Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 6
  • 1
  • 0
Brano52
Tuning in
369 Views
Message 1 of 10
Flag for a moderator

low broadband speed

Why is my broadband speed less than half of what virgin tell me i am getting?

0 Kudos
Reply

Helpful Answers
  • 8.73K
  • 717
  • 1.83K
Superuser
Superuser
611 Views
Message 6 of 10
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: low broadband speed

You have a dodgy downstream channel (11).

One of the upstream channels is showing a significant number of T3 errors which could be historical but impossible to say without the network logs to put them in to context.

I take it you have rebooted the hub.

You will need to contact VM for resolution, either by waiting here about a week until a VM Forum Team Member picks up the thread, or give them a call on 150 from a VM line or 0345 454 1111 for a quicker response.

 

  • 6
  • 1
  • 0
Brano52
Tuning in
133 Views
Message 9 of 10
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: low broadband speed

Thanks for that, thinking along the same lines, they seem to creep up the price for nothing more while telling you they have upgraded your package with no noticeable difference to speed tests.

0 Kudos
Reply

All Replies
  • 8.73K
  • 717
  • 1.83K
Superuser
Superuser
358 Views
Message 2 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: low broadband speed

A bit more detail would be useful.

Are you connecting to the hub wired or wirelessly?

Is wireless try wired.

What package are you on?

 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 6
  • 1
  • 0
Brano52
Tuning in
348 Views
Message 3 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: low broadband speed

Thanks for the reply,

i am connected both wired and wireless depending on what I am using, I have a supper hub 2, and am on VIVID 100 package.

Hope this helps.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 8.73K
  • 717
  • 1.83K
Superuser
Superuser
338 Views
Message 4 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: low broadband speed

Posting some basic diagnostic info may help.

Navigate to the hub's GUI using http://192.168.100.1
Don't log in, click the Router Status button in the top right of the screen.
Copy \ Paste the Downstream, Upstream, and Network Logs.

Don't worry about the formatting, but do obscure personal information like your WAN IP address.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 6
  • 1
  • 0
Brano52
Tuning in
330 Views
Message 5 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: low broadband speed

Hi Again and thanks,

Upstream   US-1 US-2 US-3 US-4

Channel Type2.0N/AN/A2.0
Channel ID3N/AN/A4
Frequency (Hz)32600000N/AN/A25800000
Ranging StatusSuccessN/AN/ASuccess
Modulation64QAMN/AN/A64QAM
Symbol Rate (Sym/sec)5120000N/AN/A5120000
Mini-Slot Size4N/AN/A4
Power Level (dBmV)46.00N/AN/A44.50
T1 Timeouts0000
T2 Timeouts0000
T3 Timeouts22000
T4 Timeouts0000

 

Downstream   DS-1 DS-2 DS-3 DS-4 DS-5 DS-6 DS-7 DS-8

Frequency (Hz)203000000211000000219000000227000000235000000243000000251000000259000000
Lock Status(QAM Lock/FEC Sync/MPEG Lock)LockedLockedLockedLockedLockedLockedLockedLocked
Channel ID910111213141516
Modulation256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM
Symbol Rate (Msym/sec)6.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.952000
Interleave DepthI=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
Power Level (dBmV)6.576.885.655.003.923.143.503.85
RxMER (dB)38.6139.4033.4936.3938.2638.2638.2638.61
Pre RS Errors12944888042395700169901016167661164450
Post RS Errors3012922695499376967358980

337

 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 8.73K
  • 717
  • 1.83K
Superuser
Superuser
612 Views
Message 6 of 10
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: low broadband speed

You have a dodgy downstream channel (11).

One of the upstream channels is showing a significant number of T3 errors which could be historical but impossible to say without the network logs to put them in to context.

I take it you have rebooted the hub.

You will need to contact VM for resolution, either by waiting here about a week until a VM Forum Team Member picks up the thread, or give them a call on 150 from a VM line or 0345 454 1111 for a quicker response.

 

  • 6
  • 1
  • 0
Brano52
Tuning in
294 Views
Message 7 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: low broadband speed

Thanks for your time and help, will contact VM.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 2
  • 0
  • 1
griffithsm
Joining in
103 Views
Message 8 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: low broadband speed

I have been having this discussion with VM for the past 5 months since I went with these guys. It's all over the internet community that they always say upto and are hide behind this poor statement and consistently provide lower speeds than promised. They couldn't get me upto my 200 and getting 30 to 60 during non peak times. The only option for me was to escape the contract when they increased the price and it's the best thing I did. Now with BT that can't offer their max speed but at least it's more reliable, consistent and to be honest have not had any download speed problems. Good luck with them anyway.
  • 6
  • 1
  • 0
Brano52
Tuning in
134 Views
Message 9 of 10
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: low broadband speed

Thanks for that, thinking along the same lines, they seem to creep up the price for nothing more while telling you they have upgraded your package with no noticeable difference to speed tests.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 9.02K
  • 295
  • 963
Forum Team
Forum Team
29 Views
Message 10 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: low broadband speed

Hello Brano52

 

Sorry you are having problems with speed, the area traffic is actually quite low so as mentioned above it may be down to downstream noise. Still looking below spec on that 219 MHz channel btw:-

 

38.9 dB        38.2 dB        38.2 dB        37.9 dB        38.2 dB        36.8 dB        32.7 dB        39.3 dB

 

If you would like us to arrange an engineer appointment for you please reply to the private message I am about to send you.

 

Thank you

 

Nicola

Virgin Media Forum Team
0 Kudos
Reply