Menu
Reply
  • 6
  • 2
  • 0
Dcm12
Joining in
176 Views
Message 1 of 9
Flag for a moderator

new large laitency

hi i have been with VM for years set up 100mb is fine on speed but quility has reduced i  moitor this with BQM recently my latency has doubled its making gaming a bad experience.

nothing in house changed , SH2.modem mode ,to route cat6 wired wan to PS4 wired.

this is a 1 room house all no wifi here no other users , when gaming nothing else  is running .Screen Shot 2018-01-13 at 11.02.13.png

 of course i reboot ps4 and super hub & router anyone have any ideas  i have contacted VMtecnical have told me nothing i dont already know i think there is noise issues up line somewhere all things considered  my max latency was below 20 i dont think the average on these graphs depicts the level of lag experience for serious gamer  FPS almost non playable  other BQM tools i have used show huge bloating effects , an average packet loss of 15 20 35 %  its very intermittent  is this what we are paying for its not only usane who has bolted with the money  

thanks

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply

Helpful Answers
  • 59
  • 4
  • 1
Excellence20
Dialled in
250 Views
Message 2 of 9
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: new large laitency

This could be due to utilzation on your network or in your area.

If you post the first part of your postcode or area and ask one of the forum team to look into it, they should be able to tell you if your area is over-utilized.

Alternatively, try disconnecting all devices on your network and run a ping test to Google's primary DNS 8.8.8.8 concurrently in Command Prompt (Windows). If you're getting latency spikes or consistent high latency it's likely the area that's over-utilized if the team have already checked your noise etc.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 20.73K
  • 554
  • 3.21K
Sephiroth
Alessandro Volta
236 Views
Message 3 of 9
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: new large laitency

... or there is noise on the upstream which the VM bods can check when they get to this thread in a week or so.

Seph - ( DEFROCKED - My advice is at your risk)

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 59
  • 4
  • 1
Excellence20
Dialled in
220 Views
Message 5 of 9
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: new large laitency


Dcm12 wrote:

excellence 20 thanks   for reply i basically agree you hit the nail on top . my post code is BR1 this is area 20 for VM service.

im in modem mode on a SH2 not the 3  brand new router  all reconfigured m any times to sort this ,hard wired  testing no wifi.

yes i have changed DNS ,tried couple no difference ,ifconfig  on terminal osx   (i have detailed tests ping plot) from pingplot a test tool . will post, not just thinkbroadband as  shown here the latency as is grade F the worst possible .i have  engineering department contacting me Monday ,waste of time  re . re. re. re .  ( the cash cow) me.

shoping for other provider  now after 6 years vm  i whish it was different 

my speed and bill are fair for uk , VM negotiations  treated me well in financial costs ,but as most ,i value quality not QUANTITY the gimmick LARGE SELLING CROWBAR of offering everyone greater speed  is a cheap trick . a cunning stunt to say the least .

Quality Monitor on Virgin Media with rise in average latency and jitter at peak times for me now even when idle as in my graph this should be flat it was up to December
What is very telling now is the wide variation in the quality monitors recorded by Virgin Media customers now, perhaps highlighting local optical node issues (maybe affecting a couple of thousand in an area) through to routes onto the national core congesting. In short there appears to be no single overriding cause and that means even if DOCSIS 3.1 arrives to solve local DOCSIS based congestion more work and money will need to be spent on upgrading core infrastructure links and better peering.

i got no email note for reply as requested in tick box  .hence delayed response
Screen Shot 2018-01-14 at 12.03.51.pngScreen Shot 2018-01-14 at 12.04.08.png


No problem, kudos is appreciated too Smiley Happy

Can you post your router status from the SH GUI (go to 192.168.100.1)? One of the VM team can also take a look at this and see if it's within acceptable ranges.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 6
  • 2
  • 0
Dcm12
Joining in
213 Views
Message 6 of 9
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: new large laitency

dear tubulent priest so to hear you were defrocked i hope that the sins of vm will keep you occupied to avert you own

it works for me .

i do have a vm team member  calling monday where i will indeed present my findings on very poor quality noise ,  whilst im directed to speedtest.net for there analysis of a ip service to sheep  ggggrrrrrrrr of   i have very expensive test equipment industry standard  traceroute when attached to vm servers  show  poor speeds all at VM hubs who knows how they alter trafick

at this junctures but i can see the speeds and am constantly monitoring these  through ping plot / n trace route   ping plots a tool not the action

i post result of Mondays conversation

all best D

 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 59
  • 4
  • 1
Excellence20
Dialled in
200 Views
Message 8 of 9
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: new large laitency

VM SH3 Router Status.png

Post the Status, Downstream and Upstream tables from here on the router status page.

Don't worry about blanking MAC addresses, this will be done automatically by the forum.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 6
  • 2
  • 0
Dcm12
Joining in
180 Views
Message 9 of 9
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: new large laitency

i dont have comparisons

Screen Shot 2018-01-14 at 13.33.12.pngScreen Shot 2018-01-14 at 13.35.54.pngScreen Shot 2018-01-14 at 13.36.23.png

 

0 Kudos
Reply

All Replies
  • 59
  • 4
  • 1
Excellence20
Dialled in
251 Views
Message 2 of 9
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: new large laitency

This could be due to utilzation on your network or in your area.

If you post the first part of your postcode or area and ask one of the forum team to look into it, they should be able to tell you if your area is over-utilized.

