[ Edited ]

An even quicker check is to open a command prompt and type

 

telnet news.virginmedia.com 119

 

you should get a welcome message as below

 

200 Welcome to Virgin Media (newsfe02.ams2)

 

then if you type list and enter you should see a list of newsgroups on the server.

 

(If you get the message that telnet is not recognised as a valid command - likely on windoze 7 or Vista - then the article Here will show you how to enable it on your machine)



I work for VirginMedia but if I am posting from this login then it is in my own time from my own PC and my postings on this site don't necessarily represent Virgin Media's positions, strategies or opinions
Please use plain text.
Superuser
apcyberax
Posts: 17,200
Registered: ‎03-05-2010

Re: Unable to connect to newsgroup server

200 Welcome to Virgin Media (newsfe17.ams2)
list
400 Unrecognized command

i think you will find its "list active"
Please use plain text.
One to Watch
Friz
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎11-03-2012

Re: Unable to connect to newsgroup server

Thanks Steve for your help especially in your own time.

 

No, still no good after entering "list" it reads 480 Authentication Required.

 

Thanks again for helping.

Please use plain text.
Wizard
SteveBrett
Posts: 165
Registered: ‎06-08-2009

Re: Unable to connect to newsgroup server

Strange - different servers must be configured with different commands, list works for me on the server above

Friz - Did you include the 119 after the server name? I get the same error on typing list if I do not specify port 119.


I work for VirginMedia but if I am posting from this login then it is in my own time from my own PC and my postings on this site don't necessarily represent Virgin Media's positions, strategies or opinions
Please use plain text.
One to Watch
Friz
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎11-03-2012

Re: Unable to connect to newsgroup server

Yeah Steve did exactly as you wrote still no good.

It has to be my IP not been added to the server.

 

 Cheers.

 

Please use plain text.
Wizard
SteveBrett
Posts: 165
Registered: ‎06-08-2009

Re: Unable to connect to newsgroup server

OK I'm in work later and will get it back up to the network team.


I work for VirginMedia but if I am posting from this login then it is in my own time from my own PC and my postings on this site don't necessarily represent Virgin Media's positions, strategies or opinions
Please use plain text.