Alternatively, try disconnecting all devices on your network and run a ping test to Google's primary DNS 8.8.8.8 concurrently in Command Prompt (Windows). If you're getting latency spikes or consistent high latency it's likely the area that's over-utilized if the team have already checked your noise etc.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 20.73K
  • 554
  • 3.21K
Sephiroth
Alessandro Volta
237 Views
Message 3 of 9
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: new large laitency

... or there is noise on the upstream which the VM bods can check when they get to this thread in a week or so.

Seph - ( DEFROCKED - My advice is at your risk)

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 6
  • 2
  • 0
Dcm12
Joining in
120 Views
Message 4 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: new large laitency

excellence 20 thanks   for reply i basically agree you hit the nail on top . my post code is BR1 this is area 20 for VM service.

im in modem mode on a SH2 not the 3  brand new router  all reconfigured m any times to sort this ,hard wired  testing no wifi.

yes i have changed DNS ,tried couple no difference ,ifconfig  on terminal osx   (i have detailed tests ping plot) from pingplot a test tool . will post, not just thinkbroadband as  shown here the latency as is grade F the worst possible .i have  engineering department contacting me Monday ,waste of time  re . re. re. re .  ( the cash cow) me.

shoping for other provider  now after 6 years vm  i whish it was different 

my speed and bill are fair for uk , VM negotiations  treated me well in financial costs ,but as most ,i value quality not QUANTITY the gimmick LARGE SELLING CROWBAR of offering everyone greater speed  is a cheap trick . a cunning stunt to say the least .

Quality Monitor on Virgin Media with rise in average latency and jitter at peak times for me now even when idle as in my graph this should be flat it was up to December
What is very telling now is the wide variation in the quality monitors recorded by Virgin Media customers now, perhaps highlighting local optical node issues (maybe affecting a couple of thousand in an area) through to routes onto the national core congesting. In short there appears to be no single overriding cause and that means even if DOCSIS 3.1 arrives to solve local DOCSIS based congestion more work and money will need to be spent on upgrading core infrastructure links and better peering.

i got no email note for reply as requested in tick box  .hence delayed response
Screen Shot 2018-01-14 at 12.03.51.pngScreen Shot 2018-01-14 at 12.04.08.png

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 59
  • 4
  • 1
Excellence20
Dialled in
221 Views
Message 5 of 9
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: new large laitency


Dcm12 wrote:

excellence 20 thanks   for reply i basically agree you hit the nail on top . my post code is BR1 this is area 20 for VM service.

im in modem mode on a SH2 not the 3  brand new router  all reconfigured m any times to sort this ,hard wired  testing no wifi.

yes i have changed DNS ,tried couple no difference ,ifconfig  on terminal osx   (i have detailed tests ping plot) from pingplot a test tool . will post, not just thinkbroadband as  shown here the latency as is grade F the worst possible .i have  engineering department contacting me Monday ,waste of time  re . re. re. re .  ( the cash cow) me.

shoping for other provider  now after 6 years vm  i whish it was different 

my speed and bill are fair for uk , VM negotiations  treated me well in financial costs ,but as most ,i value quality not QUANTITY the gimmick LARGE SELLING CROWBAR of offering everyone greater speed  is a cheap trick . a cunning stunt to say the least .

Quality Monitor on Virgin Media with rise in average latency and jitter at peak times for me now even when idle as in my graph this should be flat it was up to December
What is very telling now is the wide variation in the quality monitors recorded by Virgin Media customers now, perhaps highlighting local optical node issues (maybe affecting a couple of thousand in an area) through to routes onto the national core congesting. In short there appears to be no single overriding cause and that means even if DOCSIS 3.1 arrives to solve local DOCSIS based congestion more work and money will need to be spent on upgrading core infrastructure links and better peering.

i got no email note for reply as requested in tick box  .hence delayed response
Screen Shot 2018-01-14 at 12.03.51.pngScreen Shot 2018-01-14 at 12.04.08.png


No problem, kudos is appreciated too Smiley Happy

Can you post your router status from the SH GUI (go to 192.168.100.1)? One of the VM team can also take a look at this and see if it's within acceptable ranges.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 6
  • 2
  • 0
Dcm12
Joining in
214 Views
Message 6 of 9
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: new large laitency

dear tubulent priest so to hear you were defrocked i hope that the sins of vm will keep you occupied to avert you own

it works for me .

i do have a vm team member  calling monday where i will indeed present my findings on very poor quality noise ,  whilst im directed to speedtest.net for there analysis of a ip service to sheep  ggggrrrrrrrr of   i have very expensive test equipment industry standard  traceroute when attached to vm servers  show  poor speeds all at VM hubs who knows how they alter trafick

at this junctures but i can see the speeds and am constantly monitoring these  through ping plot / n trace route   ping plots a tool not the action

i post result of Mondays conversation

all best D

 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 6
  • 2
  • 0
Dcm12
Joining in
107 Views
Message 7 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: new large laitency

excellence 20  you are welcome .  which part of router status should i post ?

 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 59
  • 4
  • 1
Excellence20
Dialled in
201 Views
Message 8 of 9
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: new large laitency

VM SH3 Router Status.png

Post the Status, Downstream and Upstream tables from here on the router status page.

Don't worry about blanking MAC addresses, this will be done automatically by the forum.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 6
  • 2
  • 0
Dcm12
Joining in
181 Views
Message 9 of 9
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: new large laitency

i dont have comparisons

Screen Shot 2018-01-14 at 13.33.12.pngScreen Shot 2018-01-14 at 13.35.54.pngScreen Shot 2018-01-14 at 13.36.23.png

 

0 Kudos
Reply